Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,799 Members 37,781 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Stock rom

Tip us?
 
snaggvar
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: May 2014
Default Stock rom

Hi all,

I bought a retail demo version of the phone for a significant lesser price than the "original" with the downside that it came with a preinstalled software that turned on a demo video when charging and locking the screen.
This was easily fixed with root and a debloat app that i used to remove the software who started the video.
My stock rom is probably not the same as it would have been if I had bought a normal phone. Just for the fun of it i would like to try and make it a stock but i canít seem to find the stock rom anywhere, i am guessing that it doesnít exist yet?
If so does anyone have an idea how long it usually takes before a stock rom pops up here at xda after release of a new phone?
 
coolmingli
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 194
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Francisco
Quote:
Originally Posted by snaggvar View Post
Hi all,

I bought a retail demo version of the phone for a significant lesser price than the "original" with the downside that it came with a preinstalled software that turned on a demo video when charging and locking the screen.
This was easily fixed with root and a debloat app that i used to remove the software who started the video.
My stock rom is probably not the same as it would have been if I had bought a normal phone. Just for the fun of it i would like to try and make it a stock but i canít seem to find the stock rom anywhere, i am guessing that it doesnít exist yet?
If so does anyone have an idea how long it usually takes before a stock rom pops up here at xda after release of a new phone?
You don't use Stock ROM, you flash FTF via flashtool.
The Following User Says Thank You to coolmingli For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
snaggvar
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: May 2014
Ok, thanks!

So, for example:
I am on romaur 3.1 now and if i want to go back to stock(not from one of my backups) i simply flash "D6503_17.1.1.A.0.402_Euro Lte-unbranded-1281-4640.ftf" via flashtool?

Do you know how OTA-updates work, are they disabled becuse of bootloader unlocked or will they work with stock-ftf?


Quote:
Originally Posted by coolmingli View Post
You don't use Stock ROM, you flash FTF via flashtool.
 
Ben Ling
Old
#4  
Ben Ling's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 6743
Posts: 3,859
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by snaggvar View Post
Ok, thanks!

So, for example:
I am on romaur 3.1 now and if i want to go back to stock(not from one of my backups) i simply flash "D6503_17.1.1.A.0.402_Euro Lte-unbranded-1281-4640.ftf" via flashtool?

Do you know how OTA-updates work, are they disabled becuse of bootloader unlocked or will they work with stock-ftf?
yes,simply flash any firmware for your device model

OTA Update only work with Locked Bootloader & Stock Recovery




Like My Work ? Donate To Me So That I Can Contribute To More Devices
Always Hit Thanks If You Like My Work
 
se1000
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 191
Posts: 456
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by snaggvar View Post
Ok, thanks!

So, for example:
I am on romaur 3.1 now and if i want to go back to stock(not from one of my backups) i simply flash "D6503_17.1.1.A.0.402_Euro Lte-unbranded-1281-4640.ftf" via flashtool?

Do you know how OTA-updates work, are they disabled becuse of bootloader unlocked or will they work with stock-ftf?
If you're already on RomAur, if you wipe system, data, and cache, reload RomAur and start from scratch, you would have all the same software as anyone else running RomAur.
 
Xernoxis
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 152
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Akershus
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Ling View Post
yes,simply flash any firmware for your device model

OTA Update only work with Locked Bootloader & Stock Recovery
That doesn't help if he's on a custom rom. He needs to reflash stock rom.

Sent from my D6503
Device: Sony Xperia Z2 (D6503)
Firmware: 17.1.A.2.402
ROM: Stock
Kernel: Stock
Bootloader: Locked (unlockable)
Root status: Yes
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


YAATA isn’t Just Another Android Texting App

Although our mobile devices today are capable of executingnearly every task we normally … more

MacroDroid Update Brings Android Wear Automation

A few months ago, we talked about MacroDroid. For those who don’t remember, MacroDroid … more

Droid X Receives KitKat Port, Upcoming Google Glass Firmware Improvements – XDA Developer TV

Android 4.4.3 lands on the European HTC … more

Calc+ is a Smart and Beautiful Android Calculator

As we’ve said inthe past, there are quite a few calculators available on Android. … more