Post Reply

[Q] Flashing The Droid Ultra

OP mrwizard116

29th May 2014, 04:28 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Honaker
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Hey guys,

Im wondering is there any way possible to flash the droid ultra yet? I bought one and love it but wveryone says it can't be done.
I've read that you can get a sim card for talk and text but no data. Im willing to donate to have it flashed
29th May 2014, 11:57 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 570
 
2,985 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrwizard116

Hey guys,

Im wondering is there any way possible to flash the droid ultra yet? I bought one and love it but wveryone says it can't be done.
I've read that you can get a sim card for talk and text but no data. Im willing to donate to have it flashed

Flashing is re-programming the NV part of the phone for another CDMA provider. The SIM card is for GSM. What are you trying to do?
29th May 2014, 01:52 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Honaker
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s

Flashing is re-programming the NV part of the phone for another CDMA provider. The SIM card is for GSM. What are you trying to do?


Im just trying to get this Droid Ultra flashed completely talk, text, and data over to page plus or straight talk.
I haven't tried myself, everyone is saying it can't be done
29th May 2014, 03:14 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 570
 
2,985 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrwizard116

Im just trying to get this Droid Ultra flashed completely talk, text, and data over to page plus or straight talk.
I haven't tried myself, everyone is saying it can't be done

Save yourself the time and effort and get better service by using the Straight Talk GSM service. The Moto should already be unlocked. They have 2 different types of SIM cards, ones that use the AT&T towers and ones that use T-Mobile, so you can pick whichever works best in your area.

http://www.droid-life.com/2013/08/22...ut-of-the-box/
3rd June 2014, 03:06 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Honaker
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
I purchased the $60 sim bundle and have successfully gotten voice and text to work on straight talk with my droid ultra. However no matter what I change the APN setting to I cannot get data to work. Let me know if you can think why this may be happening.


Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s

Save yourself the time and effort and get better service by using the Straight Talk GSM service. The Moto should already be unlocked. They have 2 different types of SIM cards, ones that use the AT&T towers and ones that use T-Mobile, so you can pick whichever works best in your area.

http://www.droid-life.com/2013/08/22...ut-of-the-box/

3rd June 2014, 06:13 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 570
 
2,985 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Straight Talk is notorious for having a variety of APN settings. It can be pretty annoying if you don't find the right one for your phone / update. Hop on wifi and try their app from the Play Store: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...stdatasettings or this one: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...d=com.tweakker
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank