Best Alarm App for Android?

There are tons of choices to choose from when looking for a great alarm app for Android. While the stock … more

Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Bypassing AT&T Throttle on SGS5?

26th May 2014, 02:12 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
I just got hit with the throttle at 5GB. On my old SGS2, I had a few APNs plugged in to bypass. Anyone know of any good alternatives?

Alternatively, I was attempting to follow this thread.

In particular, I wanted to disable GPRS to keep it from throttling. Normally this can be done by changing the network mode (see here).

Unfortunately the G900A variant does not have "Network Mode" (AT&T must be blocking it). Any tips on how to get to it or other ways to bypass throttling?
26th May 2014, 03:57 PM   |  #2  
cerobles1's Avatar
Senior Member
Riverview
Thanks Meter: 85
 
357 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2713752

Guide: How to turn LTE off (EASY)
What I found on General

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to cerobles1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th May 2014, 04:18 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cerobles1

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2713752

Guide: How to turn LTE off (EASY)
What I found on General

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Perfect! Thank you!
I believe by going "LTE/CDMA" it will keep me from getting pushed to the terrible EDGE network.
28th May 2014, 10:04 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
I don't think I understand how this works. I am on a grandfathered data plan and get throttled at 5 GB. I am very conscientious in monitoring my data usage to avoid throttling.

To clarify what I think I learned in this thread, please confirm or correct the following statements: (i) when you are throttled, you are simply pushed to the EDGE network which is 2g (slow). (ii) By choosing a network preference such as LTE/CDMA (which does not include GSM (EDGE/2G)), you will instead be throttled to CDMA (4g) which isn't terrible like EDGE, but not great like LTE thereby "bypassing" the throttle.
29th May 2014, 03:13 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by buffjam9011

I don't think I understand how this works. I am on a grandfathered data plan and get throttled at 5 GB. I am very conscientious in monitoring my data usage to avoid throttling.

To clarify what I think I learned in this thread, please confirm or correct the following statements: (i) when you are throttled, you are simply pushed to the EDGE network which is 2g (slow). (ii) By choosing a network preference such as LTE/CDMA (which does not include GSM (EDGE/2G)), you will instead be throttled to CDMA (4g) which isn't terrible like EDGE, but not great like LTE thereby "bypassing" the throttle.

Thats the theory.
29th May 2014, 04:49 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Cool thanks, I didn't know that before today.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
4th June 2014, 04:35 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Mesa
Thanks Meter: 150
 
525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Does switching to WCDMA actually bypass ATTs throttling? I've only been throttled once, still would be nice to know.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes