Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,834 Members 51,020 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Google Play Services update breaks location accuracy

Tip us?
 
syl0n
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 483
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default Google Play Services update breaks location accuracy

Phone settings: Location : Battery Saving (GPS off, using Wifi/network location only)

On Google Play Services 4.0.x - I get very accurate location small circle around where my house is.

After updating to 4.2.25 - I get a large circle - maybe the radius of an entire block / surface area of a cell tower coverage roughly

Uninstall the update to play services (back to 4.0.x) - get very accurate location again.

I am using a RAZR HD with 4.4.2 kit kat thanks to CM11.

Is there a way to resolve this issue? Did play services update broke my specific phone?

I would stay on the older Play Services but Hangouts and Maps keep bitching about needing to update it.
Dropbox 2GB Free storage referral: http://db.tt/YE8R2qk
 
rkuijpers
Old
#2  
rkuijpers's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 905
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by syl0n View Post
Phone settings: Location : Battery Saving (GPS off, using Wifi/network location only)

On Google Play Services 4.0.x - I get very accurate location small circle around where my house is.

After updating to 4.2.25 - I get a large circle - maybe the radius of an entire block / surface area of a cell tower coverage roughly

Uninstall the update to play services (back to 4.0.x) - get very accurate location again.

I am using a RAZR HD with 4.4.2 kit kat thanks to CM11.

Is there a way to resolve this issue? Did play services update broke my specific phone?

I would stay on the older Play Services but Hangouts and Maps keep bitching about needing to update it.
Same here, on a HTC One X running Slimkat... you're not the only one experiencing this! No solution found yet...
http://i.imgur.com/LUioz.png

If I helped you please hit the thanks button, thanks!

 
syl0n
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 483
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkuijpers View Post
Same here, on a HTC One X running Slimkat... you're not the only one experiencing this! No solution found yet...
Hmm, That's good to know. Do you have any other links to more information on it?
Dropbox 2GB Free storage referral: http://db.tt/YE8R2qk
 
es0tericcha0s
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 503
Posts: 2,614
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
http://www.androidpolice.com/2013/05...king-on-a-fix/

Seems like it might not just be HTC users...
Need some help, advice, something fixed? Hit me up on Hangouts @ es0tericcha0s
Now offering unlocking services - including many Sprint phone unlocks! PM for details!

HTC Droid Eris / Motorola Droid / Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate / Motorola Droid X / LG G2x / HTC Evo 3D (x2) / Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Sprint S2) / HTC Amaze / Samsung Galaxy S3 (International) / Samsung Galaxy Note 2 / Nexus 4 / HTC One / Samsung Galaxy S4 / Sony Xperia ZL / Nexus 5 / OnePlus One (64 GB)
 
rkuijpers
Old
#5  
rkuijpers's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 905
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by syl0n View Post
Hmm, That's good to know. Do you have any other links to more information on it?
Here is one, look at the last posts:
https://code.google.com/p/android/is...etail?id=57707

I've read more about it elsewhere, but as not everyone uses only network but mostly the more precise GPS for location purposes, most people probably won't even notice the problem exists [emoji6]

Verstuurd vanaf mijn One X met Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 02:19 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:14 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s View Post
http://www.androidpolice.com/2013/05...king-on-a-fix/

Seems like it might not just be HTC users...
It's not the same bug, that one was an issue almost a year ago [emoji41]

Verstuurd vanaf mijn One X met Tapatalk
http://i.imgur.com/LUioz.png

If I helped you please hit the thanks button, thanks!

 
es0tericcha0s
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 503
Posts: 2,614
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Oh it isn't 2013 any more, is it? LoL My how time flies...
Need some help, advice, something fixed? Hit me up on Hangouts @ es0tericcha0s
Now offering unlocking services - including many Sprint phone unlocks! PM for details!

HTC Droid Eris / Motorola Droid / Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate / Motorola Droid X / LG G2x / HTC Evo 3D (x2) / Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Sprint S2) / HTC Amaze / Samsung Galaxy S3 (International) / Samsung Galaxy Note 2 / Nexus 4 / HTC One / Samsung Galaxy S4 / Sony Xperia ZL / Nexus 5 / OnePlus One (64 GB)
The Following User Says Thank You to es0tericcha0s For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fairasca
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2011
Same issue here. Network location appears to work (very low accuracy), but WiFi location doesn't. If Play Services update is uninstalled WiFi location works again.
It's a pain in the ass to use aviate or cover whitout network location working properly.

Phone: RAZR HD GSM XT925
ROM: CM11 nightly.

So... Any news?

Sorry for my english, it's not my native languaje.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Secrecy App Goes Open Source, New LG Android Wear Device! – XDA Developer TV

Secrecy encryption app goes open source! That and much … more

Pushbullet Updated with SMS Send Ability

Pushbullet is one of thoseapplications that every Android lover should have installed on his or … more

[OTA] Nvidia Shield Tablet Receives its First Update

The Nvidia Shield Tabletis the latest toy from one of the largest desktop graphics … more

Quick Control Panel Updated, Adds Notification Support

As some of you may remember, earlier this year we spoke about Quick Control Panel by … more