Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,054 Members 40,159 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Change keyboard? and Xposed?

Tip us?
 
jaed.43725
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 149
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lillington, NC
Question [Q] Change keyboard? and Xposed?

2 different questions here. No use in making a new thread for everything.

I did some searching and for some reason with the update you supposedly cant change the default keyboard. I have the Google Keyboard (my preferred one) installed, changed it so it should be the default. But it just wont change it. Has anyone been able to figure out a way to get it done?

2nd Q. Does Xposed work on the G2? Or is there something like it? I want to change the battery icon, and show dbm for the signal.
LG G2
 
Swizzle82
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 106
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Texas
As far as the keyboard I'm not sure. I do know that swiftkey won't work properly but don't know about the google keyboard. Xposed does work with the G2 just use the G2tweakbox and G2 xposed modules.
 
jaed.43725
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 149
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lillington, NC
I have the G2Tweaksbox loaded up. But you have to have root to use it. And right now nobody has rooted 4.4.2. without going through crazy measures.
LG G2
 
Swizzle82
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 106
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaed.43725 View Post
I have the G2Tweaksbox loaded up. But you have to have root to use it. And right now nobody has rooted 4.4.2. without going through crazy measures.
Yes that is correct... Xposed won't work without root period.
 
Froid
Old
#5  
Froid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1290
Posts: 1,020
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: somewhere

 
DONATE TO ME
No problem using the Google keyboard here. It's also a pretty easy process to root. A bit of a pita but easy with the TOT method.
 
jaed.43725
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 149
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lillington, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Froid View Post
No problem using the Google keyboard here. It's also a pretty easy process to root. A bit of a pita but easy with the TOT method.
Finally got the keyboard to work. There is a stupid thing on the pull down menu when you go to type something that asks you to choose input. And from there you can select your other keyboard. So glad I got the Google Keyboard to work. That LG one is abysmal.

Froid: Could you paste a link here so I can read over the root. Everything I have found says that since the update you have to go back to 4.2.2. That is something I could do but am not wanting to go that far. If there were an easier way to just put on another ROM I would do that for sure.
LG G2
 
Froid
Old
#7  
Froid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1290
Posts: 1,020
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: somewhere

 
DONATE TO ME
You do have to revert to 4.2.2 to root, but I found the TOT method easy enuff. I'm also running the G3 keyboard and I like it better than Google's and I always thought theirs was the best. Here's the link I used for the TOT method.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=45293512

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Remove Unnecessary WhatsApp Elements with Xposed

In modern life, you can’t underestimate the power ofthe dark sidemessaging … more

MaR-V-iN to Talk Google and Android APIs at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of September … more

But First, Let Me Take a #Selfie

“Today while browsing XDA,I’m going tocheck to seeif my favorite ROM has been updated–but … more