Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,708 Members 54,355 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unlocking Solution 2014 HTC TouchPro2 Verizon

Tip us?
 
TheAH
Old
#1  
TheAH's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 81
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Stalker
Default Unlocking Solution 2014 HTC TouchPro2 Verizon

Hello everyone,

I have recently received an HTC Touch Pro 2 Verizon from my friend who is no longer using it. I have T-Mobile and I want to use it on my network. Unfortunately, the phone is locked to Verizon. Does anyone know if there is a way to unlock the phone for free without contacting Verizon? I searched the forums but the ways that were previously used do not work anymore. (For example, Olipro is not active in the community anymore).


Does anyone have a tool that will unlock it? I know there are others on the fora who would like to unlock their devices as well.

Thanks,
TheAH
Find me at http://www.theah.tk

Devices:
HTC Blue Angel (QTEK 9090)
HTC Blue Angel (i-mate PDA2K)
HTC Hermes (Cingular 8525)
HTC Phoebus 2009 (T-Mobile Shadow 2)
HTC One (Coming Soon) (T-Mobile)
 
Elludium_Q-36
Old
(Last edited by Elludium_Q-36; 7th April 2014 at 05:13 PM.)
#2  
Elludium_Q-36's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2013
Sign Did You SEARCH The Forum, FIRST?

Aside from the fact that developers and skilled programmers detest noob questions, and end users (lusers); there is the matter of your question being hashed over umpteen times, herein!

Myself, I would rather a crass answer, than to be ignored.

You should really do the prerequisite reading.

Verizon is a CDMA network operator. T-Mobile is GSM.

The TP2 (Touch Pro 2) usually ships WV (World LOCKED), whereas you want WU (World UNLOCKED). This is part of the "radio" firmware, which runs the cellular radios.

The Sprint (CDMA) branded version ships WV and won't even connect/register on a U.S. domestic GSM network. You can't even dial 911!

The handset also has an FM broadcast radio receiver, but it's not operable via the stock ROM.

Yes you need to be security/SIM unlocked, but you must also be World Unlocked, unless you live close enough to Canada or Me-He-Co, to get their GSM signal, and have one of their GSM chip/cards.

Read about HSPL (Hard Secondary Program Loader), WU radio, and WU unlock...

Maybe if you ask the right QUESTIONS, you'll get the right ANSWERS.

Don't forget that the HTC Touch Pro 2 is ANCIENT, in the world of handsets, and developers have mostly moved on to the newer, shinier devices, to get a chance to "brick" them. Many of the needed files have disappeared from here!

By the way... I noticed 188 views of your OP, and but 1 reply, here. Did you happen to notice the tick/checkbox below where you type, before you hit "Submit New Thread"?

You are asked:
Quote:
Is this a question?
...and the tick/checkbox is next to:
Quote:
Yes, this thread is a Question!
I get kind of bent when I go on Craig's List, looking to be hired, and waste time reading ads of other people ALSO LOOKING FOR WORK, because they posted in the wrong category. On that board, those ads belong in the "services" or "resume's" section, not the "jobs" or "gigs". Here, it seems that 187 other people hoped for a answer, but only found another question, that has already been answered...
 
TheAH
Old
#3  
TheAH's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 81
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Stalker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elludium_Q-36 View Post
Aside from the fact that developers and skilled programmers detest noob questions, and end users (lusers); there is the matter of your question being hashed over umpteen times, herein!

Myself, I would rather a crass answer, than to be ignored.

You should really do the prerequisite reading.

Verizon is a CDMA network operator. T-Mobile is GSM.

The TP2 (Touch Pro 2) usually ships WV (World LOCKED), whereas you want WU (World UNLOCKED). This is part of the "radio" firmware, which runs the cellular radios.

The Sprint (CDMA) branded version ships WV and won't even connect/register on a U.S. domestic GSM network. You can't even dial 911!

The handset also has an FM broadcast radio receiver, but it's not operable via the stock ROM.

Yes you need to be security/SIM unlocked, but you must also be World Unlocked, unless you live close enough to Canada or Me-He-Co, to get their GSM signal, and have one of their GSM chip/cards.

Read about HSPL (Hard Secondary Program Loader), WU radio, and WU unlock...

Maybe if you ask the right QUESTIONS, you'll get the right ANSWERS.

Don't forget that the HTC Touch Pro 2 is ANCIENT, in the world of handsets, and developers have mostly moved on to the newer, shinier devices, to get a chance to "brick" them. Many of the needed files have disappeared from here!

By the way... I noticed 188 views of your OP, and but 1 reply, here. Did you happen to notice the tick/checkbox below where you type, before you hit "Submit New Thread"?

You are asked:

...and the tick/checkbox is next to:


I get kind of bent when I go on Craig's List, looking to be hired, and waste time reading ads of other people ALSO LOOKING FOR WORK, because they posted in the wrong category. On that board, those ads belong in the "services" or "resume's" section, not the "jobs" or "gigs". Here, it seems that 187 other people hoped for a answer, but only found another question, that has already been answered...
I understand that you need to make other people feel inferior in order to make yourself feel superior. But I believe that you are the true noob here, not only through your limited knowledge about how this device can be unlocked to use on GSM networks IN THE US, but also through your disrespect for other people on these fora. If you want to be rude and disrespectful, go find another forum for idiots who think they know how they can tell others wrong information. Your abysmal 3 posts are worthless and do not contribute to the community. Rather they feed the other trolls lurking behind the curtain of developers who want to share their accomplishments.

You are the stupid and worthless noob that needs to get out of these fora. It seems that 187 other people were smart enough to figure out that you can actually unlock this device. Unfortunately, people like you only hold back human civilization.

If you want to be idiotic about everything, why not be a moderator? Because you cannot. Learn to use your brain first, n00b.
Find me at http://www.theah.tk

Devices:
HTC Blue Angel (QTEK 9090)
HTC Blue Angel (i-mate PDA2K)
HTC Hermes (Cingular 8525)
HTC Phoebus 2009 (T-Mobile Shadow 2)
HTC One (Coming Soon) (T-Mobile)
 
Elludium_Q-36
Old
(Last edited by Elludium_Q-36; 5th June 2014 at 07:07 PM.)
#4  
Elludium_Q-36's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2013
Info 2 Non Cibos Troglodytae!

Ecce, unus troglodytam.

Mirum est quod loquitur lingua communis.

Numquid prodigia nunquam desinet?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes