Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,971 Members 44,242 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] NC2 or NC4

Tip us?
 
BigShowJoe
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 38
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default [Q] NC2 or NC4

I am currently running MJE, stock ROM, rooted, safestrap installed. I assume my best route is to uninstall Safestrap, unroot, take the NC4 OTA, and then re-root and install Safestrap. Or should I keep it like it is and flash NC2 and avoid any OTAs?
 
BigShowJoe
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 38
Join Date: Dec 2011
I think I just answered my own question. I see that NC4 cannot be rooted yet. Think I'll just stick with what I have for now and wait on a root method.
 
bigillz
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 205
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigShowJoe View Post
I am currently running MJE, stock ROM, rooted, safestrap installed. I assume my best route is to uninstall Safestrap, unroot, take the NC4 OTA, and then re-root and install Safestrap. Or should I keep it like it is and flash NC2 and avoid any OTAs?
NOOOOOO. Do not do that. If you take the OTA update you will be in a bad place.

All info here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=52116851

Once you are on the leaked NC2, you can install the NC4 modem if you want; however myself and many others are finding better connection and speeds with the MJE modem. You can flash MJE/NC2/NC4 modems interchangeably in ODIN once you are on NC2.

---------- Post added at 06:35 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:34 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigShowJoe View Post
I think I just answered my own question. I see that NC4 cannot be rooted yet. Think I'll just stick with what I have for now and wait on a root method.
There is no reason to wait for a root method. The NC2 leak can be flashed with NC4 modem and recovery, and you can run any of the 4.4.2 ROMs on it. In addition, if you waited for NC4 to be rooted and did the OTA update, you'd still lose the ability to downgrade to MJE and other flashing options that only the leaked NC2 allows.
The Following User Says Thank You to bigillz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BigShowJoe
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 38
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigillz View Post
NOOOOOO. Do not do that. If you take the OTA update you will be in a bad place.

All info here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=52116851

Once you are on the leaked NC2, you can install the NC4 modem if you want; however myself and many others are finding better connection and speeds with the MJE modem. You can flash MJE/NC2/NC4 modems interchangeably in ODIN once you are on NC2.

---------- Post added at 06:35 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:34 PM ----------



There is no reason to wait for a root method. The NC2 leak can be flashed with NC4 modem and recovery, and you can run any of the 4.4.2 ROMs on it. In addition, if you waited for NC4 to be rooted and did the OTA update, you'd still lose the ability to downgrade to MJE and other flashing options that only the leaked NC2 allows.

Good points. Thanks.
 
ryanbg
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 800
Posts: 357
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minnesota
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigShowJoe View Post
I am currently running MJE, stock ROM, rooted, safestrap installed. I assume my best route is to uninstall Safestrap, unroot, take the NC4 OTA, and then re-root and install Safestrap. Or should I keep it like it is and flash NC2 and avoid any OTAs?
If you take the NC4 OTA, your bootloader will be incremented with a special counter that's read in Odin/Download Mode. NC2 does not increment this counter, allowing you to downgrade to 4.3 if need be. NC2 also has kernel modules enabled, which is pretty rare.
 
BigShowJoe
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 38
Join Date: Dec 2011
Thanks for the info guys. Can someone point me to the Odin download and instructions on flashing firmware?
 
DSM4rill
Old
#7  
DSM4rill's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 26
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: upper east coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigShowJoe View Post
Thanks for the info guys. Can someone point me to the Odin download and instructions on flashing firmware?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2740466

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2543386

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to DSM4rill For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
usajet
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2011
Quick question: I did the NC2 leak and running bigginsRom v3, I then flashed the NC4 radio which works great. Do I have to odin back to NC2 radio before flashing bigginsRom V4?
 
hecksagon
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 44
Join Date: Dec 2010
No. The rom doesn't care what modem you are ruinning. I am still on Eclipse 4.3 and I have updated to the NC4 modem.
The Following User Says Thank You to hecksagon For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
usajet
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by hecksagon View Post
No. The rom doesn't care what modem you are ruinning. I am still on Eclipse 4.3 and I have updated to the NC4 modem.
Thanks for the clarifying

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes