Post Reply

[Q] E: failed to mount /data (Invalid argument) on stock S5

OP notaneggspert

6th June 2014, 04:01 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
I have a completely stock S5 that's up to date I got the phone 43 days ago from amazon.com no bad drops or water damage. Today my phone powered off while I was in the car playing music with power amp and rebooted.

It gets passed the Samsung Galaxy S5 powered by Android boot screen animation and gets stuck at the red Verizon screen. So far I've pulled the battery/sim/sd and tried booting with and without sim/sd and I get the same screen.

When I boot into recovery by holding up/power/home I get these errors I guess the next step is to factory reset from the recovery or should I start with ODIN? I'm not really familiar with the back end of the S5 since I didn't want to trip the KNOXs so I haven't bothered trying to root or even enter download mode/recovery until now.
6th June 2014, 04:46 AM   |  #2  
kilroy1stcav's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by notaneggspert

I have a completely stock S5 that's up to date I got the phone 43 days ago from amazon.com no bad drops or water damage. Today my phone powered off while I was in the car playing music with power amp and rebooted.

It gets passed the Samsung Galaxy S5 powered by Android boot screen animation and gets stuck at the red Verizon screen. So far I've pulled the battery/sim/sd and tried booting with and without sim/sd and I get the same screen.

When I boot into recovery by holding up/power/home I get these errors I guess the next step is to factory reset from the recovery or should I start with ODIN? I'm not really familiar with the back end of the S5 since I didn't want to trip the KNOXs so I haven't bothered trying to root or even enter download mode/recovery until now.

It looks like all errors are in your /data folder so it got corrupted some how, I would try just wiping cache first setting if that clears things, I doubt it, but you can hope, but wiping data/factory reset should fix it.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank