Post Reply

[Q] Quick rooting order Q

5th June 2014, 05:37 PM   |  #1  
rowlers's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 318
 
1,036 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
I'm coming from S3, so things here are completely different.
So, I'm on stock UK .55 Firmware.
I want to RomAur and DoomKernel.
So:
1 - unlock bootloader (Fastboot etc is confirmed working).
2 - fastboot flash doomkernel 0.9 (Z2 kernels contain the recovery as well? - they were seperate on S3)
3 - reboot to the new CWM recovery.
4 - recovery flash RomAur.

Have I got this right?
No need for SuperSU as RomAur is already rooted with it.

Thanks
5th June 2014, 06:07 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 202
 
493 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Here's what I did

1. unlock bootloader
2. fastboot flash 402 stock kernel + baseband (to get baseband) FTF
3. fastboot flash modified stock kernel by doomlord
4. reboot into CWM
5. recovery flash RomAur

You'll end up with 402 baseband, 402 rom. You can optionally, at the end flash the proper doomkernel v06+. I think you can go to the doomkernel instead of the modified stock kernel, just not how I did it.

Also, make sure you remove your SD-Card before you unlock your bootloader.

Coming from HTC or Samsung, the key to remember is that recovery is part of the kernel for Sony devices.
Last edited by se1000; 5th June 2014 at 06:12 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to se1000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th June 2014, 06:19 PM   |  #3  
rowlers's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 318
 
1,036 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by se1000

Here's what I did

1. unlock bootloader
2. fastboot flash 402 stock kernel + baseband (to get baseband) FTF
3. fastboot flash modified stock kernel by doomlord
4. reboot into CWM
5. recovery flash RomAur

You'll end up with 402 baseband, 402 rom. You can optionally, at the end flash the proper doomkernel v06+. I think you can go to the doomkernel instead of the modified stock kernel, just not how I did it.

Also, make sure you remove your SD-Card before you unlock your bootloader.

Coming from HTC or Samsung, the key to remember is that recovery is part of the kernel for Sony devices.

Thanks, I thought kernel/recovery came together. Is the baseband bundled with the kernel/recovery too then?
So bootloader is now unlocked
Getting there.
5th June 2014, 06:21 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 202
 
493 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rowlers

Thanks, I thought kernel/recovery came together.
So bootloader is now unlocked
Getting there.

It does on Sony but on Samsung and HTC you can flash a recovery separately from kernels and vice versa. Just follow the steps it should go smoothly.
The Following User Says Thank You to se1000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th June 2014, 06:24 PM   |  #5  
rowlers's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 318
 
1,036 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by se1000

It does on Sony but on Samsung and HTC you can flash a recovery separately from kernels and vice versa. Just follow the steps it should go smoothly.

Quick link to the 402 stock kernel + baseband.ftf?

thanks

Edit - I'm guessing that you download the full firmware .ftf and selectively flash the kernel/baseband?
Last edited by rowlers; 5th June 2014 at 06:30 PM.
5th June 2014, 06:35 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 202
 
493 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rowlers

Quick link to the 402 stock kernel + baseband.ftf?

thanks

For D6503: https://mega.co.nz/#!wIIGlQ6a!BuUdkX...KFL7xXPSHG8Je8

---------- Post added at 10:35 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:30 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowlers

Quick link to the 402 stock kernel + baseband.ftf?

thanks

Edit - I'm guessing that you download the full firmware .ftf and selectively flash the kernel/baseband?

you can flash the full 402 FTF but instead you can also just flash the 402 kernel + baseband file I linked. Seemed easier to me.
The Following User Says Thank You to se1000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th June 2014, 09:02 PM   |  #7  
rowlers's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 318
 
1,036 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
Can you fastboot flash an .ftf file or do you need to use flashtool?
6th June 2014, 10:22 AM   |  #8  
Envious_Data's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Imagination
Thanks Meter: 909
 
2,285 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rowlers

Can you fastboot flash an .ftf file or do you need to use flashtool?

no you have to flashmode it or use flashtool

flashtool -> Flashtool.net

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xperia Z2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank