Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] No 3G (only LTE) on E980 CM11

OP geezer85

29th May 2014, 12:10 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Hi guys,

sorry if it's a noobish question or has been asked before.
I have a LG E988 and updated my stock LG firmware to Cyanogenmod 11 M6 snapshot version for E980. It works in every aspects, except of 3G. However I try to assign my 'Preferred network type' to '3G', it only works on LTE network.
It seems like it's missing the 'driver' or firmware for 3G modem. Is it possible?

Thanks for help.
29th May 2014, 08:16 PM   |  #2  
abumy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
367 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by geezer85

Hi guys,

sorry if it's a noobish question or has been asked before.
I have a LG E988 and updated my stock LG firmware to Cyanogenmod 11 M6 snapshot version for E980. It works in every aspects, except of 3G. However I try to assign my 'Preferred network type' to '3G', it only works on LTE network.
It seems like it's missing the 'driver' or firmware for 3G modem. Is it possible?

Thanks for help.

I am running m6 and selecting the 3g network works fine. I think LTE can also be toggled in the quick settings panel, perhaps you could try and turn it off from there.

Sent from my LG-E980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
29th May 2014, 08:25 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by abumy

I am running m6 and selecting the 3g network works fine. I think LTE can also be toggled in the quick settings panel, perhaps you could try and turn it off from there.

Sent from my LG-E980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I tried that (I am aware that there is a 'mobile network' on off switch AND there is the 'LTE' on off switch), not working. I even tried the "*" *4636*"*"* method of preferred network, no luck.
Could it be because this edition is aimed at LTE or this is ridiculous? Or is it a possibility that my model is E988 not the 980?
6th June 2014, 11:34 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
SOLVED
Thanks guys, it is solved now.
My dearest Service Provider, Telenor Hungary has a dual APN settings: 'hypernet', which apparently provides LTE only, and normal 'net', which is a 2G-3G-LTE solution.
Strange.

Thx for the help, though.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes