Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Write to external SD.

OP Hans.physics

5th June 2014, 06:26 PM   |  #11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cHoLoCoY

i'm having the same problem but my phone is not rooted, i usually us ES File Explorer to do my file browsing and management but for some reason i can't delete, create or rename files or folders on the external SD card.

i did a clean format with my SDXC card in the phone when i first started the device and that's usually exFat. and thats when i started to notice the problem,... i couldn't delete or create files or folders from the ES File Explorer app,.... so i did a clean install again with the ES File Explorer and the problem is still there,.... also when taking picture and deleting the unwanted pictures that i took.... i would still see the pictures i deleted in the picture gallery / album....

im still confused on whats going on,.... last night i reformatted my SDXC card to FAT32,... but the problem is still there,...

i tried using the File Commander app that came pre-installed with the device...... for some reason i can rename, delete and even create files and folders.... this is the only app that let's me do all those things when it comes to the external SD card.

other apps such as QuickPic won't allow me to delete, rename or whatever i have to do my pictures on the external SD card

Yeah. That's expected behavior on a non-rooted KK phone. My problem is that I'm rooted and I can't get anything to write to external. Total Commander, Root Explorer, ES File Explorer, Camera apps, etc. Nothing will write to External SD no matter how many times I make the required mods to the platform.xml file. It is driving me nuts.
5th June 2014, 06:48 PM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Flag Bahrain
Thanks Meter: 28
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans.physics

Yeah. That's expected behavior on a non-rooted KK phone. My problem is that I'm rooted and I can't get anything to write to external. Total Commander, Root Explorer, ES File Explorer, Camera apps, etc. Nothing will write to External SD no matter how many times I make the required mods to the platform.xml file. It is driving me nuts.

I had the same issue before when I upgraded my S4 to KK, but installing FolderMount solved it, when I started the app it showed me a message that my phone has some settings that will not make the app work and it asked me if I want to correct it.. I said yes, restart and viola every thing is okay...


https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...evasque.fmount

I don't know if it will work on Z2 ( I still didn't have it yet ) but you might try it...
5th June 2014, 07:04 PM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 202
 
284 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cHoLoCoY

oh wow,..... so what about the pictures i took from the camera? i can never delete picture's??? (data storage: SD card)

i guess i have to get use to using the built-in apps to do some of the stuff i need to do,...

Yeah you need to use the built-in file manager, File Commander, to delete your photos on microsd for non-rooted.
6th June 2014, 10:11 PM   |  #14  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Looks like it was a bad card after all. I swapped it out and now everything works as it is supposed to. I have other issue, but I'll open a new thread for those

Thanks for the help folks!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes