MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more
Post Reply

Last I heard, we were waiting on some *mythical* certification from Google...

4th June 2014, 05:40 AM   |  #11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwaldo

Ouya everywhere integration

Do you know how they are doing this? I don't understand this subject very well... Ouya is kind of a locked version of Android, like you might get on a Samsung phone, so if they port it to M.O.J.O. doesn't that turn it into a Ouya? The Ouya games are optimized for Ouya (Tegra 3 and controller), what else is different? Maybe Ouya has to build a launcher that can be installed on the M.O.J.O. but what does Mad Catz have to do, besides test it?
4th June 2014, 08:33 AM   |  #12  
gwaldo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melb.
Thanks Meter: 13
 
256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by P901

Do you know how they are doing this? I don't understand this subject very well... Ouya is kind of a locked version of Android, like you might get on a Samsung phone, so if they port it to M.O.J.O. doesn't that turn it into a Ouya? The Ouya games are optimized for Ouya (Tegra 3 and controller), what else is different? Maybe Ouya has to build a launcher that can be installed on the M.O.J.O. but what does Mad Catz have to do, besides test it?

Ouya is just a custom android theme/launcher.. people had it installed on their tablets before it come out (retail).
I think android lets you decide which theme you want.
I'm not 100% sure tho.

I would imagine, ouya would turn it more into an app, like nvidia zone or google play store.. as it would be easier to manage on new android versions, again not sure.

The games are optimized for T3, true but T4 is very backwards compatible, no problem there.
The only issue I see, is the controller difference mojo has more buttons (start/select media keys), the buttons work but the mapping is wrong and no mouse pad....

"but what does Mad Catz have to do, besides test it?"


Yes, test it with the newer version of Android (4.4.2 or kitkat), and maybe also involved with porting.. ie library conflicts (ie controller support).
Ouya everywhere has three different interface's Java/unity3D/MonoGame, so they all have to work correctly.

No talk about them migrating to newer android versions, so it could be just a madcatz thing.
https://devs.ouya.tv/odk-changelog.txt
https://github.com/ouya
6th June 2014, 08:34 AM   |  #13  
gwaldo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melb.
Thanks Meter: 13
 
256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by P901

A more likely scenario is that they haven't sold enough M.O.J.O.s to make the upgrade a priority or even worthwhile.

Check out MC latest blog:
http://madcatz.com/whats-great-bluetooth-smart/


Kitkat is coming!!!
Well.. pending.. but it's mentioned so it's coming!!
6th June 2014, 04:41 PM   |  #14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwaldo

Check out MC latest blog:
http://madcatz.com/whats-great-bluetooth-smart/


Kitkat is coming!!!
Well.. pending.. but it's mentioned so it's coming!!

I believe it is too. Should be some great updates when this comes. Looking forward to it, in the meantime I've been using FPSE for playstation emulation and it runs great. Really my only beefs with the MOJO have been with some media playback issues and little news regarding expectation of firmware updates. Hopefully the 4k update will fix some of this.
7th June 2014, 12:48 AM   |  #15  
gwaldo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melb.
Thanks Meter: 13
 
256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by christoph80

I've been using FPSE for playstation emulation and it runs great.

I like FPSE and bought it, but the analog L/R 2 tiggers assign but dont work ingame for me, I've told the dev via his forum for a fix tho..
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes