FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Cannot Root. Need help!

7th June 2014, 02:13 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
I installed the KK ROM wit the TOT method and then rooted the phone and installed the CWM recovery as an apk. Now when I go into SU, it says I am not rooted. I tried 2 methods to root but unsuccessful. It boots into CWM recovery and then nothing. Do I need to reinstall the OS with the TOT method again? Any ideas?
 
 
7th June 2014, 02:28 AM |#2  
jdk2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Four Corners, FL
Thanks Meter: 144
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD2FORNICK

I installed the KK ROM wit the TOT method and then rooted the phone and installed the CWM recovery as an apk. Now when I go into SU, it says I am not rooted. I tried 2 methods to root but unsuccessful. It boots into CWM recovery and then nothing. Do I need to reinstall the OS with the TOT method again? Any ideas?

This method works perfectly: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...68&postcount=1
After root, use this to get the correct recovery: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...05&postcount=1
Once the phone boots into the UI, use Freegee to install the latest recovery.
The Following User Says Thank You to jdk2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th June 2014, 03:18 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdk2

This method works perfectly: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...68&postcount=1
After root, use this to get the correct recovery: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...05&postcount=1
Once the phone boots into the UI, use Freegee to install the latest recovery.

Tries and doesn't work. It goes back to my CWM recovery and does nothing. Thanks.
7th June 2014, 03:37 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 192
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD2FORNICK

Tries and doesn't work. It goes back to my CWM recovery and does nothing. Thanks.

flash the hacked twrp. that gets me out of cwm bootloop.
7th June 2014, 05:40 PM |#5  
mk3's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag GMT -8
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Same problem here phone was rooted and then installed CWM and for some reason lost root. Its not a CWM bootloop.

When the root step requires "Apply Update from ADB" I cannot because CWM doesn't have that option.
7th June 2014, 05:44 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mk3

Same problem here phone was rooted and then installed CWM and for some reason lost root. Its not a CWM bootloop.

When the root step requires "Apply Update from ADB" I cannot because CWM doesn't have that option.

I got bad news bro. I had to re TOT the phone and start from scratch. There is a CWM 6.0.4.4 floating around causing this issue. The phone loses root but it constantly boots into CWM when trying to root.
The Following User Says Thank You to HD2FORNICK For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th June 2014, 05:48 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
ROOT achieved, now need recovery!
OK, so I had to re TOT and get the phone back to factory state with 4.4. Then I was able to root successfully and now I am wondering how and which recovery to use. Could someone please post a link to Philz recovery and can I flash it with the same root toll with ADB sideload? THanks.
7th June 2014, 11:52 PM |#8  
mk3's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag GMT -8
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Ok I figured out how to get root back on my phone! Yay!

Run the same F240 root tool as usual, it will reboot phone into CWM recovery but you can't choose "apply update from ADB" so instead pick INSTALL ZIP, then choose INSTALL ZIP FROM SIDELOAD. Press any key on computer to load root files then at next step in CWM choose GO BACK, then choose REBOOT SYSTEM NOW. At next step in CWM will ask "Rom may flash stock recovery on boot. F1 This can not be undone." here I choose NO. Phone will reboot and root is restored. I think before I was scared and chose YES on this step and that's what lost my root.

Root Check Basic and SuperSU both show I am rooted and back to okay.

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to mk3 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th June 2014, 01:46 AM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mk3

Ok I figured out how to get root back on my phone! Yay!

Run the same F240 root tool as usual, it will reboot phone into CWM recovery but you can't choose "apply update from ADB" so instead pick INSTALL ZIP, then choose INSTALL ZIP FROM SIDELOAD. Press any key on computer to load root files then at next step in CWM choose GO BACK, then choose REBOOT SYSTEM NOW. At next step in CWM will ask "Rom may flash stock recovery on boot. F1 This can not be undone." here I choose NO. Phone will reboot and root is restored. I think before I was scared and chose YES on this step and that's what lost my root.

Root Check Basic and SuperSU both show I am rooted and back to okay.

Ok so i need a custom recovery such one did you use. I need one that can read the external card.
9th June 2014, 01:55 AM |#10  
jdk2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Four Corners, FL
Thanks Meter: 144
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD2FORNICK

Ok so i need a custom recovery such one did you use. I need one that can read the external card.

I used that CWM 6.0.4.4 recovery to install a custom recovery only. Once it flashes the recovery, reboot the phone. Answer No to the disclaimer in recovery and let the phone boot into kitkat. Then I used Freegee to install it's latest version of CWM. Ignore the warning if you get one in Freegee. It will install the newer recovery.
The Following User Says Thank You to jdk2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Optimus G Pro Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank