FORUMS

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Flashing to GPE

7th June 2014, 01:01 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
I want to get the S5 and I am getting tired of waiting on the Google Play Edition. If I go ahead and grab a T-Mobile S5 I would think we will be able to flash it to the GPE once it hits. Can anyone see any drawbacks to this that I am not aware of? TIA.
 
 
7th June 2014, 01:02 AM |#2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 937
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by awtryau89

I want to get the S5 and I am getting tired of waiting on the Google Play Edition. If I go ahead and grab a T-Mobile S5 I would think we will be able to flash it to the GPE once it hits. Can anyone see any drawbacks to this that I am not aware of? TIA.

You'll be able to flash a ROM, but not convert it completely if they do the same thing as the S4. It will function the same, but no OTA basically.
7th June 2014, 01:06 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

You'll be able to flash a ROM, but not convert it completely if they do the same thing as the S4. It will function the same, but no OTA basically.

Yeah OTA is not an issue as I have to have root for Viper, Xpose, etc. Besides with XDA who needs OTA. Heck they already have the S4 images before a couple of my buddies S's have even been prompted for the OTA.
7th June 2014, 01:09 AM |#4  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 937
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by awtryau89

Yeah OTA is not an issue as I have to have root for Viper, Xpose, etc. Besides with XDA who needs OTA. Heck they already have the S4 images before a couple of my buddies S's have even been prompted for the OTA.

The TMO S5 is pretty much the unlocked variant so you can do anything you want.
7th June 2014, 01:25 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
Well I think I'm going to grab a T-mobile version then if I can.
7th June 2014, 01:27 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Orlando, FL
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
I dont mean to hijack this thread, but can I flash any Intl S5 Rom to my Tmobile GS5?
7th June 2014, 01:28 AM |#7  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 937
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by J3COMPUTERSERVICES

I dont mean to hijack this thread, but can I flash any Intl S5 Rom to my Tmobile GS5?

Yup
The Following User Says Thank You to aooga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th June 2014, 02:26 AM |#8  
mahanddeem's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 124
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

Yup

Including the full 100% stock .tar.md5 from Sammobile.com in Odin ?
like this 1 ? http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/3/?download=30554
7th June 2014, 02:29 AM |#9  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 937
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mahanddeem

Including the full 100% stock .tar.md5 from Sammobile.com in Odin ?
like this 1 ? http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/3/?download=30554

No don't do that. Just custom roms flashable in recovery.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes