FORUMS

Devs Beware – Automatic Backup Privacy Risks

One new feature of “Android M” (speculation on potential names welcomed … more

Android M to Bring New App Drawer

It has now been seen that Android M will receive a new app drawer as part of the stock … more

Which IO Announcement Are You Most Excited About?

The keynote we had all been waiting for has just ended and it’s time to enjoy … more

Google Launches Google Photos At I/O 2015 Keynote

While rumors have been floating around for a while, the Google I/O 2015 has made … more

Flashing to GPE

Thanks Meter: 61
 
By awtryau89, Senior Member on 7th June 2014, 01:01 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I want to get the S5 and I am getting tired of waiting on the Google Play Edition. If I go ahead and grab a T-Mobile S5 I would think we will be able to flash it to the GPE once it hits. Can anyone see any drawbacks to this that I am not aware of? TIA.
 
 
7th June 2014, 01:02 AM |#2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 953
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by awtryau89

I want to get the S5 and I am getting tired of waiting on the Google Play Edition. If I go ahead and grab a T-Mobile S5 I would think we will be able to flash it to the GPE once it hits. Can anyone see any drawbacks to this that I am not aware of? TIA.

You'll be able to flash a ROM, but not convert it completely if they do the same thing as the S4. It will function the same, but no OTA basically.
7th June 2014, 01:06 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

You'll be able to flash a ROM, but not convert it completely if they do the same thing as the S4. It will function the same, but no OTA basically.

Yeah OTA is not an issue as I have to have root for Viper, Xpose, etc. Besides with XDA who needs OTA. Heck they already have the S4 images before a couple of my buddies S's have even been prompted for the OTA.
7th June 2014, 01:09 AM |#4  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 953
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by awtryau89

Yeah OTA is not an issue as I have to have root for Viper, Xpose, etc. Besides with XDA who needs OTA. Heck they already have the S4 images before a couple of my buddies S's have even been prompted for the OTA.

The TMO S5 is pretty much the unlocked variant so you can do anything you want.
7th June 2014, 01:25 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
Well I think I'm going to grab a T-mobile version then if I can.
7th June 2014, 01:27 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Orlando, FL
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
I dont mean to hijack this thread, but can I flash any Intl S5 Rom to my Tmobile GS5?
7th June 2014, 01:28 AM |#7  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 953
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by J3COMPUTERSERVICES

I dont mean to hijack this thread, but can I flash any Intl S5 Rom to my Tmobile GS5?

Yup
The Following User Says Thank You to aooga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th June 2014, 02:26 AM |#8  
mahanddeem's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 124
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

Yup

Including the full 100% stock .tar.md5 from Sammobile.com in Odin ?
like this 1 ? http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/3/?download=30554
7th June 2014, 02:29 AM |#9  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 953
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mahanddeem

Including the full 100% stock .tar.md5 from Sammobile.com in Odin ?
like this 1 ? http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/3/?download=30554

No don't do that. Just custom roms flashable in recovery.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank