Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,642 Members 44,218 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Flashing to GPE

Tip us?
 
awtryau89
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 424
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default Flashing to GPE

I want to get the S5 and I am getting tired of waiting on the Google Play Edition. If I go ahead and grab a T-Mobile S5 I would think we will be able to flash it to the GPE once it hits. Can anyone see any drawbacks to this that I am not aware of? TIA.
 
aooga
Old
#2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 869
Posts: 2,971
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by awtryau89 View Post
I want to get the S5 and I am getting tired of waiting on the Google Play Edition. If I go ahead and grab a T-Mobile S5 I would think we will be able to flash it to the GPE once it hits. Can anyone see any drawbacks to this that I am not aware of? TIA.
You'll be able to flash a ROM, but not convert it completely if they do the same thing as the S4. It will function the same, but no OTA basically.
 
awtryau89
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 424
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga View Post
You'll be able to flash a ROM, but not convert it completely if they do the same thing as the S4. It will function the same, but no OTA basically.
Yeah OTA is not an issue as I have to have root for Viper, Xpose, etc. Besides with XDA who needs OTA. Heck they already have the S4 images before a couple of my buddies S's have even been prompted for the OTA.
 
aooga
Old
#4  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 869
Posts: 2,971
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by awtryau89 View Post
Yeah OTA is not an issue as I have to have root for Viper, Xpose, etc. Besides with XDA who needs OTA. Heck they already have the S4 images before a couple of my buddies S's have even been prompted for the OTA.
The TMO S5 is pretty much the unlocked variant so you can do anything you want.
 
awtryau89
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 424
Join Date: Nov 2008
Well I think I'm going to grab a T-mobile version then if I can.
 
J3COMPUTERSERVICES
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 140
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
I dont mean to hijack this thread, but can I flash any Intl S5 Rom to my Tmobile GS5?
 
aooga
Old
#7  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 869
Posts: 2,971
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by J3COMPUTERSERVICES View Post
I dont mean to hijack this thread, but can I flash any Intl S5 Rom to my Tmobile GS5?
Yup
The Following User Says Thank You to aooga For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mahanddeem
Old
#8  
mahanddeem's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 124
Posts: 1,207
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga View Post
Yup
Including the full 100% stock .tar.md5 from Sammobile.com in Odin ?
like this 1 ? http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/3/?download=30554
 
aooga
Old
#9  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 869
Posts: 2,971
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by mahanddeem View Post
Including the full 100% stock .tar.md5 from Sammobile.com in Odin ?
like this 1 ? http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/3/?download=30554
No don't do that. Just custom roms flashable in recovery.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more

Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more

Increase Your Multitasking Workflow with C-Floating Windows

Technology has put life on the fast track. Lazy, relaxed days have turned into … more

Compile Your Own Kernel From Source with Comprehensive Tutorial

One glance at any developer section of any device forum on XDA and youll find … more