Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Flashing to GPE

OP awtryau89

7th June 2014, 02:01 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
424 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
I want to get the S5 and I am getting tired of waiting on the Google Play Edition. If I go ahead and grab a T-Mobile S5 I would think we will be able to flash it to the GPE once it hits. Can anyone see any drawbacks to this that I am not aware of? TIA.
7th June 2014, 02:02 AM   |  #2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 931
 
3,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by awtryau89

I want to get the S5 and I am getting tired of waiting on the Google Play Edition. If I go ahead and grab a T-Mobile S5 I would think we will be able to flash it to the GPE once it hits. Can anyone see any drawbacks to this that I am not aware of? TIA.

You'll be able to flash a ROM, but not convert it completely if they do the same thing as the S4. It will function the same, but no OTA basically.
7th June 2014, 02:06 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
424 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

You'll be able to flash a ROM, but not convert it completely if they do the same thing as the S4. It will function the same, but no OTA basically.

Yeah OTA is not an issue as I have to have root for Viper, Xpose, etc. Besides with XDA who needs OTA. Heck they already have the S4 images before a couple of my buddies S's have even been prompted for the OTA.
7th June 2014, 02:09 AM   |  #4  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 931
 
3,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by awtryau89

Yeah OTA is not an issue as I have to have root for Viper, Xpose, etc. Besides with XDA who needs OTA. Heck they already have the S4 images before a couple of my buddies S's have even been prompted for the OTA.

The TMO S5 is pretty much the unlocked variant so you can do anything you want.
7th June 2014, 02:25 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
424 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Well I think I'm going to grab a T-mobile version then if I can.
7th June 2014, 02:27 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Orlando, FL
Thanks Meter: 8
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I dont mean to hijack this thread, but can I flash any Intl S5 Rom to my Tmobile GS5?
7th June 2014, 02:28 AM   |  #7  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 931
 
3,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by J3COMPUTERSERVICES

I dont mean to hijack this thread, but can I flash any Intl S5 Rom to my Tmobile GS5?

Yup
The Following User Says Thank You to aooga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th June 2014, 03:26 AM   |  #8  
mahanddeem's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 124
 
1,207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

Yup

Including the full 100% stock .tar.md5 from Sammobile.com in Odin ?
like this 1 ? http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/3/?download=30554
7th June 2014, 03:29 AM   |  #9  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 931
 
3,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mahanddeem

Including the full 100% stock .tar.md5 from Sammobile.com in Odin ?
like this 1 ? http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/3/?download=30554

No don't do that. Just custom roms flashable in recovery.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes