Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,220 Members 45,465 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

GPE OTA flashing problems

Tip us?
 
supahdaniel
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default GPE OTA flashing problems

This is the error I get when I try to flash 4.4.3 in TWRP:
script aborted: file_getprop: failed to stat "/system/build.prop": No such file or directory
file_getprop: failed to stat "/system/build.prop": No such file or directory
I:Legacy property environment disabled.
E:Error executing updater binary in zip '/sdcard/ROM/690c696fc4ad38107536cc3a32f262f5d18d8073.OTA_M8_UL _K44_STOCK_UI_MR_Google_WWE_2.10.1700.4-1.16.1700.16_release_378258.zip'
Error flashing zip '/sdcard/ROM/690c696fc4ad38107536cc3a32f262f5d18d8073.OTA_M8_UL _K44_STOCK_UI_MR_Google_WWE_2.10.1700.4-1.16.1700.16_release_378258.zip'
Updating partition details...
Thanks in advance for any help
 
an0ther
Old
#2  
an0ther's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 159
Posts: 556
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by supahdaniel View Post
This is the error I get when I try to flash 4.4.3 in TWRP:
script aborted: file_getprop: failed to stat "/system/build.prop": No such file or directory
file_getprop: failed to stat "/system/build.prop": No such file or directory
I:Legacy property environment disabled.
E:Error executing updater binary in zip '/sdcard/ROM/690c696fc4ad38107536cc3a32f262f5d18d8073.OTA_M8_UL _K44_STOCK_UI_MR_Google_WWE_2.10.1700.4-1.16.1700.16_release_378258.zip'
Error flashing zip '/sdcard/ROM/690c696fc4ad38107536cc3a32f262f5d18d8073.OTA_M8_UL _K44_STOCK_UI_MR_Google_WWE_2.10.1700.4-1.16.1700.16_release_378258.zip'
Updating partition details...
Thanks in advance for any help
Did you try
fastboot erase cache
The Following User Says Thank You to an0ther For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
supahdaniel
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by an0ther View Post
Did you try
fastboot erase cache
I wiped cache/dalvik in TWRP and it didn't help.

Should I flash systemroot.img (that was extracted from the rooted RUU file) through adb to restore the default /system/ directory? (not sure if that even works)
 
an0ther
Old
#4  
an0ther's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 159
Posts: 556
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by supahdaniel View Post
I wiped cache/dalvik in TWRP and it didn't help.

Should I flash systemroot.img (that was extracted from the rooted RUU file) through adb to restore the default /system/ directory? (not sure if that even works)
I would try "fastboot erase cache" from hboot. Most of the time twrp is giving errors, this will fix it
The Following User Says Thank You to an0ther For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
supahdaniel
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by an0ther View Post
I would try "fastboot erase cache" from hboot. Most of the time twrp is giving errors, this will fix it
I tried and it didn't work
 
an0ther
Old
#6  
an0ther's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 159
Posts: 556
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by supahdaniel View Post
I tried and it didn't work
You could try philz, or flash stock recovery and try to take the update?
The Following User Says Thank You to an0ther For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
supahdaniel
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by an0ther View Post
You could try philz, or flash stock recovery and try to take the update?
I flashed stock recovery but how do I flash the update from there? my computer doesn't see it on adb when it's on stock recovery?

Also, sorry about my noobish questions
 
supahdaniel
Old
(Last edited by supahdaniel; 7th June 2014 at 03:25 AM.)
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by an0ther View Post
You could try philz, or flash stock recovery and try to take the update?
also, whenever I go into stock recovery I seem to be staying at a black screen

EDIT

Needed to erase cache again.

After that I was able to flash the update through stock recovery. I did lose root though.
 
Android The Greek
Old
#9  
Android The Greek's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 340
Posts: 1,241
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pottstown
Quote:
Originally Posted by supahdaniel View Post
I flashed stock recovery but how do I flash the update from there? my computer doesn't see it on adb when it's on stock recovery?

Also, sorry about my noobish questions
Update from sd in recovery if you put the ota in the right folder.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to Android The Greek For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
supahdaniel
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Android The Greek View Post
Update from sd in recovery if you put the ota in the right folder.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
That's what I did, thanks!

Tags
flashing, gpe, htcm8, ruu, twrp
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes