FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

[Q] updating sense 6 on T-mobile M7

2 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By amit.wadher, Junior Member on 6th June 2014, 07:49 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
hello,

I have T-mobile unlocked M7 phone. Sense 6 update is available. If I update, will it lock back my phone to T-mobile.
 
 
6th June 2014, 04:15 PM |#2  
Fuzi0719's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 249
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by amit.wadher

hello,

I have T-mobile unlocked M7 phone. Sense 6 update is available. If I update, will it lock back my phone to T-mobile.

Are you referring to unlocked bootloader or SIM unlocked? To do the OTA update, you have to relock the bootloader yourself before the OTA update will work. If you're referring to SIM unlock, if your phone is already SIM unlocked, the OTA update will not alter that, it will still be SIM unlocked after the update.
The Following User Says Thank You to Fuzi0719 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th June 2014, 07:46 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzi0719

Are you referring to unlocked bootloader or SIM unlocked? To do the OTA update, you have to relock the bootloader yourself before the OTA update will work. If you're referring to SIM unlock, if your phone is already SIM unlocked, the OTA update will not alter that, it will still be SIM unlocked after the update.


Mine is sim-unlocked. I did the update and it is not locked back. Thanks.
6th June 2014, 10:00 PM |#4  
yatindroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jaipur
Thanks Meter: 567
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzi0719

Are you referring to unlocked bootloader or SIM unlocked? To do the OTA update, you have to relock the bootloader yourself before the OTA update will work. If you're referring to SIM unlock, if your phone is already SIM unlocked, the OTA update will not alter that, it will still be SIM unlocked after the update.

just for concept
Ota need stock recovery unmodified system bootloader locked or unlocked
For manually ota flash need S off
So no need relock boot loader

from HTC One
7th June 2014, 04:52 PM |#5  
Fuzi0719's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 249
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yatindroid

just for concept
Ota need stock recovery unmodified system bootloader locked or unlocked
For manually ota flash need S off
So no need relock boot loader

from HTC One

I've never gotten a T-Mobile OTA update to work if the bootloader is unlocked. Any modification other than S-OFF causes the OTA to fail.
7th June 2014, 05:39 PM |#6  
yatindroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jaipur
Thanks Meter: 567
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzi0719

I've never gotten a T-Mobile OTA update to work if the bootloader is unlocked. Any modification other than S-OFF causes the OTA to fail.

because when you unlock some apps deleted so when ota check them & failed

from HTC One
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes