Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more

XDA Partners with LG for Developer Challenge

Many Android enthusiasts know the name LG. LG is the maker of some Google Nexus devices and some … more
Post Reply

[Q] updating sense 6 on T-mobile M7

6th June 2014, 07:49 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
hello,

I have T-mobile unlocked M7 phone. Sense 6 update is available. If I update, will it lock back my phone to T-mobile.
6th June 2014, 04:15 PM   |  #2  
Fuzi0719's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 249
 
996 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by amit.wadher

hello,

I have T-mobile unlocked M7 phone. Sense 6 update is available. If I update, will it lock back my phone to T-mobile.

Are you referring to unlocked bootloader or SIM unlocked? To do the OTA update, you have to relock the bootloader yourself before the OTA update will work. If you're referring to SIM unlock, if your phone is already SIM unlocked, the OTA update will not alter that, it will still be SIM unlocked after the update.
The Following User Says Thank You to Fuzi0719 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th June 2014, 07:46 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzi0719

Are you referring to unlocked bootloader or SIM unlocked? To do the OTA update, you have to relock the bootloader yourself before the OTA update will work. If you're referring to SIM unlock, if your phone is already SIM unlocked, the OTA update will not alter that, it will still be SIM unlocked after the update.


Mine is sim-unlocked. I did the update and it is not locked back. Thanks.
6th June 2014, 10:00 PM   |  #4  
yatindroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jaipur
Thanks Meter: 363
 
1,389 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzi0719

Are you referring to unlocked bootloader or SIM unlocked? To do the OTA update, you have to relock the bootloader yourself before the OTA update will work. If you're referring to SIM unlock, if your phone is already SIM unlocked, the OTA update will not alter that, it will still be SIM unlocked after the update.

just for concept
Ota need stock recovery unmodified system bootloader locked or unlocked
For manually ota flash need S off
So no need relock boot loader

from HTC One
7th June 2014, 04:52 PM   |  #5  
Fuzi0719's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 249
 
996 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yatindroid

just for concept
Ota need stock recovery unmodified system bootloader locked or unlocked
For manually ota flash need S off
So no need relock boot loader

from HTC One

I've never gotten a T-Mobile OTA update to work if the bootloader is unlocked. Any modification other than S-OFF causes the OTA to fail.
7th June 2014, 05:39 PM   |  #6  
yatindroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jaipur
Thanks Meter: 363
 
1,389 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzi0719

I've never gotten a T-Mobile OTA update to work if the bootloader is unlocked. Any modification other than S-OFF causes the OTA to fail.

because when you unlock some apps deleted so when ota check them & failed

from HTC One
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes