Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,443 Members 38,584 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] updating sense 6 on T-mobile M7

Tip us?
 
amit.wadher
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default [Q] updating sense 6 on T-mobile M7

hello,

I have T-mobile unlocked M7 phone. Sense 6 update is available. If I update, will it lock back my phone to T-mobile.
 
Fuzi0719
Old
#2  
Fuzi0719's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 247
Posts: 985
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Atlanta
Quote:
Originally Posted by amit.wadher View Post
hello,

I have T-mobile unlocked M7 phone. Sense 6 update is available. If I update, will it lock back my phone to T-mobile.
Are you referring to unlocked bootloader or SIM unlocked? To do the OTA update, you have to relock the bootloader yourself before the OTA update will work. If you're referring to SIM unlock, if your phone is already SIM unlocked, the OTA update will not alter that, it will still be SIM unlocked after the update.
Phone: HTC One Silver 32GB (T-Mobile)
ROM: HTC-T-Mobile stock 4.4.2/Sense 6.0 (rooted/S-OFF/Unlocked bootloader)
Kernel: Kangaroo Kernel v116

Tablet: Nook Tablet 16GB
ROM: CM 11-M8 with Bexus N2 R5.1 kernel
The Following User Says Thank You to Fuzi0719 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
amit.wadher
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzi0719 View Post
Are you referring to unlocked bootloader or SIM unlocked? To do the OTA update, you have to relock the bootloader yourself before the OTA update will work. If you're referring to SIM unlock, if your phone is already SIM unlocked, the OTA update will not alter that, it will still be SIM unlocked after the update.

Mine is sim-unlocked. I did the update and it is not locked back. Thanks.
 
yatindroid
Old
#4  
yatindroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 322
Posts: 1,295
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Jaipur
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzi0719 View Post
Are you referring to unlocked bootloader or SIM unlocked? To do the OTA update, you have to relock the bootloader yourself before the OTA update will work. If you're referring to SIM unlock, if your phone is already SIM unlocked, the OTA update will not alter that, it will still be SIM unlocked after the update.
just for concept
Ota need stock recovery unmodified system bootloader locked or unlocked
For manually ota flash need S off
So no need relock boot loader

from HTC One
 
Fuzi0719
Old
#5  
Fuzi0719's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 247
Posts: 985
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Atlanta
Quote:
Originally Posted by yatindroid View Post
just for concept
Ota need stock recovery unmodified system bootloader locked or unlocked
For manually ota flash need S off
So no need relock boot loader

from HTC One
I've never gotten a T-Mobile OTA update to work if the bootloader is unlocked. Any modification other than S-OFF causes the OTA to fail.
Phone: HTC One Silver 32GB (T-Mobile)
ROM: HTC-T-Mobile stock 4.4.2/Sense 6.0 (rooted/S-OFF/Unlocked bootloader)
Kernel: Kangaroo Kernel v116

Tablet: Nook Tablet 16GB
ROM: CM 11-M8 with Bexus N2 R5.1 kernel
 
yatindroid
Old
#6  
yatindroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 322
Posts: 1,295
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Jaipur
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzi0719 View Post
I've never gotten a T-Mobile OTA update to work if the bootloader is unlocked. Any modification other than S-OFF causes the OTA to fail.
because when you unlock some apps deleted so when ota check them & failed

from HTC One
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...