Vikaura Screen: Use Your Android to Customize Your World

Vikaura is another hot Kickstarter item building momentum online. This time the idea … more

Neon’s Colors Theme For Android L

This CyanogenMod 12 theme by XDA Recognized Themernitinvaidbrings some really nice looking colors to … more

Galaxy Note Edge Panel Themes

Follow this link to find themes from your favorite sports teams, video games, companies, and more for your lock … more

Official MEGA Layers Overlays Collection

The Layers Overlays is getting more popular every day and is a nice alternative to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] updating sense 6 on T-mobile M7

OP amit.wadher

6th June 2014, 08:49 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
hello,

I have T-mobile unlocked M7 phone. Sense 6 update is available. If I update, will it lock back my phone to T-mobile.
6th June 2014, 05:15 PM   |  #2  
Fuzi0719's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 249
 
1,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by amit.wadher

hello,

I have T-mobile unlocked M7 phone. Sense 6 update is available. If I update, will it lock back my phone to T-mobile.

Are you referring to unlocked bootloader or SIM unlocked? To do the OTA update, you have to relock the bootloader yourself before the OTA update will work. If you're referring to SIM unlock, if your phone is already SIM unlocked, the OTA update will not alter that, it will still be SIM unlocked after the update.
The Following User Says Thank You to Fuzi0719 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th June 2014, 08:46 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzi0719

Are you referring to unlocked bootloader or SIM unlocked? To do the OTA update, you have to relock the bootloader yourself before the OTA update will work. If you're referring to SIM unlock, if your phone is already SIM unlocked, the OTA update will not alter that, it will still be SIM unlocked after the update.


Mine is sim-unlocked. I did the update and it is not locked back. Thanks.
6th June 2014, 11:00 PM   |  #4  
yatindroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jaipur
Thanks Meter: 432
 
1,542 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzi0719

Are you referring to unlocked bootloader or SIM unlocked? To do the OTA update, you have to relock the bootloader yourself before the OTA update will work. If you're referring to SIM unlock, if your phone is already SIM unlocked, the OTA update will not alter that, it will still be SIM unlocked after the update.

just for concept
Ota need stock recovery unmodified system bootloader locked or unlocked
For manually ota flash need S off
So no need relock boot loader

from HTC One
7th June 2014, 05:52 PM   |  #5  
Fuzi0719's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 249
 
1,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yatindroid

just for concept
Ota need stock recovery unmodified system bootloader locked or unlocked
For manually ota flash need S off
So no need relock boot loader

from HTC One

I've never gotten a T-Mobile OTA update to work if the bootloader is unlocked. Any modification other than S-OFF causes the OTA to fail.
7th June 2014, 06:39 PM   |  #6  
yatindroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jaipur
Thanks Meter: 432
 
1,542 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzi0719

I've never gotten a T-Mobile OTA update to work if the bootloader is unlocked. Any modification other than S-OFF causes the OTA to fail.

because when you unlock some apps deleted so when ota check them & failed

from HTC One
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes