Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,151 Members 51,098 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

(Help) I can't root my phone

Tip us?
 
Ghostb2
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2014
Exclamation (Help) I can't root my phone

Hello community. Well first im new (yay).. Lol

Let's roll.. I got a Motorola Atrix 2 i tried the most recomended mode to root it but just show me this. (i cant show a picture cuz i need 10 post for min )
permission denied.
Operation not permitted
no such directory or file

The classic problem

Mine is
4.0.4 (ICS)
system ver: 67.220.3.ME865.Retail.en.05
Firmware: GAS_ASIA_EDISONHKTWNGNC_P012

There is a way to root it without do a factory reset ?
 
Uzayr
Old
#2  
Uzayr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 420
Posts: 364
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chennai
i''m sorry to say, but if root doesn't work without a factory reset then i suggest a factory reset.

and also please give a clear picture. like what root tool you are using.
You can backup your important apps and data with titanium backup and then do a factory reset
 
1BadWolf
Old
#3  
1BadWolf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 558
Posts: 1,061
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Nowhere, Louisiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uzayr View Post
i''m sorry to say, but if root doesn't work without a factory reset then i suggest a factory reset.

and also please give a clear picture. like what root tool you are using.
You can backup your important apps and data with titanium backup and then do a factory reset
No root = no Titanium Backup.
 
Uzayr
Old
#4  
Uzayr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 420
Posts: 364
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chennai
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1BadWolf View Post
No root = no Titanium Backup.
oh..wait...yeah lol
i missed that.
 
Raeshabu
Old
(Last edited by Raeshabu; 7th June 2014 at 03:44 PM.) Reason: x
#5  
Raeshabu's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Piņas
I know this may seem stupid but have you tried this?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1742879

I literally just used this after FXZ-ing back to stock ICS this morning.

I just don't know if the ATT version of the A2 is different with Asia models.

Good luck!


Cheers,
Rae
 
Ghostb2
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default yep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raeshabu View Post
I know this may seem stupid but have you tried this?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1742879

I literally just used this after FXZ-ing back to stock ICS this morning.

I just don't know if the ATT version of the A2 is different with Asia models.

Good luck!


Cheers,
Rae
Yep, i tried it that was the first method that i use.. *sighs* Well thanks everyone.
 
Raeshabu
Old
#7  
Raeshabu's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Piņas
Hey, just did a quick Google search and stumbled into this post. Have you tried this?

It's for Asian / HKTW version of the Atrix 2.

http://http://forum.xda-developers.c....php?t=2028819



Cheers,
Rae

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more

Control Your Toast Notifications with SlicedToasts

Toasts are delicious, even in their Android flavor. In Android, toast doesn’t lead … more