Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

(Help) I can't root my phone

OP Ghostb2

6th June 2014, 03:56 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Hello community. Well first im new (yay).. Lol

Let's roll.. I got a Motorola Atrix 2 i tried the most recomended mode to root it but just show me this. (i cant show a picture cuz i need 10 post for min )
permission denied.
Operation not permitted
no such directory or file

The classic problem

Mine is
4.0.4 (ICS)
system ver: 67.220.3.ME865.Retail.en.05
Firmware: GAS_ASIA_EDISONHKTWNGNC_P012

There is a way to root it without do a factory reset ?
6th June 2014, 06:59 AM   |  #2  
Uzayr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chennai
Thanks Meter: 487
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
i''m sorry to say, but if root doesn't work without a factory reset then i suggest a factory reset.

and also please give a clear picture. like what root tool you are using.
You can backup your important apps and data with titanium backup and then do a factory reset
6th June 2014, 07:24 AM   |  #3  
1BadWolf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nowhere, Louisiana
Thanks Meter: 703
 
1,427 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uzayr

i''m sorry to say, but if root doesn't work without a factory reset then i suggest a factory reset.

and also please give a clear picture. like what root tool you are using.
You can backup your important apps and data with titanium backup and then do a factory reset

No root = no Titanium Backup.
6th June 2014, 08:19 AM   |  #4  
Uzayr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chennai
Thanks Meter: 487
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1BadWolf

No root = no Titanium Backup.

oh..wait...yeah lol
i missed that.
7th June 2014, 04:39 PM   |  #5  
Raeshabu's Avatar
Member
Flag Las Piņas
Thanks Meter: 15
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
I know this may seem stupid but have you tried this?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1742879

I literally just used this after FXZ-ing back to stock ICS this morning.

I just don't know if the ATT version of the A2 is different with Asia models.

Good luck!


Cheers,
Rae
Last edited by Raeshabu; 7th June 2014 at 04:44 PM. Reason: x
7th June 2014, 07:06 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
yep
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raeshabu

I know this may seem stupid but have you tried this?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1742879

I literally just used this after FXZ-ing back to stock ICS this morning.

I just don't know if the ATT version of the A2 is different with Asia models.

Good luck!


Cheers,
Rae

Yep, i tried it that was the first method that i use.. *sighs* Well thanks everyone.
7th June 2014, 07:41 PM   |  #7  
Raeshabu's Avatar
Member
Flag Las Piņas
Thanks Meter: 15
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Hey, just did a quick Google search and stumbled into this post. Have you tried this?

It's for Asian / HKTW version of the Atrix 2.

http://http://forum.xda-developers.c....php?t=2028819



Cheers,
Rae

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes