FORUMS

Android M Code Name: Macadamia Nut Cookie

While the official name for the latest iteration of Android has yet to be revealed, the code … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Wifi auto connect to AT&T public wifi - how to disable this?

6th June 2014, 08:16 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Diego, CA
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
I have the T-mobile LG G2 D801. Every time I am near an AT&T wifi hotspot, my phone "knows" my location and automatically turn on the wifi and connect to it, even skipping the usual web login agreement. This is the first time I have seen this feature on a none-AT&T phone. Has anyone else notice this?

Very interesting ability but how does my phone knows I am near the AT&T wifi when my wifi is already set to off?

How do I disable this feature (none-rooted phone).
 
 
6th June 2014, 10:52 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
I haven't noticed this on mine; I'll have to watch for it. There is a "scanning always available" setting in the Advanced Wi-Fi settings, it is enabled on my phone.
6th June 2014, 11:05 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Diego, CA
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by diamond12

I haven't noticed this on mine; I'll have to watch for it. There is a "scanning always available" setting in the Advanced Wi-Fi settings, it is enabled on my phone.

Yes, this feature was turned off and my phone still automatically detects I am near a Starbucks and connect to the wifi there.
7th June 2014, 03:26 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 186
 
Donate to Me
More
Do you have snapdragon battery guru installed?
7th June 2014, 06:12 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Diego, CA
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swizzle82

Do you have snapdragon battery guru installed?

I do not
7th June 2014, 07:21 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 186
 
Donate to Me
More
I ask because it manages your wifi and can turn it on automatically good app though. Idk what your issue might be then, I've never had an issue like that.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes