Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more

Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more
Post Reply

Wifi auto connect to AT&T public wifi - how to disable this?

OP inspron

6th June 2014, 08:16 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Diego, CA
Thanks Meter: 45
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
I have the T-mobile LG G2 D801. Every time I am near an AT&T wifi hotspot, my phone "knows" my location and automatically turn on the wifi and connect to it, even skipping the usual web login agreement. This is the first time I have seen this feature on a none-AT&T phone. Has anyone else notice this?

Very interesting ability but how does my phone knows I am near the AT&T wifi when my wifi is already set to off?

How do I disable this feature (none-rooted phone).
6th June 2014, 10:52 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
I haven't noticed this on mine; I'll have to watch for it. There is a "scanning always available" setting in the Advanced Wi-Fi settings, it is enabled on my phone.
6th June 2014, 11:05 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Diego, CA
Thanks Meter: 45
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by diamond12

I haven't noticed this on mine; I'll have to watch for it. There is a "scanning always available" setting in the Advanced Wi-Fi settings, it is enabled on my phone.

Yes, this feature was turned off and my phone still automatically detects I am near a Starbucks and connect to the wifi there.
7th June 2014, 03:26 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 71
 
256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
Do you have snapdragon battery guru installed?
7th June 2014, 06:12 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Diego, CA
Thanks Meter: 45
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swizzle82

Do you have snapdragon battery guru installed?

I do not
7th June 2014, 07:21 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 71
 
256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
I ask because it manages your wifi and can turn it on automatically good app though. Idk what your issue might be then, I've never had an issue like that.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes