Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,660 Members 54,205 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] SafeStrap Installs Recovery In 4.3 But wont boot into it

Tip us?
 
spirodave
Old
(Last edited by spirodave; 7th June 2014 at 11:18 PM.) Reason: Correction
#1  
spirodave's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 227
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: saint louis
Default [Q] SafeStrap Installs Recovery In 4.3 But wont boot into it

I am on MK2 4.3 and I have Safestrap installed and I installed the recovery and when I reboot into recovery It goes to the Custom screen then it fails to Go to the Splash screen where I can choose to go into TWRP . I had this working on MF3 but I had bricked my phone and and had to flash the allin one to fix it . I am successfully rooted with safestrap installed .. ANY IDEAS would be greatly appreciated...Thanks By the way it Says Safe system : Not Active. I thought I remember it saying Active before

Also is there another way to install a Recovery. Im coming from a Tmobile GS2 where you could flash recovery once within Odin and after that you could just flash different versions of Twrp or Cwm when needed. No locked boot loader . I always thought HTC was the only phones with locked boot loaders . I have been doing a lot of reading prior to posting this question and have been up all night . After bricking last night and recovering from it I got a crash course with this device.
 
sway8966
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 51
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Odessa
Quote:
Originally Posted by spirodave View Post
I am on MK2 4.3 and I have Safestrap installed and I installed the recovery and when I reboot into recovery It goes to the Custom screen then it fails to Go to the Splash screen where I can choose to go into TWRP . I had this working on MF3 but I had bricked my phone and and had to flash the allin one to fix it . I am successfully rooted with safestrap installed .. ANY IDEAS would be greatly appreciated...Thanks By the way it Says Safe system : Not Active. I thought I remember it saying Active before

Also is there another way to install a Recovery. Im coming from a Tmobile GS2 where you could flash recovery once within Odin and after that you could just flash different versions of Twrp or Cwm when needed. No locked boot loader . I always thought HTC was the only phones with locked boot loaders . I have been doing a lot of reading prior to posting this question and have been up all night . After bricking last night and recovering from it I got a crash course with this device.
Check your root condition is valid. If you do not have root you can not install the safestrap recovery.
To go to the safestrap you do not need to reboot into the recovery. You simply reboot as normal and safestrap splash screen would come up.
You can use odin to flash the recovery in the download mode or you can use adb command to push the recovery.
AT&T and verizon G4 bootloaders are locked. You can not unlock like HTC S-off. You can only exploit the bootloader with different methods based on your firmware version.
========================================
Galaxy S4 SGH-I337 NC1 baseband: GE 36 with SS
HTC Vivid : CM-11
Motorola Xoom Wifi : CM 11
 
jmjoyas
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 333
Join Date: Apr 2013
Simply reboot the phone and on boot up it will show you the splash screen. Not active means that stock slot is still selected.

Sent from my SGH-I337 running GPE using Tapatalk
 
spirodave
Old
(Last edited by spirodave; 8th June 2014 at 04:27 AM.) Reason: correction
#4  
spirodave's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 227
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: saint louis
Quote:
Originally Posted by sway8966 View Post
Check your root condition is valid. If you do not have root you can not install the safestrap recovery.
To go to the safestrap you do not need to reboot into the recovery. You simply reboot as normal and safestrap splash screen would come up.
You can use odin to flash the recovery in the download mode or you can use adb command to push the recovery.
AT&T and verizon G4 bootloaders are locked. You can not unlock like HTC S-off. You can only exploit the bootloader with different methods based on your firmware version.
Im an idiot. I just realized I have been using the safestrap.apk I had on my sd that was for MF3. This will be my problem
 
spirodave
Old
(Last edited by spirodave; 8th June 2014 at 04:28 AM.) Reason: correction
#5  
spirodave's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 227
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: saint louis
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmjoyas View Post
Simply reboot the phone and on boot up it will show you the splash screen. Not active means that stock slot is still selected.

Sent from my SGH-I337 running GPE using Tapatalk
Im an idiot. I just realized I have been using the safestrap.apk I had on my sd that was for MF3. This will be my problem..Problem solved.When you said the wrong slot was selected it made a light bulb light up in my head..Thanks bro
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes