Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Help returning M7 to stock from Google Edition

OP MSigler

8th June 2014, 08:19 AM   |  #1  
MSigler's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Memphis
Thanks Meter: 53
 
657 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
Ok, I'm going to try to be as thorough as possible, so bear with me.

Last summer a friend of mine and I both bought ATT M7 64gb's. We pretty much immediately unlocked through HTC Dev and flashed the google edition rom. I decided to S-OFF and SuperCID, he did not.

I sold my M7 when the N5 came out, he was deployed. He just came back and his mic stopped working. He would like to return it to stock, tried, and had no luck, so I'm trying for him.

As mentioned, it's a bootloader unlocked ATT HTC One M7 64gb, now running 4.4.3 Google Edition rom. When I got it, it wouldn't boot, just went to a weird blue screen and did nothing else. Thankfully still had recovery and bootloader. I tried flashing a stock RUU from here:

http://www.htc1guru.com/downloads/ruu-file-downloads/

And got "Remote 99 unknown fail"

HMM

I tried flashing the newest CWM recovery and installing CyanogenMod, just for the hell of it, and got a "status 0" failure.

I tried the same rom with the newest TWRP and got "error executing updater binary"

I finally got the Bigxbie 4.4.3 GPE rom to flash in TWRP, boots fine, everything works (except the mic still of course).

Here's where we are right now:

Current ROM:



Bootloader info:



I read that flashing RUU files requires S-OFF, so I tried to do that.

Firewater yielded:



So I figured since it was an older hboot I would try RevOne, which I used a year ago.

That got this:



Here's the CID, I believe the correct one for ATT.



What are my options at this point? I have a booting 4.4.3 GPE rom with a hardware issue and he needs to send it back for repair. Just say screw it and send it in or is there a way to get back to stock from here?
Last edited by MSigler; 8th June 2014 at 08:32 AM.
8th June 2014, 10:33 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 38
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Revone needs to be ran from a sense rom. Try flashing an old version of ARHD 4.2.2. you might need to flash TWRP 2.6.x.x to do so.. Once you have an older sense rom booted, revone should work. At least, that's what worked for me.

Then you will have S-OFF and can flash the RUU.
The Following User Says Thank You to synt3k For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2014, 11:02 AM   |  #3  
MSigler's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Memphis
Thanks Meter: 53
 
657 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by synt3k

Revone needs to be ran from a sense rom. Try flashing an old version of ARHD 4.2.2. you might need to flash TWRP 2.6.x.x to do so.. Once you have an older sense rom booted, revone should work. At least, that's what worked for me.

Then you will have S-OFF and can flash the RUU.

Having a hard time finding a 4.2.2 Sense rom, but I'll give it a go, thanks.
8th June 2014, 11:34 AM   |  #4  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,110
 
6,261 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSigler

Having a hard time finding a 4.2.2 Sense rom, but I'll give it a go, thanks.

Install this ROM: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=251

and then use revone
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2014, 12:47 PM   |  #5  
MSigler's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Memphis
Thanks Meter: 53
 
657 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

Install this ROM: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=251

and then use revone

If I could hug you over the internet I would. Obviously it worked, thank you very much.
8th June 2014, 12:58 PM   |  #6  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,110
 
6,261 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSigler

If I could hug you over the internet I would. Obviously it worked, thank you very much.

no problem
and remember, once S-Off do not go S-On again!

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2014, 12:59 PM   |  #7  
MSigler's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Memphis
Thanks Meter: 53
 
657 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

no problem
and remember, once S-Off do not go S-On again!

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

Yeah, I'm not messing with it any more. This should be sufficient for what is very clearly a hardware issue.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes