Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,773 Members 52,022 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Help returning M7 to stock from Google Edition

Tip us?
 
MSigler
Old
(Last edited by MSigler; 8th June 2014 at 07:32 AM.)
#1  
MSigler's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 652
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Memphis
Default [Q] Help returning M7 to stock from Google Edition

Ok, I'm going to try to be as thorough as possible, so bear with me.

Last summer a friend of mine and I both bought ATT M7 64gb's. We pretty much immediately unlocked through HTC Dev and flashed the google edition rom. I decided to S-OFF and SuperCID, he did not.

I sold my M7 when the N5 came out, he was deployed. He just came back and his mic stopped working. He would like to return it to stock, tried, and had no luck, so I'm trying for him.

As mentioned, it's a bootloader unlocked ATT HTC One M7 64gb, now running 4.4.3 Google Edition rom. When I got it, it wouldn't boot, just went to a weird blue screen and did nothing else. Thankfully still had recovery and bootloader. I tried flashing a stock RUU from here:

http://www.htc1guru.com/downloads/ruu-file-downloads/

And got "Remote 99 unknown fail"

HMM

I tried flashing the newest CWM recovery and installing CyanogenMod, just for the hell of it, and got a "status 0" failure.

I tried the same rom with the newest TWRP and got "error executing updater binary"

I finally got the Bigxbie 4.4.3 GPE rom to flash in TWRP, boots fine, everything works (except the mic still of course).

Here's where we are right now:

Current ROM:



Bootloader info:



I read that flashing RUU files requires S-OFF, so I tried to do that.

Firewater yielded:



So I figured since it was an older hboot I would try RevOne, which I used a year ago.

That got this:



Here's the CID, I believe the correct one for ATT.



What are my options at this point? I have a booting 4.4.3 GPE rom with a hardware issue and he needs to send it back for repair. Just say screw it and send it in or is there a way to get back to stock from here?
Nexus 5 32GB
Nexus 7 LTE
Toshiba Thrive
 
synt3k
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 112
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Revone needs to be ran from a sense rom. Try flashing an old version of ARHD 4.2.2. you might need to flash TWRP 2.6.x.x to do so.. Once you have an older sense rom booted, revone should work. At least, that's what worked for me.

Then you will have S-OFF and can flash the RUU.
The Following User Says Thank You to synt3k For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MSigler
Old
#3  
MSigler's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 652
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Memphis
Quote:
Originally Posted by synt3k View Post
Revone needs to be ran from a sense rom. Try flashing an old version of ARHD 4.2.2. you might need to flash TWRP 2.6.x.x to do so.. Once you have an older sense rom booted, revone should work. At least, that's what worked for me.

Then you will have S-OFF and can flash the RUU.
Having a hard time finding a 4.2.2 Sense rom, but I'll give it a go, thanks.
Nexus 5 32GB
Nexus 7 LTE
Toshiba Thrive
 
nkk71
Old
#4  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2789
Posts: 5,650
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSigler View Post
Having a hard time finding a 4.2.2 Sense rom, but I'll give it a go, thanks.
Install this ROM: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=251

and then use revone
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MSigler
Old
#5  
MSigler's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 652
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Memphis
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
Install this ROM: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=251

and then use revone
If I could hug you over the internet I would. Obviously it worked, thank you very much.
Nexus 5 32GB
Nexus 7 LTE
Toshiba Thrive
 
nkk71
Old
#6  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2789
Posts: 5,650
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSigler View Post
If I could hug you over the internet I would. Obviously it worked, thank you very much.
no problem
and remember, once S-Off do not go S-On again!

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MSigler
Old
#7  
MSigler's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 652
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Memphis
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
no problem
and remember, once S-Off do not go S-On again!

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Yeah, I'm not messing with it any more. This should be sufficient for what is very clearly a hardware issue.
Nexus 5 32GB
Nexus 7 LTE
Toshiba Thrive

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes