5,815,061 Members 37,301 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Is it necessary for my m7 to be S-Off before I can flash the latest ViperOne Rom?

Tip us?
 
iamdecaf
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2013
Default [Q] Is it necessary for my m7 to be S-Off before I can flash the latest ViperOne Rom?

My m7 is rooted and has the bootloader unlocked already. But it's still S-On and running hboot version 1.57. I'm worried that flashing the latest ViperOne ROM that has hboot version 1.54 will brick it. So I'm wondering if it is needed for my m7 to be s-off before i can flash the ROM. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
 
clsA
Old
#2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 983
Posts: 3,687
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamdecaf View Post
My m7 is rooted and has the bootloader unlocked already. But it's still S-On and running hboot version 1.57. I'm worried that flashing the latest ViperOne ROM that has hboot version 1.54 will brick it. So I'm wondering if it is needed for my m7 to be s-off before i can flash the ROM. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Rom's don't have a hboot
all that's important is you have TWRP Recovery v2.6.3.3 or up and your on a M7_u or M7_UL

S-off is always good but your already hboot 1.57 so it might be a challenge
HTC One 32 GB AT&T

The Following User Says Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
iamdecaf
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
Rom's don't have a hboot
all that's important is you have TWRP Recovery v2.6.3.3 or up and your on a M7_u or M7_UL

S-off is always good but your already hboot 1.57 so it might be a challenge
I'm using CWM v6.0.4.6, but I suppose as long as I have a recovery flashed I should be alright right? And yes I'm on m7_UL. Thanks a lot for your reply!
 
clsA
Old
#4  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 983
Posts: 3,687
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamdecaf View Post
I'm using CWM v6.0.4.6, but I suppose as long as I have a recovery flashed I should be alright right? And yes I'm on m7_UL. Thanks a lot for your reply!
no, older recovery's have problems with the newer Rom's

update to TWRP
http://techerrata.com/browse/twrp2/m7

fastboot flash recovery openrecovery-twrp-2.6.3.3-m7.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot
HTC One 32 GB AT&T

 
iamdecaf
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2013
Okay I've flashed Twrp v2.7.1.0. Now all I do is to flash the ROM itself right?
 
nateboi81
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 577
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Melbourne
You can flash it. But as people have said twrp 2.6.3.3 is the best version to use. You can try the latest. If Rom won't boot flash the above recovery version

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Change the Style of Your Notifications with HeadsUp

Head Up notifications is one of these upcoming features that Android developers hid deep … more

Google Play Store to Show Price Ranges for In-App Purchases

Google recently announced a change to Google Play Store policy that requires … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more

Add Some Power to First Generation Snapdragon CPUs

Some older devices still remain very popular. Phones like theHTC Desire, Sony Ericsson … more