5,815,265 Members 39,265 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] 3g video call on moto g

Tip us?
 
gearguy365
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default [Q] 3g video call on moto g

hello,
i just got a moto g XT1032 and i cant seem to find any option of making 3G video call in the dialer app. can someone help me with that?
thanks in advance!
 
wws12
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 265
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gearguy365 View Post
hello,
i just got a moto g XT1032 and i cant seem to find any option of making 3G video call in the dialer app. can someone help me with that?
thanks in advance!
Hangouts is for video calls.
The Following User Says Thank You to wws12 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gearguy365
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2014
thanks for the reply
yeah hangouts can be used for video call, but i saw many android phones have the video call option directly on a name in the contacts.
so i was wondering if i could have that shortcut on the dialer of moto g too...
 
pranav.suvarna
Old
#4  
pranav.suvarna's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 53
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: mumbai
but hangouts would use 3g data and not the 3g video calling feature of service provider....correct me if m mistaken!!
 
cpuspeed
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 102
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by pranav.suvarna View Post
but hangouts would use 3g data and not the 3g video calling feature of service provider....correct me if m mistaken!!
3g video calling uses 3g data. what do you think 3g means.
 
pranav.suvarna
Old
#6  
pranav.suvarna's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 53
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: mumbai
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpuspeed View Post
3g video calling uses 3g data. what do you think 3g means.
well I am not sure which operator you have...I am using a vodafone corporate plan which lets me make video calls for 50p/min thats not something which is charged to my 3g data balance..please get ur facts right
 
cpuspeed
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 102
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by pranav.suvarna View Post
well I am not sure which operator you have...I am using a vodafone corporate plan which lets me make video calls for 50p/min thats not something which is charged to my 3g data balance..please get ur facts right
still uses data. and you can say it isn't charge to your data cuz you are paying 50p/min. again it uses data. for specific questions about your plan this isn't the place. talk to your provider.
 
pranav.suvarna
Old
#8  
pranav.suvarna's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 53
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: mumbai
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpuspeed View Post
still uses data. and you can say it isn't charge to your data cuz you are paying 50p/min. again it uses data. for specific questions about your plan this isn't the place. talk to your provider.
I beleive u have no clue about 3g video calling...it does use data but you can video call a person who doesnt have hangout/skype or any other software for video calling....its a common feature in most of the phones.

---------- Post added at 09:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:55 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by pranav.suvarna View Post
I beleive u have no clue about 3g video calling...it does use data but you can video call a person who doesnt have hangout/skype or any other software for video calling....its a common feature in most of the phones.
http://support.vodafone.com.au/artic.../Video-Calling please read this if you are not sure about what m talkin

---------- Post added at 09:19 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:00 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpuspeed View Post
still uses data. and you can say it isn't charge to your data cuz you are paying 50p/min. again it uses data. for specific questions about your plan this isn't the place. talk to your provider.
FYI,its called Native Video Calling
 
liveroy
Old
#9  
liveroy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 289
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Stara Zagora

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gearguy365 View Post
hello,
i just got a moto g XT1032 and i cant seem to find any option of making 3G video call in the dialer app. can someone help me with that?
thanks in advance!
There isn't support for it in stock android.Only if the manufacturer decideds to put its own in the dailer/contacts apps (samsung for example has it ot many phones of theirs).
Also I didn't see any port of that feature at all, but since I don't care for expensive operator-hosted video calling, I might missed it up if it was ever ported.
Mental issues lead to the use of long signatures

Care much for receiving Thanks?Bitching at the others about it doesn't help, instead better stfu and gtfo.
 
cokodidi
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by pranav.suvarna View Post
I beleive u have no clue about 3g video calling...it does use data but you can video call a person who doesnt have hangout/skype or any other software for video calling....its a common feature in most of the phones.

---------- Post added at 09:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:55 AM ----------





---------- Post added at 09:19 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:00 AM ----------

[/COLOR]

FYI,its called Native Video Calling
you are not alone. i spent times to explain to them who surprisingly an android, ios developer about this native video calling and they insist its 3g data used. after i said that, my mother can receive my video call without any plan or credits whatsoever in her phone, they all surprised

at this time only samsung and some local brands are having this. sony-ericksson already started this feature back in 2004/2005, and samsung keep using this feature on their windows phone 5.x/6.x (not with current win phone 7/8) , also to all samsung android devices.

you will never has this feature activated on google nexus since android doesnt support this feature on the os.

i assume, your phone is samsung. coz, lg , acer and lenovo hasnt as well as nexus.

Thread Tools
Display Modes