Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,206 Members 44,160 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Only 900mb ram for Tab 3 10.1?

Tip us?
 
mzheng086
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 23
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Berkeley
Question [Q] Only 900mb ram for Tab 3 10.1?

I recently purchased Tab 3 10.1, and am loving it. But I have a few questions:

1) I noticed that the amount of ram available is just above 900 mb, contrary to what is claimed. Why is this?

2) I am using Pimpdroid by Restl3ss, which is an amazing rom. I enabled a few init.d scripts but can't find the log file of them (stdout and stderr). Anyone know where they are?

Any help is greatly appreciated.
 
akshaygalaxystarmod
Old
#2  
akshaygalaxystarmod's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 267
Posts: 181
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: New Delhi
Whats your point ?

Sent from my GT-S5282 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 11:47 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:46 AM ----------

There are 2 type in tab3
1 is 900mb ram
2. 1689 mb ram
All depend on price

Sent from my GT-S5282 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to akshaygalaxystarmod For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Nonta72
Old
#3  
Nonta72's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 409
Posts: 444
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Gallifrey
900MB is the normal memsize because it's only 1024MB Module.
You won't get 1024MB usable memory unless you have 2048MB Module inside

The rest of 1024MB is being used by the system. 900MB is usable memory for the user.


Sent from my roomate's computer
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes