Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,536 Members 53,213 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HTC One Kitkat Wifi Problem

Tip us?
 
ken481
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 58
Join Date: Mar 2007
Unhappy HTC One Kitkat Wifi Problem

For all thos having wifi issues please read the following

I have recently upgraded my HTC One dual sim to Kitkat - latest firmware.
I also did a factory reset of the phone after the update

I am having problems connecting to certain routers via wifi - after some research i noticed that the problem occurs when the routers are set up to use WPA-PSK - as security. If you change this to WPA2 - the phone connects.

This is not much of an issue if i have asses to router settings - yet this is not the case in public areas.

I have sent an email to HTC on this - and i am still awaiting a response
 
ginjopowder
Old
#2  
ginjopowder's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 40
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Jakarta
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken481 View Post
For all thos having wifi issues please read the following

I have recently upgraded my HTC One dual sim to Kitkat - latest firmware.
I also did a factory reset of the phone after the update

I am having problems connecting to certain routers via wifi - after some research i noticed that the problem occurs when the routers are set up to use WPA-PSK - as security. If you change this to WPA2 - the phone connects.

This is not much of an issue if i have asses to router settings - yet this is not the case in public areas.

I have sent an email to HTC on this - and i am still awaiting a response
good for you to have router access which is im not.
im locked out of my own router. dang it
Phone -- > htc ONE X -- > HTC One Max


ALL Smartphone are on dumb battery
 
nkk71
Old
#3  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2713
Posts: 5,492
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by ginjopowder View Post
good for you to have router access which is im not.
im locked out of my own router. dang it
have you tried: http://android-revolution-hd.blogspo...i-htc-one.html
 
ginjopowder
Old
#4  
ginjopowder's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 40
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Jakarta
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
sorry, i forgot to mention im using one max. that trick (device rename) doesn't work on one max.
wpa2 is the only solution
Phone -- > htc ONE X -- > HTC One Max


ALL Smartphone are on dumb battery
 
nkk71
Old
#5  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2713
Posts: 5,492
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by ginjopowder View Post
sorry, i forgot to mention im using one max. that trick (device rename) doesn't work on one max.
wpa2 is the only solution
strangely enough, i'm (HTC One M7_UL) able to connect to WEP just fine even without the WiFi Direct rename
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes