Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,757 Members 48,255 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[q] sprint htc one bad esn urgent reply if possible

Tip us?
 
BONNIE_62-10
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Delhi
Default [q] sprint htc one bad esn urgent reply if possible

Hi guys,

I am on the verge of purchasing an HTC one which is on the Sprint Carrier and has a bad ESN.

I was wondering if would be possible to convert this phone into a google play edition and use it on GSM networks outside the USA.

I would appreciate it if someone can help me here.

Thanks and Regards,

Bonnie
 
eXplicit815
Old
#2  
eXplicit815's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1204
Posts: 2,483
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Apopka, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BONNIE_62-10 View Post
Hi guys,

I am on the verge of purchasing an HTC one which is on the Sprint Carrier and has a bad ESN.

I was wondering if would be possible to convert this phone into a google play edition and use it on GSM networks outside the USA.

I would appreciate it if someone can help me here.

Thanks and Regards,

Bonnie
I think the only thing that a Bad ESN will prevent is use on Sprint. As far as SIM unlocking, and GPe ROMs, I don't know much about the process.
 
Kraizk
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 337
Posts: 744
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: American Canyon
Quote:
Originally Posted by BONNIE_62-10 View Post
Hi guys,

I am on the verge of purchasing an HTC one which is on the Sprint Carrier and has a bad ESN.

I was wondering if would be possible to convert this phone into a google play edition and use it on GSM networks outside the USA.

I would appreciate it if someone can help me here.

Thanks and Regards,

Bonnie
No you need an actual GSM phone to effectively do this.
HTC 8125
HTC Tilt
Samsung Blackjack II
iPhone 3G
iPhone 3GS
iPad
Motorola Atrix
HTC VIVID
HTC Inspire
Samsung Galaxy Nexus
HTC ONE X+
HTC ONE (SPRINT)
Eee Pad Transformer
Eee Pad Transformer Prime
NEXUS 7
 
BONNIE_62-10
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Delhi
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXplicit815 View Post
I think the only thing that a Bad ESN will prevent is use on Sprint. As far as SIM unlocking, and GPe ROMs, I don't know much about the process.
Thank you for the prompt reply. But without being unable to convert it to a GPE and use it on GSM network it will be pointless in me getting it. Can you please ask someone you know?
 
luigi311
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 270
Posts: 1,287
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BONNIE_62-10 View Post
Thank you for the prompt reply. But without being unable to convert it to a GPE and use it on GSM network it will be pointless in me getting it. Can you please ask someone you know?
The phone can be used on gsm you just have to SIM unlock. As far as effectiveness of using gsm will depend on the carrier and which frequencies it uses. Converting is impossible because the official GPE is only gsm and has different partitions. You can however use a GPE Rom

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk
 
bombo_b
Old
#6  
bombo_b's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 83
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Port-au-prince

 
DONATE TO ME
I am actually using a bad ESN sprint M7 and I live in the Caribbean on a gsm network(digicel) No issues so far. I have 4g data speed.
Did I help you? push the thanks button,yeah Just push it
Always Tryna get more out of every device I own.
History: Google G1(Retired)----->HTC Inspire 4G(Sold)---->HTC MyTouch 4G(Sold too)---->HTC Sensation 4G(Donated)---->HTC OneS(sold)---->Sprint HTC One M7
 
twill1987
Old
(Last edited by twill1987; 8th June 2014 at 06:59 PM.)
#7  
twill1987's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 58
Join Date: Jun 2012
My bootloader is unlocked with H-Boot 1.56, I'm S-off, rooted and TWRP recovery. I'm on the 6th rom I've flashed (Tried CM 11 Nightly, CM 10 Snapshot, Stock Deodexed rooted 4.1.2, 4.4.2, MIUI, Viper Rom) and I've been working on this device for about 48 hours non-stop. I am NEED of assistance if ANYONE can offer it,

Is your device also locked to another account on Sprint with the bad ESN? I've got a Sprint HTC one I've performed the Sim Unlock attempting to use my T-Mobile sim, but it will only allow Emergency Calls. No text, no voice and no data. I've gone into the *#*#4636#*#* service menu and changed the settings to WCDMA, but NO dice. Searched for service and nothing appears, just a blank screen! I've even attempted to change RUIM settings in DFSCDMA Tool. I have changed the radio around about 5 different times with NO fix. I have searched high and low on these forums and haven't found anyone that can help me.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

[APK] Chrome Beta 37 Brings First Traces of Material Design

With Android L on the horizon, it’s no surprise that Google’s … more

Immersive Mode on Unrooted Devices with GMD Full Screen Immersive Mode

Everyone likes screen real estate–no question about that. The … more

Android Wear App Review: EchoWear Song Search – XDA Developer TV

Yesterday on XDA Developer TV, Producer AdamOutler tore down a Samsung … more