Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,554 Members 36,260 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] No 2G on N9005

Tip us?
 
lyrixist
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default [Q] No 2G on N9005

Hey guys, first timer here. Having a bit of issues with H+ / 2G and 4.4.2 battery drain.
I know that 4.4.2 has a battery drain bug that will be addressed with the launch of 4.4.3 and so I'll have to just keep waiting until it reaches my phone. However, I'm using the LIME network here in Jamaica and I'm unable to get 2G. This being the case, my phone stays on H+ while I'm on the road and this kills my battery very rapidly. What I usually do with my note 2 was to keep it on 2G until I needed to browse and that would allow my battery to last for up to about 16 hours.

When I select GSM only, I don't get any data whatsoever. When I check with my provider, they claim that the 2G band on my phone probably isn't compatible with theirs. I find this strange, because this note 3 is an international version. Are there any tricks, hacks or anything that anyone can give me to get 2G on demand and save some battery?

Ps. I normally use 'tellinfo' on the note 2, but it apparently isn't compatible with the N9005. Any help'd be greatly appreciated.
x102x96x Old
#2  
Guest
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: n/a
Info 2 i

Quote:
Originally Posted by lyrixist View Post
Hey guys, first timer here. Having a bit of issues with H+ / 2G and 4.4.2 battery drain.
I know that 4.4.2 has a battery drain bug that will be addressed with the launch of 4.4.3 and so I'll have to just keep waiting until it reaches my phone. However, I'm using the LIME network here in Jamaica and I'm unable to get 2G. This being the case, my phone stays on H+ while I'm on the road and this kills my battery very rapidly. What I usually do with my note 2 was to keep it on 2G until I needed to browse and that would allow my battery to last for up to about 16 hours.

When I select GSM only, I don't get any data whatsoever. When I check with my provider, they claim that the 2G band on my phone probably isn't compatible with theirs. I find this strange, because this note 3 is an international version. Are there any tricks, hacks or anything that anyone can give me to get 2G on demand and save some battery?

Ps. I normally use 'tellinfo' on the note 2, but it apparently isn't compatible with the N9005. Any help'd be greatly appreciated.
ask operator for their band specifications and then search it to find flashable package of modem of
N9005 that s compatible with urs.
then flash that modem.zip Or flash whole rom of another region

 
Someguyfromhell
Old
#3  
Someguyfromhell's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,997
Posts: 3,928
Join Date: Feb 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
According to GSMArena, Jamaica uses the following bands


Whereas N9005 supports
GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100

Are you sure, that there is 2G coverage in your area?
 
jdomadia
Old
#4  
jdomadia's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 323
Posts: 856
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dubai

 
DONATE TO ME
Many phone flashed with Super imei facing this problem, comform your imei number typing in keypad *#06# , compare with sticker under battery or box.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Free mobile app


GIVE ONE THANKS GET ONE FREE
 
lyrixist
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2014
Well I don't know how it was flashed, but when I typed that in, I got a different imei than what's on the back of the phone. Is there any way I can fix it back? The phone keeps coming off the network and saying not registered, etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
jdomadia
Old
(Last edited by jdomadia; 8th June 2014 at 07:32 AM.)
#6  
jdomadia's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 323
Posts: 856
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dubai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyrixist View Post
Well I don't know how it was flashed, but when I typed that in, I got a different imei than what's on the back of the phone. Is there any way I can fix it back? The phone keeps coming off the network and saying not registered, etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
There is a fix for this problem but u need to tack your mobile to Mobile service shop who has a TOOL SPT Box, look below link.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2639341

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...35&postcount=8


GIVE ONE THANKS GET ONE FREE
 
lyrixist
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2014
Sounds promising. I'll get on it Monday morning and post back here with the results. This should work for the 2G issue, but what do I need to do about the changing imei? I'd much rather get the phone back on the original
 
lyrixist
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2014
Additionally, I hear mention from a couple of persons that they ended up taking their phones to repair shops and had them do it. Is it that special hardware has to be used along with the spt software; or can I just connect up to my laptop with the software and do it myself?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Moto G 4G Receives Official CyanogenMod 11 Love

When theMoto Gwas initially released to the world in November of last year,very few actually … more

Get Your Tasks Organized on Android Wear with Agenda Wear

Having a checklist of things you need to do is something we all can find useful at … more

Top 5 LG G3 MODs – XDA Developer TV

The LG G3 has been LG’s breakout hit of the summer. Using their knowledge frombuilding some … more

Make Your Calendar Widget Beautiful with Month

For some of us, summer vacation is alreadyover. For those getting ready to school, work, or … more