Post Reply

KK to JB?

OP eeexplicit

8th June 2014, 03:20 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Hello. I would like to downgrade from KK back to JB. VZ update breaks FOXFI tethering in KK and I really need tethering on my HTC since i have a grandfathered unlimited data plan. Kindly point me in the right direction to revert back to JB so I can use foxfi for tethering.
8th June 2014, 03:36 AM   |  #2  
andybones's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Upstate NY
Thanks Meter: 9,215
 
9,498 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eeexplicit

Hello. I would like to downgrade from KK back to JB. VZ update breaks FOXFI tethering in KK and I really need tethering on my HTC since i have a grandfathered unlimited data plan. Kindly point me in the right direction to revert back to JB so I can use foxfi for tethering.


Sure can.

As long as you are S-OFF.

Just find an RUU of the latest JB OTA before KK came, I think it's 2.10.605.1 but I am not 100%.

Then just delete a few files to rid of the OTA nag.
8th June 2014, 05:56 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybones

Sure can.

As long as you are S-OFF.

Just find an RUU of the latest JB OTA before KK came, I think it's 2.10.605.1 but I am not 100%.

Then just delete a few files to rid of the OTA nag.

Great, I am s-off. OK, I found PN07IMG_M7_WL_JB_50_VZW_2.10.605.1_DECRYPT.zip. Is this the correct file?
Last edited by eeexplicit; 8th June 2014 at 06:10 AM. Reason: Found ruu
8th June 2014, 06:29 AM   |  #4  
andybones's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Upstate NY
Thanks Meter: 9,215
 
9,498 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eeexplicit

Great, I am s-off. OK, I found PN07IMG_M7_WL_JB_50_VZW_2.10.605.1_DECRYPT.zip. Is this the correct file?

That is it.
Follow these directions carefully.

I am not responsible for any damage or monkeys that come out of your phone.

1) From fastboot you need to first re-lock your bootloader. Use this command:
fastboot oem lock
Then you reboot your device back into bootloader and make sure your device shows relocked or locked on top of the screen. Once you see that move on to #2.

2) Type this command:
fastboot oem rebootRUU
After that you should see black screen with a green HTC logo.

3) Now the file you downloaded please rename it to rom.zip (make sure you have it named correctly, windows can sometime play tricks and you end up renaming it rom.zip.zip)

4) Now, type this command:
fastboot flash zip rom.zip
Let it run the process. You will see this message. "pre hboot 90" if you see that then you need to run the process again (same command: fastboot flash zip rom.zip) and then let it run. It will flush your device at this point and will lose everything on your storage (make note of this and backup anything needed before doing this!). The process should take about 10-20 mins. One it says successful, go to step #5.

5) Type this command in command prompt:
fastboot reboot-bootloader and press enter
Once your at bootloader menu select factory reset and press power button and let it do reset and when it's done your device will reboot and your done. (I am not 100% sure this last step is needed.. you may be able to just reboot the phone without needing to do a factory reset, but I am not positive)

Credit for these instructions go to tommyjoesanders, found in this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2634256
8th June 2014, 10:38 PM   |  #5  
xenakis's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
You can tether in KK, even latest, no need to go back to JB. See http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2576548 or install a rom with tethering already enabled.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using XDA Free mobile app
9th June 2014, 04:33 AM   |  #6  
Uzephi's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 440
 
1,313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenakis

You can tether in KK, even latest, no need to go back to JB. See http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2576548 or install a rom with tethering already enabled.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using XDA Free mobile app

Exactly this. I run ViperONE and tethering works, both WiFi and usb

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using XDA Free mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes