Google Allows Search Queries To Interact With Apps

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings lots of new features that are quite useful for end users and … more

Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner of American phone manufacturer … more

Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more
Post Reply

[Q] Is it safe to install over stock rom with Safestrap 3.73

OP Razzeh

8th June 2014, 03:07 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Hello

I just wanted to make myself sure in this regard, since it really strikes my nerves when I see half of the device memory stuck on the horrible, godawfully slow stock rom.

Is it safe to install over stock rom? I've seem instructions how to do it on the RAZR forum ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2538427 ), but I'm unsure how similar these two phones are. Would these instructions work for Droid 4?

cya
Raziel-chan
8th June 2014, 09:49 AM   |  #2  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,773
 
4,411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Yes it's safe, good idea to backup stock first though.

Sent from my Amazon OtterX using Tapatalk
9th June 2014, 02:56 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

Yes it's safe, good idea to backup stock first though.

Sent from my Amazon OtterX using Tapatalk

Thanks

Seems to have worked fine, but it also seems that the stock system partition is laughably small... CM11 installs fine, but the full stock gapps are too big. Is there a way to resize the stock partition?

cya
Raziel-chan
9th June 2014, 03:00 AM   |  #4  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,773
 
4,411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razzeh

Thanks

Seems to have worked fine, but it also seems that the stock system partition is laughably small... CM11 installs fine, but the full stock gapps are too big. Is there a way to resize the stock partition?

cya
Raziel-chan

can not resize stock partition, but can use other Gapps, like [GAPPS][4.4.x/4.3.x] OFFICIAL Up-to-Date PA-GOOGLE APPS (All ROM's) [2014-06-08]
9th June 2014, 03:02 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Actually, these are the ones I'm using, but the Stock package is too big... Don't want to lose some of the apps, and I have a working CM11 in slot 1 with everything installed, so I guess I'll try installing something smaller, like SlimKAT, to the stock slot.

Thanks anyway.

cya
Raziel-chan
9th June 2014, 04:43 AM   |  #6  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,773
 
4,411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Most of the google apps are available on google play store .
Can use titanium backup pro to move, system apps and user apps to SD card, to make room.

Sent from my Amazon OtterX using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes