Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more

Get Your XDA 2015 Custom Avatar and Signature Images Here

As stated in our motto, XDA Developer is for developers, by developers. The … more

Pin Your Photos on Android Lollipop with Photo Pinner

In the last few weeks,we have been talking quite a bit about Android 5.0 Lollipop. This … more
Post Reply

[Q] Is it safe to install over stock rom with Safestrap 3.73

OP Razzeh

8th June 2014, 03:07 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Hello

I just wanted to make myself sure in this regard, since it really strikes my nerves when I see half of the device memory stuck on the horrible, godawfully slow stock rom.

Is it safe to install over stock rom? I've seem instructions how to do it on the RAZR forum ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2538427 ), but I'm unsure how similar these two phones are. Would these instructions work for Droid 4?

cya
Raziel-chan
8th June 2014, 09:49 AM   |  #2  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,728
 
4,352 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Yes it's safe, good idea to backup stock first though.

Sent from my Amazon OtterX using Tapatalk
9th June 2014, 02:56 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

Yes it's safe, good idea to backup stock first though.

Sent from my Amazon OtterX using Tapatalk

Thanks

Seems to have worked fine, but it also seems that the stock system partition is laughably small... CM11 installs fine, but the full stock gapps are too big. Is there a way to resize the stock partition?

cya
Raziel-chan
9th June 2014, 03:00 AM   |  #4  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,728
 
4,352 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razzeh

Thanks

Seems to have worked fine, but it also seems that the stock system partition is laughably small... CM11 installs fine, but the full stock gapps are too big. Is there a way to resize the stock partition?

cya
Raziel-chan

can not resize stock partition, but can use other Gapps, like [GAPPS][4.4.x/4.3.x] OFFICIAL Up-to-Date PA-GOOGLE APPS (All ROM's) [2014-06-08]
9th June 2014, 03:02 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Actually, these are the ones I'm using, but the Stock package is too big... Don't want to lose some of the apps, and I have a working CM11 in slot 1 with everything installed, so I guess I'll try installing something smaller, like SlimKAT, to the stock slot.

Thanks anyway.

cya
Raziel-chan
9th June 2014, 04:43 AM   |  #6  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Dakota
Thanks Meter: 1,728
 
4,352 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Most of the google apps are available on google play store .
Can use titanium backup pro to move, system apps and user apps to SD card, to make room.

Sent from my Amazon OtterX using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes