Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,079 Members 50,913 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Is it safe to install over stock rom with Safestrap 3.73

Tip us?
 
Razzeh
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default [Q] Is it safe to install over stock rom with Safestrap 3.73

Hello

I just wanted to make myself sure in this regard, since it really strikes my nerves when I see half of the device memory stuck on the horrible, godawfully slow stock rom.

Is it safe to install over stock rom? I've seem instructions how to do it on the RAZR forum ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2538427 ), but I'm unsure how similar these two phones are. Would these instructions work for Droid 4?

cya
Raziel-chan
 
sd_shadow
Old
#2  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1261
Posts: 3,406
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota
Yes it's safe, good idea to backup stock first though.

Sent from my Amazon OtterX using Tapatalk
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future
 
Razzeh
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow View Post
Yes it's safe, good idea to backup stock first though.

Sent from my Amazon OtterX using Tapatalk
Thanks

Seems to have worked fine, but it also seems that the stock system partition is laughably small... CM11 installs fine, but the full stock gapps are too big. Is there a way to resize the stock partition?

cya
Raziel-chan
 
sd_shadow
Old
#4  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1261
Posts: 3,406
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razzeh View Post
Thanks

Seems to have worked fine, but it also seems that the stock system partition is laughably small... CM11 installs fine, but the full stock gapps are too big. Is there a way to resize the stock partition?

cya
Raziel-chan
can not resize stock partition, but can use other Gapps, like [GAPPS][4.4.x/4.3.x] OFFICIAL Up-to-Date PA-GOOGLE APPS (All ROM's) [2014-06-08]
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future
 
Razzeh
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2014
Actually, these are the ones I'm using, but the Stock package is too big... Don't want to lose some of the apps, and I have a working CM11 in slot 1 with everything installed, so I guess I'll try installing something smaller, like SlimKAT, to the stock slot.

Thanks anyway.

cya
Raziel-chan
 
sd_shadow
Old
#6  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1261
Posts: 3,406
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota
Most of the google apps are available on google play store .
Can use titanium backup pro to move, system apps and user apps to SD card, to make room.

Sent from my Amazon OtterX using Tapatalk
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more

Control Your Toast Notifications with SlicedToasts

Toasts are delicious, even in their Android flavor. In Android, toast doesn’t lead … more