Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,552 Members 47,458 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Please help identifying tablet

Tip us?
 
insomniacno1
Old
(Last edited by insomniacno1; 17th April 2014 at 04:10 AM.) Reason: adding text
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 47
Join Date: Aug 2012
Smile [Q] Please help identifying tablet

Hi all, Could you help me identifying a chinese/korean tablet and help getting a custom recovery onto it.

The tablet is bought here in the Philippines as SAMSUNG GALAXY Tab 3, I got it from my GF who swapped her old phone in a market in Manila, for this one - Seller claimed original(as usual).

Model
FCC ID: A3LGTP1000 RATED: 5V=2A
MADE IN KOREA

CE0168

Se photos below

I used SpecDevice to pull all the info I could of the tablet and its in the provided link - I can't post it here or the thread will be too large, so please follow the link http://specdevice.com/showspec.php?i...b-df1d2dfafbec

Now, I know this tablet is NOT original SAMSUNG Tab 3, I have been living in the Philippines long enough to know a fake when I see one - but its damn good copy - Except for a few things:

It has:

Boxchip Allwinner A13 Singlecore 1Ghz
512MB Ram
Storage according to the Partition table APP:
/system: 504MB(463MB used),
/data: 1008MB(494MB used),
/cache: 315MB(5MB used),
/mnt/extsd: 30021(8772MB used) - this is the external SD card of 32MB,
/mnt/sdcard: 1401(172MB used)

adding the storage space up gives 3228MB which would mean this tab has approx. 4GB Rom. According to seller it should have 8GB(so again something fake). In settings>storage it says:

INTERNAL STORAGE:

Total space: 0.98GB - Apps:440MB - Available: 503MB
------------------------------------------------

Then something strange

INTERNAL STORAGE

Total space: 5.63GB - Apps: 110MB - Pictures, videos: 3.40MB - Audio: 3.22MB - Downloads: 1.15MB - Available: 5.48GB
--------------------------------------------------------

And strange again

EXTSD

Total space: 5.63GB - Available: 5.48GB
--------------------------------------------------------

I think this info is from the buildprop and that its fake, but I'm no expert in tablets - so need your help on this one - how to set it correctly?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Something else, this one comes with ICS installed, and in About tablet it says android version 4.2.1 - all that is written on the SpecDevice page, just follow the link above.


What I need from you Guys/Galls is a way to identify this tablet and get help to put custom recovery on it, either CWM or TWRP.

It has stock recovery but it can only be accessed by Settings>Backup and reset> Reboot to recovery - If I try the Power and Vol+ I get tilted green android with red exclamation mark, and I have tried all combinations of buttons that I could find on the net. I need custom recovery before I start modifying it, or there is no way to reflash it, if something goes wrong - Please help me with this

Cpu Identifier(By Davy Bartoloni) tells me this:

Cpu type: Boxchip Allwinner A13
Tablet type: T733 (Allwinner)

More info: Screen size 7.0 Inches
Supported frequency states: 29
NEON capable (fast video playback)
Ram memory module: 512 Mb DDR (Usable 353 Mb)

GPU type:
Mali-400 MP (single core GPU)
By ARM Holdings plc / ARM Norway

Going to the page for GPU:
Real inches: 7.0"
GPU: Mali-400 MP
Dispaly size: 800 x 480 (Normal)
X/Y dpi: 160 / 160 density: 160
Software inches: 5.00"
enlargement ratio: 1.4
GPU display stress factor: 1.95 (normal to manage)


Going to android device page:
Device: T733
Declared PCB: nuclear
Compiled for:
Product: nuclear_evb
Code name: nuclear-evb
OS version: 4.2.1(Jelly Bean)
Battery level: 98%
Flash memory: 1,007 MB
free flash memory: 502 MB
battery temperature: 30.0 C
Kernel compiled on 'gtide' workstation by user: fwj (build 20130627)


Going to Bogomips page:
Processor: ARMv7 Processor rev. 2 (v7I)
Bogomips: 1001.88
CPU implementer: 0x41
CPU Architecture: 7
CPU variant: 0x3
CPU part: 0xc08
Cpu revision: 2
Hardware: sun5i
Revision: a13b
Serial: this is very long and I don't know if you guys need it

EDIT: Some immidiate problems I could use some help with, the screen size is 800x480 but when in ES file explorer I can't see the full text of pop-up boxes, and have to turn the tablet upside down in order to catch a glimpse of OK or other buttons(to the right). Kind of annoying when having to set /system to R/W.
I think it has to do with the screen itself being 7" but widescreen style, and its not set correctly somewhere. As you can see above in CPU identifier, it says its "software inches: 5.00".

Just found out the screen is 800 x 432 and not 800 x 480 - that could explain why ES File explorer have a problem.

I used this tool: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...nus.screeninfo

And this tool https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...resolutioninfo which told me that the screen is actually not 7" nor 5.8" as SpecDevice said, but in reality 5.7".

Now, somewhere in the system files something is written wrong - how do I fix it?

This is starting to be a very long thread, so if there is any other info you guys need then just ask

Hope you can help me

With kind regards

JBJ
EDIT: The tablet is pre-rooted, it just needed me to install SuperSU and busybox(Stericsson).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tab3 -1.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	255.4 KB
ID:	2689232   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tab3-2.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	263.5 KB
ID:	2689270   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tab3-3.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	256.6 KB
ID:	2689271   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tab3-4.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	263.5 KB
ID:	2689273   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tab3-5.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	255.5 KB
ID:	2689274  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Tab3-6.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	253.7 KB
ID:	2689279   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tab3-7.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	246.2 KB
ID:	2689280  
 
es0tericcha0s
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 503
Posts: 2,614
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Maybe you can find something here: http://ublaze.ru/forum/topic1232-1860.html It's in Russian, so you'll need something like Google Translate, but seems like a pretty decent list of Allwinner stuff.
Need some help, advice, something fixed? Hit me up on Hangouts @ es0tericcha0s
Now offering unlocking services - including many Sprint phone unlocks! PM for details!

HTC Droid Eris / Motorola Droid / Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate / Motorola Droid X / LG G2x / HTC Evo 3D (x2) / Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Sprint S2) / HTC Amaze / Samsung Galaxy S3 (International) / Samsung Galaxy Note 2 / Nexus 4 / HTC One / Samsung Galaxy S4 / Sony Xperia ZL / Nexus 5 / OnePlus One (64 GB)
 
insomniacno1
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 47
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s View Post
Maybe you can find something here: http://ublaze.ru/forum/topic1232-1860.html It's in Russian, so you'll need something like Google Translate, but seems like a pretty decent list of Allwinner stuff.
Thanx for the quick reply, and the link - unfortunately google translate is horrible to translate from russian to english and I also think we should stay in this thread, so others can find benefit of this - there are alot of theese tabs sold here in the Philippines - but no support.

Please take a look at the EDIT's I made

With kind regards

JBJ
 
insomniacno1
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 47
Join Date: Aug 2012
Hi again, I figured something is wrong with my build.prop or platform.xml so I have attached them here, plus lsmod transcript. In the build.prop there is no line to change the LCD density or resolution.

Could someone take a look at it - please

Remember this is IMM76D ICS version 4.0.4 release 4.2.1(thats what it says), maybe thats why - but what do I know, I'm no expert

Thanx in advance

JBJ
Attached Files
File Type: txt lsmod.txt - [Click for QR Code] (1.0 KB, 2 views)
File Type: txt build.prop.txt - [Click for QR Code] (2.2 KB, 2 views)
File Type: txt platform.xml.txt - [Click for QR Code] (8.9 KB, 2 views)
 
es0tericcha0s
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 503
Posts: 2,614
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
I'd reach out to one of the moderators over at GSM Forums (2nd post) : http://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/f906...-0mhz-1744680/
Need some help, advice, something fixed? Hit me up on Hangouts @ es0tericcha0s
Now offering unlocking services - including many Sprint phone unlocks! PM for details!

HTC Droid Eris / Motorola Droid / Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate / Motorola Droid X / LG G2x / HTC Evo 3D (x2) / Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Sprint S2) / HTC Amaze / Samsung Galaxy S3 (International) / Samsung Galaxy Note 2 / Nexus 4 / HTC One / Samsung Galaxy S4 / Sony Xperia ZL / Nexus 5 / OnePlus One (64 GB)
The Following User Says Thank You to es0tericcha0s For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
insomniacno1
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 47
Join Date: Aug 2012
ehh, what do you mean by 2nd post? Also, I said that I like to stay in this forum as it would make it easier to someone else who has same tablet - please do that And post any info here;

There are enough trouble finding info scattered across many forums, with links to other forums, that again has links to other forums - this makes it extremely difficult for newbies to find info - I hope you understand my point, and want to continue the help

thanx in advance

JBJ
 
SavvasPro
Old
#7  
SavvasPro's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 63
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nicosia, Cyprus
Clearly, what do you ask for? :what:

Hope I helped you!
If I did , then why not press that Thanks button under my post...
YOU TAKE NO CANDLE
 
insomniacno1
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 47
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SavvasPro View Post
Clearly, what do you ask for? :what:

Hope I helped you!
If I did , then why not press that Thanks button under my post...
Hi, Please read all post since I ask for help identifying and for help with display problem
 
SavvasPro
Old
#9  
SavvasPro's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 63
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nicosia, Cyprus
Try this:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...a.hardwareinfo

==============================
Hope I Helped You . If I did, then why not press the "Thanks" button under my post.
YOU TAKE NO CANDLE
The Following User Says Thank You to SavvasPro For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
insomniacno1
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 47
Join Date: Aug 2012
Thanks for the link, but these tools rarely do something new, they just copy the functions of eachother - basicaslly all the same except for the name. They cannot tell you who is the manufacturer, they can only list what is wriiten in build.prop.

With kind regards

JBJ

2 days until I have to return to Denmark, I really don't want to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes