FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Cloudystock 2.2, lost recovery and root

150 posts
Thanks Meter: 30
 
By henrylar, Senior Member on 8th June 2014, 06:50 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have had the strangest experience, that I really don't understand.

After having used cloudystock successfully the last months, my recovery and root disappeared. Just like that.. (I went from 2.1 to 2.2 by dirty flashing).

When I try to go into recovery it asks me if I want to reset the phone? And no root, superSU is still there, but shows "no binary file".
Beside that it works fine, and shows Cloudystock 2.2 in SW info.

How can that happen? Any other who have experienced something like that?

And most important, is there anything in particular for that setup to take into consideration when reinstalling recovery and root?

what is the best way of getting it back.
Last edited by henrylar; 8th June 2014 at 06:54 AM.
 
 
8th June 2014, 04:49 PM |#2  
XxZombiePikachu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,555
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrylar

I have had the strangest experience, that I really don't understand.

After having used cloudystock successfully the last months, my recovery and root disappeared. Just like that.. (I went from 2.1 to 2.2 by dirty flashing).

When I try to go into recovery it asks me if I want to reset the phone? And no root, superSU is still there, but shows "no binary file".
Beside that it works fine, and shows Cloudystock 2.2 in SW info.

How can that happen? Any other who have experienced something like that?

And most important, is there anything in particular for that setup to take into consideration when reinstalling recovery and root?

what is the best way of getting it back.

if you have never used button combination to go into recovery you would know that it will always show the factory reset screen, and after pressing the power button three times to factory reset then custom recovery will appear; the reason for this is because lg designed it so that we wouldn't have access to the stock recovery:
-if you have stock recovery it will just factory reset your device
-if you have custom recovery after pressing power button it will boot into custom recovery
The Following User Says Thank You to XxZombiePikachu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2014, 05:01 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,534
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxZombiePikachu

if you have never used button combination to go into recovery you would know that it will always show the factory reset screen, and after pressing the power button three times to factory reset then custom recovery will appear; the reason for this is because lg designed it so that we wouldn't have access to the stock recovery:
-if you have stock recovery it will just factory reset your device
-if you have custom recovery after pressing power button it will boot into custom recovery

But don't you think he runs a dangerous risk of bricking his device in case it factory resets?
The Following User Says Thank You to vPro97 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2014, 05:05 PM |#4  
XxZombiePikachu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,555
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vPro97

But don't you think he runs a dangerous risk of bricking his device in case it factory resets?

another thing he can try is with adb access use the command adb reboot recovery, I don't think he lost the custom recovery, if he did he would have gotten a secure booting error when he tried accessing recovery the first time
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to XxZombiePikachu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th June 2014, 07:19 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
cannot get the rsa window
Thank you very much. I had problems with adb, could not get the rsa screen on the mac. But I succeeded in windows 8.1. I got to the recovery with the adb command, thank you very much. So now I just have to root it again. I still don't understand how that happened?
Last edited by henrylar; 9th June 2014 at 07:28 AM.
9th June 2014, 07:43 AM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
best way to root it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrylar

Thank you very much. I had problems with adb, could not get the rsa screen on the mac. But I succeeded in windows 8.1. I got to the recovery with the adb command, thank you very much. So now I just have to root it again. I still don't understand how that happened?

I wondered how to root it thought that I needed to use IORoot, which did not work - but in the end that was simple, the recovery could reinstall it
Last edited by henrylar; 9th June 2014 at 08:05 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes