T-Mobile Expands Its LTE Network

T-Mobile US has announced moreLTE network expansion. The carrierwill provide asignal for the700 MHz band, … more

Kernel Source Available for HTC One M8

HTC pushed the Lollipop-based Sense update to the developer edition of the HTC One M8 just a couple … more

Asus Hints at Upcoming Week-long Battery Smartwatch

Asus hinted that their next smartwatch, succesor to the elegant ZenWatch, could feature … more

Note 4 Full Caller ID Mod

Flash this mod to get a clean full-screen caller ID on your Note 4, which also comes with a Call Recording button … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Black lines

OP simple_fear85

simple_fear85
8th June 2014, 07:48 PM   |  #1  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
I am curious about something with the whole black line issue. I think I may have another idea. Please input for this will help confirm. What if it has something to do with downgrading the bootloader with autorec? Can anyone confirm keeping JB and installing xdabbebs 24a bootstack did this also?

Could it possible have something to do with autorec? Like I state before I am not pointing blame, but I read alot of post where people stated this has happened to them where they used autorec for kitkat and then installed? Maybe there is something where kitkat isnt working well with autorec downgrading the bootloader. If you downgrade any software with a newer upgrade wouldnt that cause instability within the kitkat itself?

What I am thinking is maybe the downgrade of the bootloader is causing over heating since it wasnt made for kitkat? Maybe it sounds stupid but what if? I remember having the black lines happen once before on a gnex I had and if i recall at one time you had to downgrade part of the software to gain custom recovery. My phone in fact got the black lines. What if we find a way to reupgrade the back to kitkats original bootloader and see if that fixes the black lines.

I know there was one case where someone claimed they got it after the OTA for kitkat, but could there be a possiblity that autorec was used in this case also?

I figured I start this possibly here to find a cure for the black lines possibilty. Please delete if not ok here.
8th June 2014, 07:53 PM   |  #2  
Lawlrus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,788
 
5,114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Just copy paste this in either Q&A, or better yet the g2 general thread for the black lines. Its labled as permenant screen damage. There people can respond to it that have he issue.

Because this will be moved or locked with it being in the Dev section.

Definitely an idea though. I never used auto record. And I haven't had any issues yet. I think the vast majority of vs980 users used xdabbeb or okbi's method, but its worth a shot tossing it there as some sort of poll.

Sent from my Vs980 running Vanir 4.4.3
simple_fear85
8th June 2014, 07:58 PM   |  #3  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
I didnt read fully on the rules here and i apologize. I put the thread with a poll in the general lg g2 verizon. Please admin delete this. Made a mistake sorry
The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2014, 08:05 PM   |  #4  
Lawlrus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,788
 
5,114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by simple_fear85

I didnt read fully on the rules here and i apologize. I put the thread with a poll in the general lg g2 verizon. Please admin delete this. Made a mistake sorry

I would go to g2 general. And to the black line thread. That's where they are trying to trouble shoot it.

It won't hurt having it here. But there are 20+ people over there that have that issue hanging out in that thread.

Sent from my Vs980 running Vanir 4.4.3
8th June 2014, 09:29 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
432 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I've used AutoRec a couple of times and and don't have any line issue.
9th June 2014, 01:54 AM   |  #6  
desireaftergod's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manchester, NH
Thanks Meter: 91
 
318 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by UrbanBounca

I've used AutoRec a couple of times and and don't have any line issue.

+1
9th June 2014, 12:27 PM   |  #7  
Mightycaptain's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Morganton, NC
Thanks Meter: 382
 
863 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simple_fear85

I am curious about something with the whole black line issue. I think I may have another idea. Please input for this will help confirm. What if it has something to do with downgrading the bootloader with autorec? Can anyone confirm keeping JB and installing xdabbebs 24a bootstack did this also?

Could it possible have something to do with autorec? Like I state before I am not pointing blame, but I read alot of post where people stated this has happened to them where they used autorec for kitkat and then installed? Maybe there is something where kitkat isnt working well with autorec downgrading the bootloader. If you downgrade any software with a newer upgrade wouldnt that cause instability within the kitkat itself?

What I am thinking is maybe the downgrade of the bootloader is causing over heating since it wasnt made for kitkat? Maybe it sounds stupid but what if? I remember having the black lines happen once before on a gnex I had and if i recall at one time you had to downgrade part of the software to gain custom recovery. My phone in fact got the black lines. What if we find a way to reupgrade the back to kitkats original bootloader and see if that fixes the black lines.

I know there was one case where someone claimed they got it after the OTA for kitkat, but could there be a possiblity that autorec was used in this case also?

I figured I start this possibly here to find a cure for the black lines possibilty. Please delete if not ok here.

You should go back and check the thread in general and the latest post by dr87 and gloat a little. While it may not be autorec looks like he believes it might be bootloader related and how it is being tricked to we can still use custom recovery. I thought your theory was in the right direction.

Sent from my LG-VS980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
simple_fear85
9th June 2014, 01:34 PM   |  #8  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mightycaptain

You should go back and check the thread in general and the latest post by dr87 and gloat a little. While it may not be autorec looks like he believes it might be bootloader related and how it is being tricked to we can still use custom recovery. I thought your theory was in the right direction.

Sent from my LG-VS980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I seen that and people bashed my idea of a possibility. I wasnt bashing autorec or anyone and they took it the wrong way.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes