Micromax Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Bootloop and non-stop restarting

OP smac7

7th June 2014, 03:27 AM   |  #1  
smac7's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 159
 
1,247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
So i tried flashing a new recovery and rom. here's how the process went down.
  1. flash recovery
  2. reboot
  3. flash rom
  4. clear cache - failed to mount /cache uh oh
  5. try to boot - fail
  6. reboot to recovery - flash old .zip of twrp 2.6.x
  7. reboot followed by boot loops and no known to turn off device. Can't reach recovery now.

i do NOT have a windows computer which makes using odin hard. is there any way for me to fix this or do i need to locate a windows computer and use ODIN? does anyone know how i can at least get it to stop rebooting in the meantime?
Edit: i can reach download mode, that's all i can do at the moment as far as i know.
Last edited by smac7; 7th June 2014 at 03:30 AM.
7th June 2014, 06:22 AM   |  #2  
mjrshark's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
292 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Pc and odin is my best solution or check this

http://www.xda-developers.com/androi...uild-your-own/


may help havent tried it
7th June 2014, 08:46 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
I had the problem myself.

Keep trying VolUp+Home, you must hit it in the right moment between screen cycles. Try pushing and releasing Pwr button too while you hold VolUp+Home, releasing it right before a screen cycle.

I was about to open my tablet to remove the battery but decided to try the last time. Finally I pressed Pwr+VolUp+Home and the right moment when the screen cycled, then released Pwr, and I was in recovery.
Last edited by xda_user_p600; 7th June 2014 at 08:50 AM.
7th June 2014, 10:15 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Try pulling external sd card to see if it boots up, just in case the card is causing the problem.

Sent from my LG-V500 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th June 2014, 03:53 AM   |  #5  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Waratah
Thanks Meter: 578
 
4,474 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
You need PC ODIN... The bootloader wasn't flashed, hence the problem. Flashing another JB recovery won't fix this...
You need to flash the whole rom in PC ODIN, this may require a factory reset.
Find TWRP2.7.0.1 and flash that, it's KK friendly, then flash the latest supersu (I believe its 1.99r3)using TWRP.
You should now be OK to go, Android KK with root and a custom recovery.
Th only drawback is that if you're external sd is formatted exFAT you can't make backups to it. though you can transfer the file to a PC then the Appropriate file on the external sd afterwards...
8th June 2014, 03:34 PM   |  #6  
Member
Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 22
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by bootx1

Try pulling external sd card to see if it boots up, just in case the card is causing the problem.

Sent from my LG-V500 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I don't know if this helps but my Note3 used to have this issue and heated up a lot around the SD card slot right after booting up and would reboot and reboot. Pulling out the sd card helped a little, but to get it to NOT reboot, I would put it in the fridge or put a cold can of drink on top of the sd card area with the battery cover off. The phone would reboot every second day or so and I would need to fridge boot it again.
This was shi77ting me heaps and I was close to giving up on my Note3 when the 4.4 OTA update came thru.
After the update, the Note 3 became rock solid and I was getting 500+ hr up times without itself rebooting. it only reboots now because I shut it down and I cant remember it rebooting by itself since the kitkat update. I love my Note3 now and run it rooted (Kingo Rooted), with SDfix, and dont wish for any update that might upset this rock solid stability.
My note3 is the N900 Exynos 5420 version.
My Note10 is the N605 SD800 version and it runs 4.3 very solid and I'm not keen to upset it with a kitkat update as im happy with the way it is.
9th June 2014, 02:19 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
actually, you CAN use a Mac
Quote:
Originally Posted by smac7

So i tried flashing a new recovery and rom. here's how the process went down.

[...i do NOT have a windows computer which makes using odin hard. is there any way for me to fix this or do i need to locate a windows computer and use ODIN? does anyone know how i can at least get it to stop rebooting in the meantime?
Edit: i can reach download mode, that's all i can do at the moment as far as i know.

I was faced with the same problem when I upgraded to KitKat and needed to enable writing to my external SDcard by rooting. I have a late 2011 MacBook Pro running an i7 chip. I was running OS X 10.8x at the time, but have since upgraded to 10.9 since Apple reenabled local syncing of contacts--all these big companies play the same games trying to own your data.

I used Parallels Desktop 9 and installed Windows 8.1. Once I did that, I was able to get Odin running on the Windows side to see my Note 10.1 (2014). After that, rooting was straightforward, just as if I was on a PC. You may not want to go to the expense (about $200 for Parallels and Win 8.1) but I wanted it to run the latest version of Office. Being able to root was a nice bonus for me.
9th June 2014, 02:26 PM   |  #8  
smac7's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 159
 
1,247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Thanks guys. I ended up finding a windows 8 iso and installing in boot camp. It was a slow process but I eventually got it to work

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes