Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,635 Members 40,096 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Is it normal for LTE to intermittently switch between LTE and 4G?

Tip us?
 
toews
Old
#11  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 62
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga View Post
Replacement time.
Alright, thanks for your help

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk
 
aooga
Old
#12  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 866
Posts: 2,958
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by toews View Post
Alright, thanks for your help

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk
See my edit. I asked if it happens everywhere or just in one location
 
homer285
Old
#13  
homer285's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 1,211
Join Date: Jun 2006
toews the question does not make sense, lte and 4g are one and the same, do you mean 3g?
M7 Red, G3 D855 Titan, Z1 Black
 
luigi311
Old
#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 276
Posts: 1,303
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by homer285 View Post
toews the question does not make sense, lte and 4g are one and the same, do you mean 3g?
There are different version of 4g HSPA+ is known as 4G but it is different from 4G LTE. Have u tried editing the band priorities maybe their competing against each other.

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk
 
homer285
Old
#15  
homer285's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 1,211
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by luigi311 View Post
There are different version of 4g HSPA+ is known as 4G but it is different from 4G LTE. Have u tried editing the band priorities maybe their competing against each other.

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk
Which carrier is doing that? how confusing.
Wiki:
HSPA+, or Evolved High-Speed Packet Access, is a technical standard for wireless, broadband telecommunication. HSPA+ enhances the widely used WCDMA (UMTS) based 3G networks with higher speeds for the end user that are comparable to the newer LTE networks. HSPA+ was first defined in the technical standard 3GPP release 7 and expanded further in later releases.
In the United States, it is commonly available under AT&T Mobility and T-Mobile US.
M7 Red, G3 D855 Titan, Z1 Black
 
aooga
Old
#16  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 866
Posts: 2,958
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by homer285 View Post
Which carrier is doing that? how confusing.
Wiki:
HSPA+, or Evolved High-Speed Packet Access, is a technical standard for wireless, broadband telecommunication. HSPA+ enhances the widely used WCDMA (UMTS) based 3G networks with higher speeds for the end user that are comparable to the newer LTE networks. HSPA+ was first defined in the technical standard 3GPP release 7 and expanded further in later releases.
In the United States, it is commonly available under AT&T Mobility and T-Mobile US.
Every carrier in north America.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
 
luigi311
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 276
Posts: 1,303
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by homer285 View Post
Which carrier is doing that? how confusing.
Wiki:
HSPA+, or Evolved High-Speed Packet Access, is a technical standard for wireless, broadband telecommunication. HSPA+ enhances the widely used WCDMA (UMTS) based 3G networks with higher speeds for the end user that are comparable to the newer LTE networks. HSPA+ was first defined in the technical standard 3GPP release 7 and expanded further in later releases.
In the United States, it is commonly available under AT&T Mobility and T-Mobile US.
Lol pretty much every carrier that has HSPA+ markets it as 4g because of speed

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk
 
homer285
Old
(Last edited by homer285; 8th June 2014 at 08:02 AM.)
#18  
homer285's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 1,211
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by luigi311 View Post
Lol pretty much every carrier that has HSPA+ markets it as 4g because of speed

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk
And just to clear things up for me, you will see 4g and lte icons in the taskbar and switch between the two respectively? Oh and I see no mention of 4G relating to HSPA+ but lte yes, so I still am unclear what the OP has asked.
Edit: nevermind it doesnt matter, very confusion lol. Sorry toews didnt mean to hijack your thread dude.
M7 Red, G3 D855 Titan, Z1 Black
 
Flashvetrin
Old
#19  
Flashvetrin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 540
Posts: 1,164
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spanaway

 
DONATE TO ME
You can google your apn settings from google.
Example.
Att apn settings.
And you can go into settings more networks and create a new apn. Just make sure you enter it exaxctly as it reads.
Xda folks have alot if threads on different apns for achieving higher speeds. You create the new apn hit menu and then save toggle the new apn and reboot.. alot of times if your seeing fluctuation it can be due to a node on one if the local towers in your area.
But as stated it wouldnt hurt to upgrade your modem. Of course this does involve root and custom recovery such a twrp.. hope this helps.😊

Sent from my MARCUS! using Tapatalk



Part of the solution.....

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more

XDA Forums Added for the First Batch of Android One Devices!

Just yesterday, we talked about the highly anticipated launch of the first batch … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: DonkeyGuard, Don’t Be a Donkey, Control Your Device – XDA Developer TV

Some applications ask for the world … more