FORUMS

3D Printable Mobile Microscope? Nexus 7 Discontinued – XDA TV

The Nexus 7 2013 has been discontinued on the Google Store! That and … more

Which Lockscreen Security Type Do You Use?

From pattern locks to the controversial face unlock, there are a number of different ways you … more

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Question regarding G2 and Bad Esn sprint one.

9th June 2014, 04:15 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 94
 
More
After reading stuff i figured that all G2's are world phones.
Im From india and my question is that if i get a G2 of ebay sprint one with a bad ESN, since it cant be activated on sprint again which is a given.
Now my question is can buy the phone and use it with a regular GSM sim card from india ?
If yes what would i need to do to use the phone if it has a Bad ESN.

Any kind of answer would be helpful thanks a ton
 
 
9th June 2014, 04:55 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 94
 
More
Help
9th June 2014, 06:03 PM |#3  
NicoC72's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
I don't think a Sprint G2 would work in India, sorry. Sprint is a US carrier and uses CDMA instead of GSM. However, the international D802 model should work fine. The ESN is attached to the phone and not the carrier anyway, so no matter what carrier your on it won't activate.
9th June 2014, 07:13 PM |#4  
daCLOUD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
The Sprint G2 is not factory unlocked for international GSM usage. It is an international capable device though (GSM 850/900/1800/1900). If the seller is not specifically stating that the phone has been unlocked for international use then it will not work in India. Only Sprint can unlock the phone and if your not the owner of the phone with an active line with Sprint they wont unlock it for you plain and simple. I would recommend to save your self a big hassle and buy the international G2 D802.
9th June 2014, 07:57 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 94
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by daCLOUD

The Sprint G2 is not factory unlocked for international GSM usage. It is an international capable device though (GSM 850/900/1800/1900). If the seller is not specifically stating that the phone has been unlocked for international use then it will not work in India. Only Sprint can unlock the phone and if your not the owner of the phone with an active line with Sprint they wont unlock it for you plain and simple. I would recommend to save your self a big hassle and buy the international G2 D802.

Cool thanks a ton
9th June 2014, 08:54 PM |#6  
daCLOUD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by berz

Cool thanks a ton

No problem, I forgot to mention that the Verizon G2 is factory unlocked for GSM service. You could buy a BAD ESN Verizon G2 and put in your India GSM sim card and it would work with no unlocking necessary. I'm not sure what band you need for LTE, but HSPA+ should work.
9th June 2014, 09:02 PM |#7  
laufersteppenwolf's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Baden-Württemberg
Thanks Meter: 6,505
 
Donate to Me
More
Question answered, thread closed
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes