FORUMS

Google No Longer Sending Calendar SMS Notifications

In a not entirely surprising move, Google announced that it’s putting an … more

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

Android M Preview Images – XDA TV

Android M preview images are available. That and much more news is covered by Jordan when he … more

Question regarding G2 and Bad Esn sprint one.

Thanks Meter: 96
 
By berz, Senior Member on 9th June 2014, 04:15 PM
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
After reading stuff i figured that all G2's are world phones.
Im From india and my question is that if i get a G2 of ebay sprint one with a bad ESN, since it cant be activated on sprint again which is a given.
Now my question is can buy the phone and use it with a regular GSM sim card from india ?
If yes what would i need to do to use the phone if it has a Bad ESN.

Any kind of answer would be helpful thanks a ton
 
 
9th June 2014, 04:55 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Help
9th June 2014, 06:03 PM |#3  
NicoC72's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
More
I don't think a Sprint G2 would work in India, sorry. Sprint is a US carrier and uses CDMA instead of GSM. However, the international D802 model should work fine. The ESN is attached to the phone and not the carrier anyway, so no matter what carrier your on it won't activate.
9th June 2014, 07:13 PM |#4  
daCLOUD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
The Sprint G2 is not factory unlocked for international GSM usage. It is an international capable device though (GSM 850/900/1800/1900). If the seller is not specifically stating that the phone has been unlocked for international use then it will not work in India. Only Sprint can unlock the phone and if your not the owner of the phone with an active line with Sprint they wont unlock it for you plain and simple. I would recommend to save your self a big hassle and buy the international G2 D802.
9th June 2014, 07:57 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by daCLOUD

The Sprint G2 is not factory unlocked for international GSM usage. It is an international capable device though (GSM 850/900/1800/1900). If the seller is not specifically stating that the phone has been unlocked for international use then it will not work in India. Only Sprint can unlock the phone and if your not the owner of the phone with an active line with Sprint they wont unlock it for you plain and simple. I would recommend to save your self a big hassle and buy the international G2 D802.

Cool thanks a ton
9th June 2014, 08:54 PM |#6  
daCLOUD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by berz

Cool thanks a ton

No problem, I forgot to mention that the Verizon G2 is factory unlocked for GSM service. You could buy a BAD ESN Verizon G2 and put in your India GSM sim card and it would work with no unlocking necessary. I'm not sure what band you need for LTE, but HSPA+ should work.
9th June 2014, 09:02 PM |#7  
laufersteppenwolf's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Baden-Württemberg
Thanks Meter: 6,600
 
Donate to Me
More
Question answered, thread closed
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes