Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] I've fallen and I can't get up!

OP bethesdaadk

6th June 2014, 08:38 PM   |  #21  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Red face
Quote:
Originally Posted by bethesdaadk

I did not flash the radio. I may have been confused, but I thought I didn't need to because I was S-On, not S-Off. At this point, it doesn't matter though, so I'll try it.

Do I need to go through the same steps as flashing the firmware?

Relock.
rebootRUU

Or can I just fastboot flash the radio?

Thanks.

Never mind. I used the OTG file and TWRP. I have a welcome screen! That's a first!

Will report back shortly.
6th June 2014, 10:17 PM   |  #22  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Red face
Quote:
Originally Posted by bethesdaadk

Never mind. I used the OTG file and TWRP. I have a welcome screen! That's a first!

Will report back shortly.

System is up and running the stock 5.X rom. Interestingly, it immediately wanted me to upgrade to Sense 6. However, because I had the TWRP recovery installed, it would just reboot into TWRP.

I figured it would need a stock recovery image in order for the over the air update to install. I had what I thought was a proper stock recovery image, so I flashed it and then told the update to install. It rebooted and started the install, but I got the dreaded Red Triangle. So, I was able to reboot the phone and it came back up in 5.X. I'm assuming that I had the wrong stock recovery image in order for the update to install.

Therefore, I suppose if I want the Sense 6, I'll need to flash the new firmware and apply the m7wls_Stock_Rooted_5.03.651.3_Odex_2.zip rom to the phone.

Or can you provide a link for the proper recovery image that would allow this update to install?

In the meantime, I ran a TWRP backup to freeze what I have in place.

Finally, much thanks for helping me to get myself back to where I have a viable phone. I learned a lot. Hopefully, I'll remember at least some of the lessons.
6th June 2014, 10:27 PM   |  #23  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Xda-Dev,NV
Thanks Meter: 8,196
 
8,555 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bethesdaadk

System is up and running the stock 5.X rom. Interestingly, it immediately wanted me to upgrade to Sense 6. However, because I had the TWRP recovery installed, it would just reboot into TWRP.

I figured it would need a stock recovery image in order for the over the air update to install. I had what I thought was a proper stock recovery image, so I flashed it and then told the update to install. It rebooted and started the install, but I got the dreaded Red Triangle. So, I was able to reboot the phone and it came back up in 5.X. I'm assuming that I had the wrong stock recovery image in order for the update to install.

Therefore, I suppose if I want the Sense 6, I'll need to flash the new firmware and apply the m7wls_Stock_Rooted_5.03.651.3_Odex_2.zip rom to the phone.

Or can you provide a link for the proper recovery image that would allow this update to install?

In the meantime, I ran a TWRP backup to freeze what I have in place.

Finally, much thanks for helping me to get myself back to where I have a viable phone. I learned a lot. Hopefully, I'll remember at least some of the lessons.

All Sprint M7 stock recoveries
http://d-h.st/oa2
8th June 2014, 05:34 AM   |  #24  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by BD619

All Sprint M7 stock recoveries
http://d-h.st/oa2

I went ahead and installed the ViperOne Custom Rom and the install went well. I noticed your poll and I answered yes - you helped me save my phone.

BTW, I notice that the last two roms have YouTube apps that no longer seem to be working over WiFi. This seems to be happening elsewhere - apparently due to flash changes. Suggestions?
9th June 2014, 10:07 PM   |  #25  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by bethesdaadk

I went ahead and installed the ViperOne Custom Rom and the install went well. I noticed your poll and I answered yes - you helped me save my phone.

BTW, I notice that the last two roms have YouTube apps that no longer seem to be working over WiFi. This seems to be happening elsewhere - apparently due to flash changes. Suggestions?

Post weekend update. I suspected that the ViperOne Sense 6 rom wasn't working as well as it could since I had not flashed the newest firmware. Using the steps before, since I am S-On rather than S-Off, I relocked the phone and then updated the firmware, and then re-unlocked the phone again. The HTCDev site is very fast in providing the binary file.

I then re-flashed the ViperOne rom and now You Tube is working correctly. Pandora was also skipping through every song after 1 second - and that now works correctly as well.

Hopefully, others will see this chain and this will help them get unstuck as well.

Thanks again.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes