Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,924 Members 45,455 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] I've fallen and I can't get up!

Tip us?
 
bethesdaadk
Old
#21  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bethesdaadk View Post
I did not flash the radio. I may have been confused, but I thought I didn't need to because I was S-On, not S-Off. At this point, it doesn't matter though, so I'll try it.

Do I need to go through the same steps as flashing the firmware?

Relock.
rebootRUU

Or can I just fastboot flash the radio?

Thanks.
Never mind. I used the OTG file and TWRP. I have a welcome screen! That's a first!

Will report back shortly.
 
bethesdaadk
Old
#22  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bethesdaadk View Post
Never mind. I used the OTG file and TWRP. I have a welcome screen! That's a first!

Will report back shortly.
System is up and running the stock 5.X rom. Interestingly, it immediately wanted me to upgrade to Sense 6. However, because I had the TWRP recovery installed, it would just reboot into TWRP.

I figured it would need a stock recovery image in order for the over the air update to install. I had what I thought was a proper stock recovery image, so I flashed it and then told the update to install. It rebooted and started the install, but I got the dreaded Red Triangle. So, I was able to reboot the phone and it came back up in 5.X. I'm assuming that I had the wrong stock recovery image in order for the update to install.

Therefore, I suppose if I want the Sense 6, I'll need to flash the new firmware and apply the m7wls_Stock_Rooted_5.03.651.3_Odex_2.zip rom to the phone.

Or can you provide a link for the proper recovery image that would allow this update to install?

In the meantime, I ran a TWRP backup to freeze what I have in place.

Finally, much thanks for helping me to get myself back to where I have a viable phone. I learned a lot. Hopefully, I'll remember at least some of the lessons.
 
BD619
Old
#23  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 7609
Posts: 8,001
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Xda-Dev,NV

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bethesdaadk View Post
System is up and running the stock 5.X rom. Interestingly, it immediately wanted me to upgrade to Sense 6. However, because I had the TWRP recovery installed, it would just reboot into TWRP.

I figured it would need a stock recovery image in order for the over the air update to install. I had what I thought was a proper stock recovery image, so I flashed it and then told the update to install. It rebooted and started the install, but I got the dreaded Red Triangle. So, I was able to reboot the phone and it came back up in 5.X. I'm assuming that I had the wrong stock recovery image in order for the update to install.

Therefore, I suppose if I want the Sense 6, I'll need to flash the new firmware and apply the m7wls_Stock_Rooted_5.03.651.3_Odex_2.zip rom to the phone.

Or can you provide a link for the proper recovery image that would allow this update to install?

In the meantime, I ran a TWRP backup to freeze what I have in place.

Finally, much thanks for helping me to get myself back to where I have a viable phone. I learned a lot. Hopefully, I'll remember at least some of the lessons.
All Sprint M7 stock recoveries
http://d-h.st/oa2

Frequently Asked Questions - HTC One-M7-Sprint(m7wls) | HTC Evo 4G LTE(Jewel) | HTC One-M8-Sprint(m8_whl)
ROM Cleaner | AROMA | Remove Bloatware | Backup Apps | Install Apps/Mods
ROM Cleaner for HTC Evo 4G LTE or ROM Cleaner for HTC One
My DIY guides on how to root your HTC Evo 4G LTE | HTC One(M7)-Sprint | HTC One(M8)-Sprint


Forum Moderator
 
bethesdaadk
Old
#24  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BD619 View Post
All Sprint M7 stock recoveries
http://d-h.st/oa2
I went ahead and installed the ViperOne Custom Rom and the install went well. I noticed your poll and I answered yes - you helped me save my phone.

BTW, I notice that the last two roms have YouTube apps that no longer seem to be working over WiFi. This seems to be happening elsewhere - apparently due to flash changes. Suggestions?
 
bethesdaadk
Old
#25  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bethesdaadk View Post
I went ahead and installed the ViperOne Custom Rom and the install went well. I noticed your poll and I answered yes - you helped me save my phone.

BTW, I notice that the last two roms have YouTube apps that no longer seem to be working over WiFi. This seems to be happening elsewhere - apparently due to flash changes. Suggestions?
Post weekend update. I suspected that the ViperOne Sense 6 rom wasn't working as well as it could since I had not flashed the newest firmware. Using the steps before, since I am S-On rather than S-Off, I relocked the phone and then updated the firmware, and then re-unlocked the phone again. The HTCDev site is very fast in providing the binary file.

I then re-flashed the ViperOne rom and now You Tube is working correctly. Pandora was also skipping through every song after 1 second - and that now works correctly as well.

Hopefully, others will see this chain and this will help them get unstuck as well.

Thanks again.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes