ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Sprint Galaxy S4 with stock 4.3 and MK2 baseband

OP DraghanC

4th January 2014, 06:21 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
I just recently acquire myself a Sprint Galaxy S4. It is not rooted. It is running stock android 4.3 with the L720VPUEMK2 baseband. My question is can I unlock this phone to use on US gsm carriers like Tmobile and AT&T? I don't want to buy any unlock code from ebay because those codes only allow it to unlock to use for overseas. Have I had a choice I would've just bought a Tmobile, AT&T or verizon galaxy s4, but they were too expensive. Can anyone help me?
4th January 2014, 03:36 PM   |  #2  
gotablunt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag east los angeles
Thanks Meter: 19
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Pls read next time, anyways no you can't as of right now because only works with mdc or mdl basebands and no way to downgrade right now...mf9 and above you can international unlock tho

Sent from my SPH-L720 using xda app-developers app
4th January 2014, 07:42 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotablunt

Pls read next time, anyways no you can't as of right now because only works with mdc or mdl basebands and no way to downgrade right now...mf9 and above you can international unlock tho

Sent from my SPH-L720 using xda app-developers app

Darn it!!! So what you're basically saying is that even if I rooted the phone and use a rom that supports MDC or MDL basebands I still can't unlock it to use on domestic GSM carriers? If that's the case if i'm reading correctly then I guess it's time to put up the phone for sale on Swappa.
6th January 2014, 06:51 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Sana'a
Thanks Meter: 27
 
261 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
I think that because you can't downgrade to MDC/MDL baseband you can't unlock it in domestic GSM carrier at least currently.
The knox in bootloader denied you to downgrade to MDC/MDL baseband.
So either wait to get a solution or sell it.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
23rd May 2014, 11:00 AM   |  #5  
parin11's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 15
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anees02

I think that because you can't downgrade to MDC/MDL baseband you can't unlock it in domestic GSM carrier at least currently.
The knox in bootloader denied you to downgrade to MDC/MDL baseband.
So either wait to get a solution or sell it.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

How to Unlock for International Use
9th June 2014, 11:36 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Sana'a
Thanks Meter: 27
 
261 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by parin11

How to Unlock for International Use

Some users tell that they can downgrade the baseband easly to MDC/MDL baseband only.
so if you can you can unlock GSM.

Note:downgrade the baseband only ....neither the software nor bootloader.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes