Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more

Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more
Post Reply

[Q] Sprint Galaxy S4 with stock 4.3 and MK2 baseband

OP DraghanC

4th January 2014, 05:21 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
I just recently acquire myself a Sprint Galaxy S4. It is not rooted. It is running stock android 4.3 with the L720VPUEMK2 baseband. My question is can I unlock this phone to use on US gsm carriers like Tmobile and AT&T? I don't want to buy any unlock code from ebay because those codes only allow it to unlock to use for overseas. Have I had a choice I would've just bought a Tmobile, AT&T or verizon galaxy s4, but they were too expensive. Can anyone help me?
4th January 2014, 02:36 PM   |  #2  
gotablunt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag east los angeles
Thanks Meter: 19
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Pls read next time, anyways no you can't as of right now because only works with mdc or mdl basebands and no way to downgrade right now...mf9 and above you can international unlock tho

Sent from my SPH-L720 using xda app-developers app
4th January 2014, 06:42 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotablunt

Pls read next time, anyways no you can't as of right now because only works with mdc or mdl basebands and no way to downgrade right now...mf9 and above you can international unlock tho

Sent from my SPH-L720 using xda app-developers app

Darn it!!! So what you're basically saying is that even if I rooted the phone and use a rom that supports MDC or MDL basebands I still can't unlock it to use on domestic GSM carriers? If that's the case if i'm reading correctly then I guess it's time to put up the phone for sale on Swappa.
6th January 2014, 05:51 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Sana'a
Thanks Meter: 26
 
256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
I think that because you can't downgrade to MDC/MDL baseband you can't unlock it in domestic GSM carrier at least currently.
The knox in bootloader denied you to downgrade to MDC/MDL baseband.
So either wait to get a solution or sell it.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
23rd May 2014, 10:00 AM   |  #5  
parin11's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 14
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anees02

I think that because you can't downgrade to MDC/MDL baseband you can't unlock it in domestic GSM carrier at least currently.
The knox in bootloader denied you to downgrade to MDC/MDL baseband.
So either wait to get a solution or sell it.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

How to Unlock for International Use
9th June 2014, 10:36 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Sana'a
Thanks Meter: 26
 
256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by parin11

How to Unlock for International Use

Some users tell that they can downgrade the baseband easly to MDC/MDL baseband only.
so if you can you can unlock GSM.

Note:downgrade the baseband only ....neither the software nor bootloader.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes