FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

[Q] Sprint Galaxy S4 with stock 4.3 and MK2 baseband

14 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By DraghanC, Junior Member on 4th January 2014, 05:21 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I just recently acquire myself a Sprint Galaxy S4. It is not rooted. It is running stock android 4.3 with the L720VPUEMK2 baseband. My question is can I unlock this phone to use on US gsm carriers like Tmobile and AT&T? I don't want to buy any unlock code from ebay because those codes only allow it to unlock to use for overseas. Have I had a choice I would've just bought a Tmobile, AT&T or verizon galaxy s4, but they were too expensive. Can anyone help me?
 
 
4th January 2014, 02:36 PM |#2  
gotablunt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag east los angeles
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Pls read next time, anyways no you can't as of right now because only works with mdc or mdl basebands and no way to downgrade right now...mf9 and above you can international unlock tho

Sent from my SPH-L720 using xda app-developers app
4th January 2014, 06:42 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotablunt

Pls read next time, anyways no you can't as of right now because only works with mdc or mdl basebands and no way to downgrade right now...mf9 and above you can international unlock tho

Sent from my SPH-L720 using xda app-developers app

Darn it!!! So what you're basically saying is that even if I rooted the phone and use a rom that supports MDC or MDL basebands I still can't unlock it to use on domestic GSM carriers? If that's the case if i'm reading correctly then I guess it's time to put up the phone for sale on Swappa.
6th January 2014, 05:51 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Sana'a
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
I think that because you can't downgrade to MDC/MDL baseband you can't unlock it in domestic GSM carrier at least currently.
The knox in bootloader denied you to downgrade to MDC/MDL baseband.
So either wait to get a solution or sell it.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
23rd May 2014, 10:00 AM |#5  
parin11's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anees02

I think that because you can't downgrade to MDC/MDL baseband you can't unlock it in domestic GSM carrier at least currently.
The knox in bootloader denied you to downgrade to MDC/MDL baseband.
So either wait to get a solution or sell it.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

How to Unlock for International Use
9th June 2014, 10:36 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Sana'a
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by parin11

How to Unlock for International Use

Some users tell that they can downgrade the baseband easly to MDC/MDL baseband only.
so if you can you can unlock GSM.

Note:downgrade the baseband only ....neither the software nor bootloader.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes