Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Bootloop on splash screen

OP carngeX

28th May 2014, 02:33 AM   |  #11  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,344
 
3,018 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carngeX

Tried it - screen still just goes black, and then repeats the splashscreen bootloop like before.

Should I try contacting HTC and see what they would charge to send it in?

I have this happen to both my max and my kids m8. It was a matter of timing the power and up button combo and then shifting to just vol down the second it rebooted. First time took me twenty minutes to get it right. During which I may have broke a sweat. Don't give up just yet.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk
28th May 2014, 02:35 AM   |  #12  
carngeX's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 142
 
608 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

I have this happen to both my max and my kids m8. It was a matter of timing the power and up button combo and then shifting to just vol down the second it rebooted. First time took me twenty minutes to get it right. During which I may have broke a sweat. Don't give up just yet.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk

So, I should hold Power + Vol UP while on the splash screen, then when the buttons flash, switch to just Vol DOWN? Or am I not doing the correct technique?
28th May 2014, 06:56 AM   |  #13  
carngeX's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 142
 
608 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
So this is what I've tried doing; not sure if it's the correct timing or not:

From a dead battery, plug in and hold power + Vol down, it just goes into bootloop

During the bootloop, held Vol Down during the black screen in between the white HTC splashscreen; still bootloop (tried this at various times in between the splashscreen loops; there's about a 5 sec gap of black screen)

Tried the same above, but with Power + Vol Down

Tried Power + Vol Down during the white splashscreen, the back/home soft keys blink 4 - 6 times, and releasing the power button while keeping vol down held, and then reboots into the bootloop again

Not sure what to do at this point, besides contact HTC, unless you guys have any ideas/proper order to press the buttons?

Edit: plugged it into my computer, and about 3/4 of the way through the HTC Splashscreen, I hear the USB plugged in noise, then immediately the eject noise. For a second I can see "Android Phone" listed under Devices and Printers. Tried running fastboot reboot-bootloader and it didn't catch it. Tried running adb devices during the second it's recognized, but it didn't see anything. Tried in both USB 2.0 and 3.0 ports.

Also tried pressing Vol down during the time its recognized, but either my timing was off, or it didn't work.
Last edited by carngeX; 28th May 2014 at 07:25 AM.
28th May 2014, 05:43 PM   |  #14  
carngeX's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 142
 
608 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Update: Also tried holding the light sensors under a lightbulb and tried the above attempts (read somewhere this has worked for people)... still a no-go.
29th May 2014, 11:12 PM   |  #15  
carngeX's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 142
 
608 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by synisterwolf

to me it sounds like there is still hope. as long as you can see the splash screen you still have a chance.
i would put it in a wall charger and just leave it for a bit about 20 min and then try the vol - and power.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

I have this happen to both my max and my kids m8. It was a matter of timing the power and up button combo and then shifting to just vol down the second it rebooted. First time took me twenty minutes to get it right. During which I may have broke a sweat. Don't give up just yet.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk

Still haven't been able to get it after a couple days of trying on and off.

Contacted HTC and I'm going to send it into them.

Since I'm not sure what HBoot is on it currently... if they were to update it to the latest (newest OTA) that's just been released before returning it to me... will I still be able to unlock bootloader/S-Off with Firewater/Weaksauce?

Thanks for the suggestions you guys provided dottat and synisterwolf I appreciate it!
30th May 2014, 01:06 AM   |  #16  
synisterwolf's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,237
 
6,511 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
sorry ive been away, work has be busy. If they do update it, there is no way to unlock or s-off ATM. the OTA might be to new for them to care and just flash you back to 4.4.2 sense 5.5
The Following User Says Thank You to synisterwolf For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th May 2014, 01:26 AM   |  #17  
carngeX's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 142
 
608 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by synisterwolf

sorry ive been away, work has be busy. If they do update it, there is no way to unlock or s-off ATM. the OTA might be to new for them to care and just flash you back to 4.4.2 sense 5.5

No problem man.

Lame.. hopefully hey don't update it. According to the agreement notice they emailed me with my ticket info and stuff, it says" Please note that all repaired devices will be set to carrier or HTC specifications, and will be factory reset."

Hopefully that means that they'll just reset it back to how it came and not update it.

Otherwise I guess I'll either wait or try and sell it, since the device itself is pretty much mint.
10th June 2014, 01:09 AM   |  #18  
carngeX's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 142
 
608 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
So I got it back today from HTC... and I think they updated it . Can somebody confirm for me?

Bootloader says this:

PVT SHIP S-ON
HBoot-1.57.0000
Radio-1.13.41.0421
OpenDSP-v32.120.274.0909
OS-4.10.605.3

Settings says:
4.4.2
Sense 6.0
4.10.605.3

So there's no way to root, or S-Off, or bootloader unlock right? Neither Rumrunner nor Firewater work? Is an unlock exploit being researched?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes