Post Reply

S-Off

9th June 2014, 05:35 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
I am a new M8 user. I unlocked my boot loader, installed custom recovery and rooted the device. However, I can't achieve S-Off. It says that HTC has patched my device. I don't remember taking an OTA, however it may have done that when I first booted it out of the box. I then tried to install Xposed, however that did not work either. I found a method showing how to flash a file to make Xposed work on an S-On device, but that did not work either. I have two questions:
1) Is there any way currently for me to achieve S-Off
2) If I can't achieve S-Off, what good does rooting my device actually do since I can't seem to install anything?

Thanks.
9th June 2014, 07:27 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILowry282

I am a new M8 user. I unlocked my boot loader, installed custom recovery and rooted the device. However, I can't achieve S-Off. It says that HTC has patched my device. I don't remember taking an OTA, however it may have done that when I first booted it out of the box. I then tried to install Xposed, however that did not work either. I found a method showing how to flash a file to make Xposed work on an S-On device, but that did not work either. I have two questions:
1) Is there any way currently for me to achieve S-Off
2) If I can't achieve S-Off, what good does rooting my device actually do since I can't seem to install anything?

Thanks.


Since you didnt get any OTA, it means that the device you got was already updated with the last software by HTC.

1. Currently there is no way for getting S-OFF, dhe there is a bounty thread for a fix. (Check my signature)

2. S-OFF is needed only for special purposes like changing ur CID, removing the tampered banner. SIM Unlock etc.


You dont need S-OFF to flash custom ROMs etc.
9th June 2014, 05:10 PM   |  #3  
RossMacgill's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kent
Thanks Meter: 24
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Like above says, but i will add, double check you have root, and then look at the correct way to install xposed. you dont need s off to obtain root or install xposed and or roms.
9th June 2014, 07:17 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
I can confirm that xposed installs and runs fine with an s-on device. My friend has one and is running xposed with sense6 toolbox.
As a last resort if you simply can't get it installed, you could install a rom that already has it built in. There are several in the forums that have it.
10th June 2014, 12:28 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
So I don't need S-Off to install Viper One ROM?
10th June 2014, 12:33 AM   |  #6  
samsamuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,048
 
9,105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
no.
10th June 2014, 01:21 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Can anyone tell me if viper rom allows individual notification tones in the stock messaging app?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in One (M8) Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank