Post Reply

[Q] HTC PN07120 stuck in bootloop after OTA update

OP ExPwN

8th June 2014, 10:11 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Hey guys, I have an HTC One that is stuck in a boot loop after an OTA update to 4.4.3. What do I need to do/download to wipe the phone back to factory settings so it will work again?

S-ON, hboot is 1.55, and yes I have tried factory reset in the bootloader menu
Last edited by ExPwN; 8th June 2014 at 10:21 PM.
9th June 2014, 07:02 AM   |  #2  
hafizimtiaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dhaka
Thanks Meter: 35
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExPwN

Hey guys, I have an HTC One that is stuck in a boot loop after an OTA update to 4.4.3. What do I need to do/download to wipe the phone back to factory settings so it will work again?

S-ON, hboot is 1.55, and yes I have tried factory reset in the bootloader menu

You've got 4.4.3 update in OTA? Are you using Google Edition HTC One?

Bootloop after OTA generally results if your system is somewhat modified (like custom recovery or changed system files) and you forced install the OTA. You can flash stock RUU (exe or zip) and then try OTA again.
9th June 2014, 02:33 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by hafizimtiaz

You've got 4.4.3 update in OTA? Are you using Google Edition HTC One?

Bootloop after OTA generally results if your system is somewhat modified (like custom recovery or changed system files) and you forced install the OTA. You can flash stock RUU (exe or zip) and then try OTA again.

I'm not sure what update it was, it's not my phone. The phone WAS completely stock however. I thought I have to have Soff to flash the RUU

After some googling, I found the RUU, but I have to flash hboot 1.44 which I can't do because S-On. The only way to make S-Off is to have the phone working. So this is just a giant brick now, unless there's a way to turn S-Off from fastboot.
Last edited by ExPwN; 9th June 2014 at 02:44 PM.
10th June 2014, 03:44 AM   |  #4  
hafizimtiaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dhaka
Thanks Meter: 35
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Have you tried flashing an RUU which has the same hboot as yours? I mean, if you try flashing a 4.4.2 RUU exe, what does it say? If exe fails, you can try RUU ZIP. although I am pretty sure that decrypted ZIP flashing requires s-off.
The Following User Says Thank You to hafizimtiaz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes