Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,713 Members 39,268 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

why is it impossible(almost) to root the VZW Moto G?

Tip us?
 
youphone
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 55
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default why is it impossible(almost) to root the VZW Moto G?

why is it impossible(almost) to root the VZW Moto G?

all the XDA threads that I read seemed to suggest that the reason is the locked bootloader. Motorola does not provide unlocking of the bootloader on the VZW Moto G.

however, is a locked bootloader really the reason?

I have easily rooted my current Samsung phones(Galaxy Note 2, S5, and Note 3) without touching the bootloader. Saferoot worked like a charm and each phone takes less than 2 minutes to root.

Why is it that Motorola phones need to have the bootloader unlocked in order to root?

Thanks!
 
jaspreet997
Old
(Last edited by jaspreet997; 9th June 2014 at 09:27 AM.)
#2  
jaspreet997's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 480
Join Date: Jul 2013
I think Verizon is to be blamed here not Motorola Anyway if you stay on 4.4.2 there is a Nice and easy root exploit
No write access in system partition and has to be rerooted at every reboot but it something of a start
try it

And about using boot loader Well there excuse is security of laymen so that they can't be exploited
For advanced user who want root boot loader can be unlocked in 1 min

Sent from my XT1033 using Tapatalk
 
sprockkets
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 81
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by youphone View Post
why is it impossible(almost) to root the VZW Moto G?

all the XDA threads that I read seemed to suggest that the reason is the locked bootloader. Motorola does not provide unlocking of the bootloader on the VZW Moto G.

however, is a locked bootloader really the reason?

I have easily rooted my current Samsung phones(Galaxy Note 2, S5, and Note 3) without touching the bootloader. Saferoot worked like a charm and each phone takes less than 2 minutes to root.

Why is it that Motorola phones need to have the bootloader unlocked in order to root?

Thanks!
Android is getting much more secure for one thing.

And since it is much closer to stock, without all the crappy add on apps, there is much less to attack.

And yes, Moto's bootloaders are very resilient.
 
youphone
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 55
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprockkets View Post
Android is getting much more secure for one thing.

And since it is much closer to stock, without all the crappy add on apps, there is much less to attack.

And yes, Moto's bootloaders are very resilient.

sometimes I wonder why I ditched iPhones and moved to Android phones.....
Google seems to be more and more anal these days, just like Apple, Inc.
 
jaspreet997
Old
#5  
jaspreet997's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 480
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by youphone View Post
sometimes I wonder why I ditched iPhones and moved to Android phones.....
Google seems to be more and more anal these days, just like Apple, Inc.
Haha Well Google has to protect the non advanced users from Data theft and stuff
if root was so easy Imagine charging your phone in a Airport outlet and all your data Gets stolen immediately
or Content gets uploaded in ur name and your passwords compromised
Advanced users can handle it but they are like only 10% of the android buying demograph Google has to think about the other 90%

Sent from my XT1033 using Tapatalk
 
sprockkets
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 81
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by youphone View Post
sometimes I wonder why I ditched iPhones and moved to Android phones.....
Google seems to be more and more anal these days, just like Apple, Inc.
Android is damned either way.

Stupid Tim Cook quoted an idiot about android being a toxic hell stew. Even though that is far from the truth, let's not give idiots at apple any more ammunition than they have.

Just remember that Google with their nexus devices has always given you the ability to unlock. Apple and IIRC all windows phones will never let you do that.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes