Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How do I convert a GPE to latest Developer Edition or Sense 6 rom

OP komienski

2nd June 2014, 02:25 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Thanks in advance for any help... I've searched and come up empty in terms of up-to-date stuff. I'm super-cid, unlocked bootloader, s-off (phone came that way off a private sale) with a RUU conversion to GPE. I want to take advantage of the sense 6 update especially the new battery saving mode. Really wondering weather:

1- downgrading firmware is still a thing coming from GPE and going to the latest Sense 6 roms
2- Weather I should use an RUU or try flashing a custom recovery and a wrong
3- Weather there's any other watch-outs I should know
2nd June 2014, 03:48 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 435
 
1,791 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Change your CID/MID accordingly for Dev edition and run the http://www.androidruu.com/getdownloa....22.1540.1.exe

This will get you going all the way to Sense 6 with a few updates. Do not LOCK boot loader or turn S-ON
9th June 2014, 05:23 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Thanks! I tried this and got an ruu fail. My phone was left in a weird version of the recovery/fastboot screen that said ruu but I rebooted and it was fine. Just not sure if I should try again.
9th June 2014, 06:15 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 435
 
1,791 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by komienski

Thanks! I tried this and got an ruu fail. My phone was left in a weird version of the recovery/fastboot screen that said ruu but I rebooted and it was fine. Just not sure if I should try again.

Without further details can't help
9th June 2014, 08:24 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 472
 
1,046 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by komienski

Thanks! I tried this and got an ruu fail. My phone was left in a weird version of the recovery/fastboot screen that said ruu but I rebooted and it was fine. Just not sure if I should try again.

Based on the google searches I've done, this is normal. The HTC RUU installation never actually finishes. You just need to wait until the progress bar stops moving, make a coffee, then reboot and hope you haven't just bricked the phone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SaHiLzZ

Without further details can't help

See above--what happened to him is normal.
10th June 2014, 06:01 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Just to clarify it rebooted back into the previous (gpe) system. Flashing the ruu failed with a message about getting the correct one for my phone, which is odd because I am supercid and s-off.
10th June 2014, 06:07 AM   |  #7  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal, Quebec
Thanks Meter: 1,287
 
3,316 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by komienski

Just to clarify it rebooted back into the previous (gpe) system. Flashing the ruu failed with a message about getting the correct one for my phone, which is odd because I am supercid and s-off.

Change cid to BS_US001 and make sure mid is PN0712000

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes