Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Resetting flash counter s4 mini

OP Mister Green

10th June 2014, 12:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Hello all!

I was wondering if anyone here knows how to reset the flash counter after rooting my s4 mini. I read somewhere on the internet that s4 mini doesnt save a flash counter. Also i know that triangle away doesnt support s mini

Hope to hear from y'all

Regards
10th June 2014, 12:43 PM   |  #2  
XxM4tzexX's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Neuwied, GER
Thanks Meter: 94
 
601 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Green

Hello all!

I was wondering if anyone here knows how to reset the flash counter after rooting my s4 mini. I read somewhere on the internet that s4 mini doesnt save a flash counter. Also i know that triangle away doesnt support s mini

Hope to hear from y'all

Regards

If you use Odin just check F.Reset Time. this should reset the counter. But if you want to do this to get back functional OTA I#m not sure if it wil work.
10th June 2014, 01:22 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxM4tzexX

If you use Odin just check F.Reset Time. this should reset the counter. But if you want to do this to get back functional OTA I#m not sure if it wil work.

Hi. thanks for the reply. What is functional OTA?

So you are not sure if this procedure will reset the flash counter.

Regards
10th June 2014, 01:40 PM   |  #4  
XxM4tzexX's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Neuwied, GER
Thanks Meter: 94
 
601 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Green

Hi. thanks for the reply. What is functional OTA?

So you are not sure if this procedure will reset the flash counter.

Regards

If you flash a custom recovery or anything custom your OTA function breaks that means you cant update your system by ckecking in settings --> system update. because the custom change is recognized. And by resetting this counter you can get this back. Odin does this for sure for instance if you reflash the firmware (2x) OTA wil work again. But I'm not sure if the counter is resettet when you flash an unofficial recovery with Odin.
10th June 2014, 01:40 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Cool reply
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Green

Hi. thanks for the reply. What is functional OTA?

So you are not sure if this procedure will reset the flash counter.

Regards

This will not reset the fash counter is my best guess

regards
10th June 2014, 01:48 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Cool
Anyone else has a opinion about this?

regards
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes