Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more
Post Reply

[Q] Where does stock HTC Gallery store database?

OP oryan_dunn

7th June 2014, 01:23 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 122
 
489 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Maybe it's not your device.

Maybe it's just syncing to a cloud storage.

I know that my brother's girlfriend's Motorola Xoom was sending pictures directly to her Google+ account and she didn't like that. It took me a while to figure out that's what it was because we'd delete all the pictures and still they'd show up.

Maybe that's what's happening to you.
7th June 2014, 04:55 PM   |  #12  
oryan_dunn's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 147
 
589 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbergonzi

Up top on the left, see if you can switch that view to Album. Then check the settings about Selecting Albums.
Yours looks different from mine--mine has a text drop-down menu where you have an icon of an album.
And I was using the on-screen buttons--Home, Menu, Return, Search, when I said to use the Settings, it was the Menu button on the bottom of my phone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdar_93

Maybe it's not your device.

Maybe it's just syncing to a cloud storage.

I know that my brother's girlfriend's Motorola Xoom was sending pictures directly to her Google+ account and she didn't like that. It took me a while to figure out that's what it was because we'd delete all the pictures and still they'd show up.

Maybe that's what's happening to you.

The stock gallery isn't that smart. On the main screen, you can select to show pictures from local storage, Picassa, Flickr, etc. But these show the same path for each duplicate "/mnt/sdcard/ext_sd/DCIM/100MEDIA".
8th June 2014, 01:29 AM   |  #13  
SuperAfnan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jacksonville, Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,233
 
1,945 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Why not just try "Quickpic"? Better than stock IMO.

Quickpic
8th June 2014, 07:14 PM   |  #14  
oryan_dunn's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 147
 
589 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperAfnan

Why not just try "Quickpic"? Better than stock IMO.

Quickpic

I could use a different gallery, but just as an exercise, want to figure this out, since it has to be solvable. I'm going to flash a new ROM soon, so it really doesn't matter, I just want to solve this, since it seems like an easy problem (figure out where the gallery db is and delete it).
8th June 2014, 07:55 PM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Flag San Pedro
Thanks Meter: 118
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
database
Quote:
Originally Posted by oryan_dunn

I could use a different gallery, but just as an exercise, want to figure this out, since it has to be solvable. I'm going to flash a new ROM soon, so it really doesn't matter, I just want to solve this, since it seems like an easy problem (figure out where the gallery db is and delete it).

Possible it doesn't keep a database, just scans each time, and is listing the same photo under two headings even though same path?
9th June 2014, 09:48 PM   |  #16  
oryan_dunn's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 147
 
589 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbergonzi

Possible it doesn't keep a database, just scans each time, and is listing the same photo under two headings even though same path?

It may not be a database proper, like a SQLite database, but there is definitely some sort of cache that it builds. If I add a huge directory of pictures, open the gallery, it takes a while to parse through it all. Subsequent times opening the gallery, the pictures/thumbnails are available instantly.
9th June 2014, 09:59 PM   |  #17  
Senior Member
Flag San Pedro
Thanks Meter: 118
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
db
Quote:
Originally Posted by oryan_dunn

It may not be a database proper, like a SQLite database, but there is definitely some sort of cache that it builds. If I add a huge directory of pictures, open the gallery, it takes a while to parse through it all. Subsequent times opening the gallery, the pictures/thumbnails are available instantly.

Good test.
10th June 2014, 09:59 AM   |  #18  
chevycowboyusa's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Victorville, Ca
Thanks Meter: 2,923
 
2,264 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Thumbnails
Quote:
Originally Posted by oryan_dunn

It may not be a database proper, like a SQLite database, but there is definitely some sort of cache that it builds. If I add a huge directory of pictures, open the gallery, it takes a while to parse through it all. Subsequent times opening the gallery, the pictures/thumbnails are available instantly.

Thumbs are built and kept in a folder under DICM. there is most likely a process that scans the folders for pics and then makes a thumb if it doesn't already have one.

Thus there are actually two copies of pictures on your phone. One is full sized and the other is a thumb size.

You can copy all the pics off your phone to one folder on your computer, then delete all the photos from your phone and then copy them back from your computer.

If you have thousands of pics, I'd back them up anyway. dont want to lose some great pics...
Last edited by chevycowboyusa; 10th June 2014 at 10:03 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to chevycowboyusa For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th June 2014, 03:19 PM   |  #19  
oryan_dunn's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 147
 
589 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevycowboyusa

Thumbs are built and kept in a folder under DICM. there is most likely a process that scans the folders for pics and then makes a thumb if it doesn't already have one.

Thus there are actually two copies of pictures on your phone. One is full sized and the other is a thumb size.

You can copy all the pics off your phone to one folder on your computer, then delete all the photos from your phone and then copy them back from your computer.

If you have thousands of pics, I'd back them up anyway. dont want to lose some great pics...

Yeah, I've tried deleting the .thumbnail folder to try to get the gallery to rescan. Say I have 1000 pics, and I add a folder of pictures with a 1000 more, the first time I open the gallery, it shows 1000, with a spinning wheel. Eventually, it'll populate with 2000 pictures. And you can tell it's creating thumbnails. If I just delete the thumbnail folder, when I open the gallery, it immediately shows 2000 pictures, but it'll slowly recreate thumbnails. That's why I think there has to be some other cache somewhere, and in my case it has duplicates in it.

As for backup, I have a Synology NAS (with 1TB RAID1 mirror) that all of my pictures are backed up to, and I use the Synology DS Photo+ app to instantly backup pictures as I take them to my NAS. Once a month, my NAS is mirrored to a 1TB USB drive.
10th June 2014, 03:45 PM   |  #20  
Senior Member
Flag San Pedro
Thanks Meter: 118
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
pics
Quote:
Originally Posted by oryan_dunn

Yeah, I've tried

Yeah, some of those thumbs did look pretty good.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes