Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,053 Members 46,249 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Note 3 settings missing menus?

Tip us?
 
Johnnysauur
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 30
Join Date: May 2013
Default Note 3 settings missing menus?

hiya guys,


I've been having a lot of problems the past couple days..
I ordered my note 3 straight from Sprint. When I got it, I flashed custom recovery and flashed Freezas stockish ROM. The phone came loaded with NAB so I installed the
NAB version of the ROM, well there was some missing menus in settings, like tethering and such.. So I flashed stock nc5 and flashed his engineering boot loader. Ugraded my firmware to nc5. Flashed the nc5 version of the ROM and still the same settings.. No WiFi calling in settings, no tethering options at all.. I got curious and decided to flash KitKatkiller to see if it had the same problems, it was the same thing in the settings in kitkatkiller except it showed the ROM manager and stuff that was added into the ROM. But was missing tethering.. I hit WiFi hotspot in the toggle like I did on freezas ROM and it said hotspot not supported..

But josh's ROM is deodexed with that mod included.

What is going on?
 
topaz91385
Old
#2  
topaz91385's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 22
Join Date: Mar 2013
Info Try this

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnnysauur View Post
hiya guys,


I've been having a lot of problems the past couple days..
I ordered my note 3 straight from Sprint. When I got it, I flashed custom recovery and flashed Freezas stockish ROM. The phone came loaded with NAB so I installed the
NAB version of the ROM, well there was some missing menus in settings, like tethering and such.. So I flashed stock nc5 and flashed his engineering boot loader. Ugraded my firmware to nc5. Flashed the nc5 version of the ROM and still the same settings.. No WiFi calling in settings, no tethering options at all.. I got curious and decided to flash KitKatkiller to see if it had the same problems, it was the same thing in the settings in kitkatkiller except it showed the ROM manager and stuff that was added into the ROM. But was missing tethering.. I hit WiFi hotspot in the toggle like I did on freezas ROM and it said hotspot not supported..

But josh's ROM is deodexed with that mod included.

What is going on?

Similar things have happened for me, I've found that un-rooting doing a factory reset back to stock OEM rom then rooting again and flashing your preferred custom rom fixes things.

Hope this helps,

Topaz
 
Johnnysauur
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 30
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by topaz91385 View Post
Similar things have happened for me, I've found that un-rooting doing a factory reset back to stock OEM rom then rooting again and flashing your preferred custom rom fixes things.

Hope this helps,

Topaz
I'll try that. Out of curiosity I opened a phone up at work to see if it had tethering on stock and the note 3 I opened had the same settings my note 3 has.. So I dont know what the problem is.. I wonder if those settings dont show up unless the phone is activated on the network.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using XDA Free mobile app
 
topaz91385
Old
#4  
topaz91385's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 22
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default Re

Yeah not sure about Stock rom if it had tethering setting or not I always flash custom right away.
 
Goat1378
Old
#5  
Goat1378's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 183
Posts: 368
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Baltimore
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnnysauur View Post
I'll try that. Out of curiosity I opened a phone up at work to see if it had tethering on stock and the note 3 I opened had the same settings my note 3 has.. So I dont know what the problem is.. I wonder if those settings dont show up unless the phone is activated on the network.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using XDA Free mobile app
Tethering and hotspot are both in my stock rom tho they don't work they are in setting
Samsung-Note3
Fre3 Rom v2.16 by: Freeza
Android 4.4.2 NC5
KromeX themed BluX http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2602700
Philz Touch Recovery
.......Retired......
Samsung - Galaxy S4
Negalite Rom NAE-x r6/r50 kernel


..............gVyrus..............
 
Epix4G
Old
#6  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 1034
Posts: 2,634
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: phoenix
People in g2 forum had same thing. ... If the phone was never activated on sprint it would not have tether ....

Sent from my SM-N900P using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Blast Those Flags with Knock the Flags

Lately, we have seen a rather drastic shift in the world of mobile device gaming. The infamous Angry … more

Hide Numbers on Your SMS and Call Logs with Reflection

How many times have you given your device to someone else in order to show them a … more

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more