Post Reply

Add CIFS support to Moto G

10th June 2014, 10:24 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Hi

Is it possible to add CIFS to stock UK ROM. Im rooted and looking at various guides over the internet with no such luck yet.

So far im getting this when running insmod

insmod /system/lib/modules cifs.ko - not executable: magic 7F45

Any ideas?
10th June 2014, 11:06 AM   |  #2  
andogeek10's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 604
 
1,291 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuchuj

Hi

Is it possible to add CIFS to stock UK ROM. Im rooted and looking at various guides over the internet with no such luck yet.

So far im getting this when running insmod

insmod /system/lib/modules cifs.ko - not executable: magic 7F45

Any ideas?

Isn't this meant for the Q/A section?

Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk
10th June 2014, 12:42 PM   |  #3  
yeshwanthvshenoy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chennai
Thanks Meter: 571
 
451 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuchuj

Hi

Is it possible to add CIFS to stock UK ROM. Im rooted and looking at various guides over the internet with no such luck yet.

So far im getting this when running insmod

insmod /system/lib/modules cifs.ko - not executable: magic 7F45

Any ideas?

wrong section bro also why do u want cifs anyways?
10th June 2014, 03:25 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeshwanthvshenoy

wrong section bro also why do u want cifs anyways?

I want to be able to permanently map my windows shares, so I can use an mp3 player of my choice. I don't like any of the players that have SMB support in them.
10th June 2014, 08:09 PM   |  #5  
laufersteppenwolf's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Baden-Württemberg
Thanks Meter: 5,313
 
2,523 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Donate to Me
More
Thread moved, guys, if you see a thread being in the wrong section, please just report it and don't just leave a post "wrong section" or "this should be in Q&A". Either you leave a helping post or none at all, please.

Now, to your problem, you've got a typo, the correct command would be:

Code:
su
insmod /system/lib/modules/cifs.ko
you can skip the "su" if you add it to an init.d script, as init.d scripts are always being run as root
10th June 2014, 08:16 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by laufersteppenwolf

Thread moved, guys, if you see a thread being in the wrong section, please just report it and don't just leave a post "wrong section" or "this should be in Q&A". Either you leave a helping post or none at all, please.

Now, to your problem, you've got a typo, the correct command would be:

Code:
su
insmod /system/lib/modules/cifs.ko
you can skip the "su" if you add it to an init.d script, as init.d scripts are always being run as root

Sorry. I mistyped the command on here, I have typed exactly as you say and get the error as shown in the original post :S
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto G Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank