Post Reply

[Q] Which s5 model suits my needs?

OP gianptune

9th June 2014, 11:30 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 71
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I'm looking to get an s5 for use in north america. My sim card is using AT&T towers. I want a bootloader that allows unlocking using "fastboot oem unlock" or a similar command; no workarounds like loki. I will be buying outright, not carrier subsidizing for 2 years. Given these criteria, which model numbers should I be considering?

I've heard that the t-mobile one has the unlockable bootloader. Does it support all the bands to use AT&T towers?

I've seen more than one model number for international units. Are all the bootloaders unlockable? What's the deal with the region-locking? Will some of them work better for me than the others?
9th June 2014, 11:50 PM   |  #2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 912
 
3,121 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gianptune

I'm looking to get an s5 for use in north america. My sim card is using AT&T towers. I want a bootloader that allows unlocking using "fastboot oem unlock" or a similar command; no workarounds like loki. I will be buying outright, not carrier subsidizing for 2 years. Given these criteria, which model numbers should I be considering?

I've heard that the t-mobile one has the unlockable bootloader. Does it support all the bands to use AT&T towers?

I've seen more than one model number for international units. Are all the bootloaders unlockable? What's the deal with the region-locking? Will some of them work better for me than the others?

There is no unlocking of bootloaders. It's either unlocked, or locked from the factory.

To answer your question, get the G900T (the tmobile version). You can get this at costco, best buy, target, .... and of course a tmobile store itself. It supports all of AT&T's bands and more.
10th June 2014, 05:33 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 36
 
497 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

There is no unlocking of bootloaders. It's either unlocked, or locked from the factory.

To answer your question, get the G900T (the tmobile version). You can get this at costco, best buy, target, .... and of course a tmobile store itself. It supports all of AT&T's bands and more.

Best Buy doesn't carry T Mobile phones except I prepaid, so they can't buy it there.
10th June 2014, 03:29 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag STL
Thanks Meter: 4
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua.justice

Best Buy doesn't carry T Mobile phones except I prepaid, so they can't buy it there.

I bought the g900t and have been using it on att networks. I bought the phone unlocked but new beside that on ebay. I did have to play with some different apns to get it to take on different towers. I had some issues while traveling in different cities that I wouldn't get data. But I think I got the issue fixed. Just took the 133mb ota, hoping that it doesn't mess with the cell unlock or keep me from rooting. Well so far it hasn't messed with the carrier unlock
10th June 2014, 04:03 PM   |  #5  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 912
 
3,121 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua.justice

Best Buy doesn't carry T Mobile phones except I prepaid, so they can't buy it there.

Weird. Mine did. Just buy it at Costco or a tmo store. I just bought it from a tmobile store. Went through really easily.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
Last edited by aooga; 10th June 2014 at 04:50 PM.
10th June 2014, 10:35 PM   |  #6  
Member
Flag STL
Thanks Meter: 4
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

Weird. Mine did. Just buy it at Costco or a tmo store. I just bought it from a tmobile store. Went through really easily.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk

the tmobile store told me that they would not unlock a new phone like this for at least 6 months even if you buy it outright. So if you do that plan on unlocking it with one of the many websites that do it
10th June 2014, 10:59 PM   |  #7  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 912
 
3,121 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aklbeach

the tmobile store told me that they would not unlock a new phone like this for at least 6 months even if you buy it outright. So if you do that plan on unlocking it with one of the many websites that do it

Well i'm on tmobile so I didn't need them to unlock anything, but you're right, they won't unlock it so the OP will need to use some unlocking site to use it on ATT.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank