Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,012 Members 53,694 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Which s5 model suits my needs?

Tip us?
 
gianptune
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 188
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default [Q] Which s5 model suits my needs?

I'm looking to get an s5 for use in north america. My sim card is using AT&T towers. I want a bootloader that allows unlocking using "fastboot oem unlock" or a similar command; no workarounds like loki. I will be buying outright, not carrier subsidizing for 2 years. Given these criteria, which model numbers should I be considering?

I've heard that the t-mobile one has the unlockable bootloader. Does it support all the bands to use AT&T towers?

I've seen more than one model number for international units. Are all the bootloaders unlockable? What's the deal with the region-locking? Will some of them work better for me than the others?
 
aooga
Old
#2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 829
Posts: 2,852
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by gianptune View Post
I'm looking to get an s5 for use in north america. My sim card is using AT&T towers. I want a bootloader that allows unlocking using "fastboot oem unlock" or a similar command; no workarounds like loki. I will be buying outright, not carrier subsidizing for 2 years. Given these criteria, which model numbers should I be considering?

I've heard that the t-mobile one has the unlockable bootloader. Does it support all the bands to use AT&T towers?

I've seen more than one model number for international units. Are all the bootloaders unlockable? What's the deal with the region-locking? Will some of them work better for me than the others?
There is no unlocking of bootloaders. It's either unlocked, or locked from the factory.

To answer your question, get the G900T (the tmobile version). You can get this at costco, best buy, target, .... and of course a tmobile store itself. It supports all of AT&T's bands and more.
 
joshua.justice
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 450
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cincinnati

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga View Post
There is no unlocking of bootloaders. It's either unlocked, or locked from the factory.

To answer your question, get the G900T (the tmobile version). You can get this at costco, best buy, target, .... and of course a tmobile store itself. It supports all of AT&T's bands and more.
Best Buy doesn't carry T Mobile phones except I prepaid, so they can't buy it there.
 
aklbeach
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 44
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: STL
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua.justice View Post
Best Buy doesn't carry T Mobile phones except I prepaid, so they can't buy it there.
I bought the g900t and have been using it on att networks. I bought the phone unlocked but new beside that on ebay. I did have to play with some different apns to get it to take on different towers. I had some issues while traveling in different cities that I wouldn't get data. But I think I got the issue fixed. Just took the 133mb ota, hoping that it doesn't mess with the cell unlock or keep me from rooting. Well so far it hasn't messed with the carrier unlock
 
aooga
Old
(Last edited by aooga; 10th June 2014 at 04:50 PM.)
#5  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 829
Posts: 2,852
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua.justice View Post
Best Buy doesn't carry T Mobile phones except I prepaid, so they can't buy it there.
Weird. Mine did. Just buy it at Costco or a tmo store. I just bought it from a tmobile store. Went through really easily.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
 
aklbeach
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 44
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: STL
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga View Post
Weird. Mine did. Just buy it at Costco or a tmo store. I just bought it from a tmobile store. Went through really easily.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
the tmobile store told me that they would not unlock a new phone like this for at least 6 months even if you buy it outright. So if you do that plan on unlocking it with one of the many websites that do it
 
aooga
Old
#7  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 829
Posts: 2,852
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by aklbeach View Post
the tmobile store told me that they would not unlock a new phone like this for at least 6 months even if you buy it outright. So if you do that plan on unlocking it with one of the many websites that do it
Well i'm on tmobile so I didn't need them to unlock anything, but you're right, they won't unlock it so the OP will need to use some unlocking site to use it on ATT.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Blur Your System Notification Panel – XDA Developer TV

Listen, we love innovative applications and modules that … more

Android 4.4.3 Begins Rolling Out to European HTC One M8

Shortly after the USA Unlocked and Developer Editions of the HTC One M8 received the … more

Modernize Your Emails with Email Popup

SMS andHangouts messages likely won’t ever replace traditional Emails for more formal … more

Change Your Toast Notification Style with XToast

Android uses multipletypes of notifications. One of these isknown as a toast notification. … more