Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Daydream not working

OP vanzan

10th June 2014, 10:43 AM   |  #1  
vanzan's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
I purchased this for my Nexus 7:

http://www.amazon.com/KiDiGi-Wireles...+charging+dock

I have developer options turned off and daydream set to start with "Either". The problem is when the N7 is in the charger the screen won't sleep and therefore daydream.

If I press the power button to turn off the screen and then again so that the lock screen is visible THEN it will go into daydream after waiting whatever timeout I set. If it's not in the charger then the daydream works fine. I also notice that if I set the timeout to something short like 15 seconds then it will work but not if I set it to anything above 2 minutes.

Is there any way I can set it so that it will daydream without me having to press the power button twice?

This is really annoying me as I had the N7 2012 with the Asus dock and loved it.....thanks

EDIT: Right I believe it's to do with the wireless charger and trickle charging over wireless rather than USB. Still looking for a fix (if there is one!).
Last edited by vanzan; 10th June 2014 at 12:01 PM.
10th June 2014, 07:46 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
The use of Google first led me here. Its talking about Nexus 4: http://www.reddit.com/r/nexus4/comme..._awake/c8totca

Which leads to here: https://code.google.com/p/android/is...etail?id=48980
For lack of a better term this is the "Android bug tracker"

This post points out a bug in the Google source code. Until Jan 2014 it went un addressed. In Jan 2014 a person submitted the fix for it but it is unknown if it was actually incorporated.

The only solution I found is to use Tasker.


Sent from my BN NookHD+ using Tapatalk 4
The Following User Says Thank You to mikey williams For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th June 2014, 09:15 PM   |  #3  
vanzan's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey williams

The use of Google first led me here. Its talking about Nexus 4: http://www.reddit.com/r/nexus4/comme..._awake/c8totca

Which leads to here: https://code.google.com/p/android/is...etail?id=48980
For lack of a better term this is the "Android bug tracker"

This post points out a bug in the Google source code. Until Jan 2014 it went un addressed. In Jan 2014 a person submitted the fix for it but it is unknown if it was actually incorporated.

The only solution I found is to use Tasker.


Sent from my BN NookHD+ using Tapatalk 4

Yeah I was trying with Llama but failed miserably. I've never braved Tasker....would you mind telling me your config for it please?
11th June 2014, 10:51 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kooyonga

Yeah I was trying with Llama but failed miserably. I've never braved Tasker....would you mind telling me your config for it please?

OK

My profile I call Power Any which is set to the state "Power" and any connection (ac usb or wireless)
It uses a task called Screen On
This sets:
Auto brightness Off
Display brightness level 2 (because i use it at night)
And display timeout set to all maximum so it doesnt turn off.

Does the job
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes