Six Alternative Browsers to Chrome for Android

Browsers are one of the most essential parts of smartphones. When the original iPhone came … more

Runtime Resource Overlay and CM12 Theme Engine

In light of Android’s possible future in Native Theming for AOSP code, developer Syko … more

Ease The Android Development on Windows with DroidShell

Installation of required Android tools for Windows can be a bit tedious. This tool by … more

Step-by-Step Android Development with No Experience

This great guide put together by a redditor shows you just how to get involved into the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Tethering not working on a Win 7 PC

OP mamifero1

10th June 2014, 06:26 AM   |  #11  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,520
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mamifero1

What??????????????

Usually when tethering does not work, it gives you a page that asks you to pay for the extra service. You said all you got was page not found, so it appears this isn't the issue. No idea what it could be. Obviously its a problem with the computer, and that means it could be one or more of many different things that could be causing it. Have you tried any different browsers?
10th June 2014, 09:58 PM   |  #12  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77

Usually when tethering does not work, it gives you a page that asks you to pay for the extra service. You said all you got was page not found, so it appears this isn't the issue. No idea what it could be. Obviously its a problem with the computer, and that means it could be one or more of many different things that could be causing it. Have you tried any different browsers?

Hello Doc
Thanks for helping me on this matter, yes I have tried different browsers Google, Firefox, IE.
the weird thing is this connection works great on any Laptop. but not on a desktop, I also tried different wireless adapters too.
I also did a reset on the CMD ""Netsh Winsock Reset" on the PC it's just weird.
11th June 2014, 11:10 AM   |  #13  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,520
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Might have something to do with your security suite (A/V, firewall, etc). Or simply just how your computer is set up to use the network is different somehow. Could be due to different updates applied to the laptop vs the desktop, or another program interfering. Might have been something different in the initial config of the computer itself, or just the network settings... Theres just too many possibilities imo. Unless getting lucky you could potentially spend several weeks posting back and forth trying different things. Might just be easier and faster to reformat/reinstall Windows and start from scratch, if its that important of course. No guarantee that would fix it though, but would have the best chances for it to be quickly resolved.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes