Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Tethering not working on a Win 7 PC

OP mamifero1

10th June 2014, 06:26 AM   |  #11  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,497
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mamifero1

What??????????????

Usually when tethering does not work, it gives you a page that asks you to pay for the extra service. You said all you got was page not found, so it appears this isn't the issue. No idea what it could be. Obviously its a problem with the computer, and that means it could be one or more of many different things that could be causing it. Have you tried any different browsers?
10th June 2014, 09:58 PM   |  #12  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77

Usually when tethering does not work, it gives you a page that asks you to pay for the extra service. You said all you got was page not found, so it appears this isn't the issue. No idea what it could be. Obviously its a problem with the computer, and that means it could be one or more of many different things that could be causing it. Have you tried any different browsers?

Hello Doc
Thanks for helping me on this matter, yes I have tried different browsers Google, Firefox, IE.
the weird thing is this connection works great on any Laptop. but not on a desktop, I also tried different wireless adapters too.
I also did a reset on the CMD ""Netsh Winsock Reset" on the PC it's just weird.
11th June 2014, 11:10 AM   |  #13  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,497
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Might have something to do with your security suite (A/V, firewall, etc). Or simply just how your computer is set up to use the network is different somehow. Could be due to different updates applied to the laptop vs the desktop, or another program interfering. Might have been something different in the initial config of the computer itself, or just the network settings... Theres just too many possibilities imo. Unless getting lucky you could potentially spend several weeks posting back and forth trying different things. Might just be easier and faster to reformat/reinstall Windows and start from scratch, if its that important of course. No guarantee that would fix it though, but would have the best chances for it to be quickly resolved.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes