Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more
Post Reply

Moving or being able to shrink or hide the home and back buttons

OP mrcarlxx

9th June 2014, 07:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Hello, I am just upgrading my phone from the galaxy note 1 to the lg g2.

I have used roms on my note where the home screen keys are on the screen and they tend to get in the way a lot when I am trying to use the keyboard.

I notice the lg g2's keys HAVE to be on the screen, so I am looking for ways to either shrink the bar or move it to a different place all together. ....or maybe even hide the buttons.

And if it wasnt to much to ask for, I would like to beable to so this without rooting

Thank you

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2
10th June 2014, 05:22 AM   |  #2  
AyDee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mobile
Thanks Meter: 911
 
1,256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrcarlxx

Hello, I am just upgrading my phone from the galaxy note 1 to the lg g2.

I have used roms on my note where the home screen keys are on the screen and they tend to get in the way a lot when I am trying to use the keyboard.

I notice the lg g2's keys HAVE to be on the screen, so I am looking for ways to either shrink the bar or move it to a different place all together. ....or maybe even hide the buttons.

And if it wasnt to much to ask for, I would like to beable to so this without rooting

Thank you

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2

Sorry but none of that can be done without root...
10th June 2014, 05:37 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AyDee

Sorry but none of that can be done without root...

Thats a pain

I dont really want to root. I have rooted all my phones, I bricked my g note...and even though I successfully rooted my replacement I am genuinely worried about bricking the g2

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2
10th June 2014, 06:01 AM   |  #4  
meangreenie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 645
 
2,221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrcarlxx

Thats a pain

I dont really want to root. I have rooted all my phones, I bricked my g note...and even though I successfully rooted my replacement I am genuinely worried about bricking the g2

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2

it's actually quite easy..

ota to the latest kitkat

use the ioroot25r1 tool to root

install and run busybox from the play store

install lmt launcher for pie controls

install xposed framework

install hide navbar module for g2 in exposed, it's called 'lg pie support'


.. tip, don't try the method of editing the build.prop with qemu.hw.mainkeys=1 to get rid of the navbar..it makes things go very screwy on g2
Last edited by meangreenie; 10th June 2014 at 06:12 AM.
10th June 2014, 09:34 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by meangreenie

it's actually quite easy..

ota to the latest kitkat

use the ioroot25r1 tool to root

install and run busybox from the play store

install lmt launcher for pie controls

install xposed framework

install hide navbar module for g2 in exposed, it's called 'lg pie support'


.. tip, don't try the method of editing the build.prop with qemu.hw.mainkeys=1 to get rid of the navbar..it makes things go very screwy on g2

Its sounds easy to you lol, I am used to rooting and chaging roms etc, but with the g note you can root it easy, with no need for a computer. You just download and open the files in recovery.

But I have just been reading a few threads and I see a few people are having issues with drivers, roms, full root, and broken screens. Which is making me a little nervous to be honest lol

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2
10th June 2014, 01:31 PM   |  #6  
meangreenie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 645
 
2,221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
you're right to be cautious, sorry I was a bit gungho previously

methods do vary depending on which variant g2 you have

I was lucky having a d802 which is straight forward
The Following User Says Thank You to meangreenie For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th June 2014, 02:54 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by meangreenie

you're right to be cautious, sorry I was a bit gungho previously

methods do vary depending on which variant g2 you have

I was lucky having a d802 which is straight forward

How will I find out which version I will have? Sorry for all the noob questions

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2
10th June 2014, 04:22 PM   |  #8  
meangreenie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 645
 
2,221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Should be written on the side of the box. Also you can check your firmware version in settings/general/about
The Following User Says Thank You to meangreenie For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2014, 01:33 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by meangreenie

Should be written on the side of the box. Also you can check your firmware version in settings/general/about

Is there a way to do this with partial root? If such a thing exists with this device?

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank