Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] At&T Optimus Soft keys failed

OP dittualex

3rd June 2014, 04:45 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Thrissur, Kerala
Thanks Meter: 2
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Hello guys,

While I was using, all of a sudden, the soft keys and and the lowest area of the touch screen is not taking any responses. The touch screen works fine in other areas. I tried enabling navigation keys on screen which comes at the bottom end and hence that didn't work. .The screen is responsive above that. phone never fell down. It was well protected.

Tried resetting, didnt work. Same issue is there even when I open TWRP. The navigation keys on twrp also will not work

What do You guys think? Is the keys dead?

Kindly help
3rd June 2014, 05:57 AM   |  #2  
OMGMatrix's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 116
 
524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dittualex

Hello guys,

While I was using, all of a sudden, the soft keys and and the lowest area of the touch screen is not taking any responses. The touch screen works fine in other areas. I tried enabling navigation keys on screen which comes at the bottom end and hence that didn't work. .The screen is responsive above that. phone never fell down. It was well protected.

Tried resetting, didnt work. Same issue is there even when I open TWRP. The navigation keys on twrp also will not work

What do You guys think? Is the keys dead?

Kindly help

That's a hardware fault. If you believe that it has not suffered any external damage, you may want to open it up & make sure the ribbon cable for digitizer is completely seated to the board.

Otherwise, you may need a new phone.
3rd June 2014, 09:40 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Thrissur, Kerala
Thanks Meter: 2
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I'm sure there was no external damage. Well protected with case, Screen guards on, Never fallen from my hand. Not even a single scrach on phone


Will it work if I change the digitizer?
Last edited by dittualex; 4th June 2014 at 02:38 PM. Reason: more data
11th June 2014, 06:08 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
I have same problem too
11th June 2014, 07:42 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Thrissur, Kerala
Thanks Meter: 2
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I'm gonna try replacing the Digitizer.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
hw keys, navigation keys, soft keys
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes